We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$208
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Luis(Otavalo)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Flying Donkey(Otavalo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
226
21
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
21
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubana mariaorganic gardenthe ownerthe kitchen staffdining roommusical instrumentslarge tableinteresting guestsother guestseach mealnearby waterfallbeautiful waterfalljapanese stylemeals are served family stylespectacular viewsindividual cabins
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We spent three enjoyable nights here. The views are lovely and the service exceptional. We received a warm welcome from Jorge despite arriving after 11 pm and both he and the manager, Ana Maria, were extremely helpful with touring recommendations, arranging transport, and just answering general questions.

We ate dinner at the hotel each night and very much enjoyed the healthy and tasty meals, as well as the variety of juices served with dinner and breakfast. It was nice to be able to stream English-language TV shows on the lounge's large screen TV before heading back to our room.

The rooms are not five star, particularly the bathrooms. However, our room was large and comfortable. Any minor nits like a cracked shower tile or two were more than offset by the warm and friendly management and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NSsummerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear NSsummerset,
Many thanks for your review. It is very important for us to have a first-hand account, by our guests, of the quality of our service, food and accommodation. Be sure that we will do what we can to ameliorate the latter, so that you will have an even better experience if you visit us again.
Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Having had a long hard day of travel my wife and I arrived at Casa Mojanda tied and somewhat apprehensive about staying at a small somewhat remote hotel in a predominately indigenous area of Ecuador.

It was as if we were family when we arrived. They held dinner for us (mostly organic, completely fresh and prepared by three Otavalo ladies). We were then taken to our room that was warmed by a fresh fire in our fireplace.

The room was clean and had extraordinary views of the gentle mountainous country side.

The hotel served as our base of exploration for three days. We were always welcome in the kitchen to see how local food was prepared. Again it was like family.

We are now scheduling our next visit to Casa Mojanda for February. So many places we want to see in Latin America but we will take the time to return here because this is how to experience Ecuador outside of Quito.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Bill,
Thank you so much for your review, it is good to know that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated our setting and service. We will be delighted to see you again in February. Take care until then!
Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

What is there not to like about this place? The view is spectacular, the service attentive, the food is wonderful, the artful decorations are lovely. The Japanese hot tub awaits your tired muscles, they even light a fire in your private fireplace while you're enjoying a lively dinner with a table full of interesting fellow travelers.

Room Tip: By all means, ask for a room with a fireplace. Our only complaint was that the bed was creaky and hard. Wi fi is spotty.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Carol,
Thank you for your review, we are glad to know that you appreciated your stay in Casa Mojanda. I hope the rest of your trip met your expectations and that we will see you again some day. Give my regards to Mark, and all the best for both of you.
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

All the staff were super friendly and helpful.
Plenty of folks with excellent English skills to help us
The place is nestled away in a quiet place in the hills and there isn't a sound that shouldn't be there.
The walk to the waterfall was exciting and fun. We enjoyed the humming birds and hammocks and just felt very taken care of.

One thing --- it's not on google maps so be sure to have the directions that casa mojando send to you to give to your driver if you take one --- out Uber driver got a bit lost. All the local cab drivers know exactly where it is.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Ian,
Many thanks for your review! It is good to know that you had a good time at Casa Mojanda and that you appreciated our service, it is very important for us.
And yes, we don't know what we should do about the Google Maps problem. We have written to them unsuccessfully. Apparently other apps as Ways and OpenStreet work better, but the best way to get here is as you say: just ask us!
Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

As soon as we arrived our first thought was that we wish we were staying for longer!!
This is a beautiful serene setting on the top of the mountain. It is remote yet only ten minutes from town (plus the climb up the road). We stayed in a family house which had a balcony , living room , kitchen and two bedrooms. It had 360 views. The owners are so kind and helpful . We had dinner in the dining room which was three courses and very delicious. Breakfast is included and was wonderful. We hiked to the waterfall which took a half hour and was very lovely . If I come back to Ecuador I will definitely come back here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank tsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Tsinger,
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to host your family and are please to know that you appeciated our inn and its surroundings. We will be expecting you for your next trip in this beautiful region of ours!
Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews