We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING IN EVERY RESPECT”
Review of Casa Mojanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Mojanda
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Want a place where you feel like you're living as a local? This is it! From the warm welcome by Anne Marie to the rustic, cozy atmosphere of your room, and the VIEW! It's unbeatable. Don't hesitate to hike to the sacred waterfall and explore the neighbors way of life along the way. Fresh baked bread with yummy vegetables from their own garden give the meals that extra punch. And, check out the "hot tub" you'll be pleasantly surprised. If you're looking for 5 star luxury, it's not here... but if you're looking for 5 star authenticity, you'll be amazed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TravelnutNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear TravelnutNewMexico,

Thank you very much for your review, it is very important for us to know that you appreciated our inn and the beauty of its region. As you say, we are not a luxury hotel, but a place where you can relax, enjoy the food, explore and just be. We hope to see you again some day, take care in the meanwhile!

Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

We spent three enjoyable nights here. The views are lovely and the service exceptional. We received a warm welcome from Jorge despite arriving after 11 pm and both he and the manager, Ana Maria, were extremely helpful with touring recommendations, arranging transport, and just answering general questions.

We ate dinner at the hotel each night and very much enjoyed the healthy and tasty meals, as well as the variety of juices served with dinner and breakfast. It was nice to be able to stream English-language TV shows on the lounge's large screen TV before heading back to our room.

The rooms are not five star, particularly the bathrooms. However, our room was large and comfortable. Any minor nits like a cracked shower tile or two were more than offset by the warm and friendly management and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NSsummerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear NSsummerset,
Many thanks for your review. It is very important for us to have a first-hand account, by our guests, of the quality of our service, food and accommodation. Be sure that we will do what we can to ameliorate the latter, so that you will have an even better experience if you visit us again.
Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Having had a long hard day of travel my wife and I arrived at Casa Mojanda tied and somewhat apprehensive about staying at a small somewhat remote hotel in a predominately indigenous area of Ecuador.

It was as if we were family when we arrived. They held dinner for us (mostly organic, completely fresh and prepared by three Otavalo ladies). We were then taken to our room that was warmed by a fresh fire in our fireplace.

The room was clean and had extraordinary views of the gentle mountainous country side.

The hotel served as our base of exploration for three days. We were always welcome in the kitchen to see how local food was prepared. Again it was like family.

We are now scheduling our next visit to Casa Mojanda for February. So many places we want to see in Latin America but we will take the time to return here because this is how to experience Ecuador outside of Quito.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Bill,
Thank you so much for your review, it is good to know that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated our setting and service. We will be delighted to see you again in February. Take care until then!
Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

What is there not to like about this place? The view is spectacular, the service attentive, the food is wonderful, the artful decorations are lovely. The Japanese hot tub awaits your tired muscles, they even light a fire in your private fireplace while you're enjoying a lively dinner with a table full of interesting fellow travelers.

Room Tip: By all means, ask for a room with a fireplace. Our only complaint was that the bed was creaky and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreativeCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Carol,
Thank you for your review, we are glad to know that you appreciated your stay in Casa Mojanda. I hope the rest of your trip met your expectations and that we will see you again some day. Give my regards to Mark, and all the best for both of you.
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

All the staff were super friendly and helpful.
Plenty of folks with excellent English skills to help us
The place is nestled away in a quiet place in the hills and there isn't a sound that shouldn't be there.
The walk to the waterfall was exciting and fun. We enjoyed the humming birds and hammocks and just felt very taken care of.

One thing --- it's not on google maps so be sure to have the directions that casa mojando send to you to give to your driver if you take one --- out Uber driver got a bit lost. All the local cab drivers know exactly where it is.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMojanda, Manager at Casa Mojanda, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Ian,
Many thanks for your review! It is good to know that you had a good time at Casa Mojanda and that you appreciated our service, it is very important for us.
And yes, we don't know what we should do about the Google Maps problem. We have written to them unsuccessfully. Apparently other apps as Ways and OpenStreet work better, but the best way to get here is as you say: just ask us!
Kind regards,
Ana María

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
10.2 km away
Hacienda Pinsaqui
Hacienda Pinsaqui
#3 of 14 in Otavalo
225 reviews
34.8 km away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
17.8 km away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#12 of 14 in Otavalo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
3.8 km away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
159 reviews
17.1 km away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mojanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mojanda

Address: Apartado 160 | Km. 3.8 via a Mojanda, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range: €107 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mojanda 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mojanda operates on the basis of a firm and ongoing commitment to the principles and practices of ecological tourism and contribution to the surrounding community. Casa Mojanda was designed to have a minimally intrusive impact on our local ecosystem and culture. We believe that ecotourism operations must at a minimum “do no harm,” and be sustainable socio-economically and environmentally, as well as harmonious with and actively supportive of indigenous traditions and cultures. When it comes to lodgings and resorts, we believe that small is beautiful. By keeping Casa Mojanda large in vision but small in scale, we are able to interact with our guests personally, and whenever there is interest, we will connect visitors with local schools, clinics and environmental projects. Each guest is a part of this ongoing process and your feedback and participation are most welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mojanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mojanda Otavalo
Casa Mojanda Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing