We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
235
21
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
21
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub ana maria organic garden the owner the kitchen staff dining room other guests musical instruments large table interesting guests each meal nearby waterfall beautiful waterfall spectacular views japanese style meals are served family style individual cabins
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We became concerned when we drive to Casa Mojanda and thought this might be the road we would walk to town but discovered there is a back way trail to town that is lovely. Also a walk to the waterfalls. The family style dinners were great fun and the food very delicious. We had a few folks in our party that were on strict diets and we later learned that had we asked for a detox diet (which they do for retreats) we could have skipped the gluten pasta and bread and had more vegetable including noodles made from zucchini. The rooms were lovely. A fire was lit each night while we were at dinner that lent a really cozy touch. And don't get me started on the wood fired hot tub with the sunset view - awesome!!!

Room tip: We loved our room which was close to main reception area but not too close. Nice views.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leylasteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Casa Monjanda is located on a beautiful hillside with incredible views of the mountains surrounding Otavalo. The grounds are manicured with beautiful flowers, and the rooms are nicely decorated with local art. The staff was friendly and eager to assist throughout our stay. The food was delicious, but you should be aware that all guests dine together at large tables. The lodge is located a few kilometers outside the town of Otavalo on a cobblestone road (watch for holes) and is an excellent location for visiting Laguna Mojanda or Otavalo (especially if you have your own car).

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Runatl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

My son and I stayed at Casa Mojanda for three nights and had a wonderful experience. It’s located outside of town a few minutes, up in the hills, with beautiful views down into the valley. The lodge and rooms are gorgeous, and are filled with art and other interesting native pieces - it’s much like staying in a museum. Great food, and fun communal style dining where interacting with other guests is encouraged. And the service is top notch, including having a wood fire prepared in our room each night while we were at dinner. Jorge seemed to anticipate every need and went out of his way to make our stay magical. Thank you, Jorge! I would highly recommend this piece of paradise if your travels take you near Otavalo!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stayed at this lodge recently so we could go to the big Saturday crafts market.
It was very well-managed, with nice rooms, and good food. All of the guests sat at one table, which was actually a lot of fun as we met a nice couple from Germany and some other folks who we shared travel stories with. The lodge is a little out of town, which was more pleasant than Otavalo, and an easy cab ride in. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We picked this inn based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Except for the terrible 4 km road to Casa Mojanda from Otavalo, everything was wonderful. Our host, Jorge, was very helpful: from arranging special meals to a horseback riding adventure. Meals were homemade and served at one large table so we had the chance to meet other interesting travelers. The hike to a nearby waterfall was a special treat and the views from the rooms are spectacular.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank blairhankins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews