We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
24
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
4
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

We were picked up in Quito by Patricio, the proprietor of the hotel, amd whisked back to his hotel. Initially everything seemed fine, despite the hotel being essentially in the middle of nowhere with the streets surrounding it being practically impassable in anything but an SUV.
Our room, on the second floor, was quiet with a shared bathroom outside our door.
The bed was too soft for my wife and so after breakfast we went into Otavalo by taxi, ($5), to find more a more suitable bed for the remainder of our time in Otovalo.
This is where ot all went wrong. When i retuened to the hotel to check out, i offered to pay for both our previous night, the "complimentary " ride from Quito, and an extra night. I explained about my wife's need for a better bed as well and was extremely apologetic about the situation.
Patricio said he appreciated my offer of payment for the ride and understood thatmy wife's needs be met. We then parted on what seemed good terms. Later that day, however, we recieved a demand for payment from the booking site we had used to book the hotel. It seemed Patricio, after taking my money, had reported to them that we had never shown up for our reservation at all, and hence was insisting on us paying for a no-show.
Clearly he is hsving a hard time as the Hostal was empty when we got there. But lying to the booking site and demanding more money after i had already paid more than we owed was both dishonest and stupid.
I would caution against trusting this man based on our experience.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank newyorktraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Wow,
This was an odd experience.
I made a reservation via a third party and then received an email from the proprietor, Patrcio.
He seemed very friendly and after phoning him he offered to pick us up at the bus station in Quito. This had been mentioned in a review and seemed like a very gracious offer.
When we arrived the place was farther from Otavalo than I thought but the owners seemed earnest and eager to help.
The walls were lovely and thick and kept sound out well. It was a noisy place but our room was quiet.
While there was no place to have dinner, it had been a long day so we went to sleep.
Unfortunately, the bed was very soft and I slept badly and awoke to back pain.
After a quick breakfast; lots of suger but fine.
We left to search for another accommodation, one where I could sleep.
My husband hurried back to explain that while the place was nice I needed a different bed. He paid for the night and then paid twice that for the" free " ride.
Plus the $20 for the taxi ride to explain/get our things and check out.
The owner was upset but we intended to write a good review with a reference to the soft beds ( for those to whom it matters )
Then we received an email from the third party site. He advised them that we never showed up and they are now trying to get us to pay for another night! He charged us more than we were told as well as for the free ride and now wants payment for another night!
Be careful, he seems like a nice person who wants to help but he clearly has a problem and is unable to take even the hint of dissatisfaction about his property.
The place is a $5 to $8 ride from Otavalo and is in the middle of nowhere.
There was no way to get around and there were no resturants, shops or stores within miles the rode he lived on was impassible and the number of wild dogs and really noisy animals was incalculable.
Don't try it!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank teacherinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhousebyb, Director de Recepción at Green House Araque Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015
Google Translation

Estimada señora Stephanie Spivack, de antemano muchas gracias por su comentario.

Comentario provocado por intermediarios.
Solo fue una confusión, entiendo que el intermediario le envió un correo informando que le iban a cobrar una noche mas por la cancelación imprevista de la reserva de 5 noches verdad?. De la misma forma recibimos un correo del mismo intermediario informando que tengo que pagar la comisión de 5 noches, algo que no estamos de acuerdo mutuamente ya que solo se quedo una sola noche al momento de la verdad.
Con consentimiento del intermediario y para solucionar este malestar me dieron la única opción de reportar como no show por que no tenia otra opción. así que le pido disculpas por los inconvenientes su citados.
En futuro puliré estas molestias con los intermediarios.
Para evitar casas similares es recomendable hacer reservas directamente a nuestros contactos .
Muchas gracias por su atención.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

We spent our last 3 nights in Ecuador at the Green House. Patricio, our host made our stay perfect. Trained as a chef, he prepared wonderful dinners, while breakfast, which is included came with freshly baked rolls, juice, eggs, and coffee each morning. This is a family run hostel and we were made to feel right at home. The views are amazing of the volcano to one side and Lago de San Pablo on the other. Araque is an authentic town with beautiful Parque Aquatico nearby. Patricio arranged for us to have a taxi available for a day of sightseeing in Cotacachi as well as providing transportation to and from nearby Otavalo and Parque Condor. A cozy fire in the evening was a great way to spend our evening. This is a special place.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with access to a wonderful rooftop sitting area with spectacular views.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueheart111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

My husband and I spent two nights and three fantastic days based out of the Green House Araque Inn. The B&B is located in Araque, located near the beautiful San Pablo Lake and at the base of the non-active volcano Imbabura. The location will give you a sense of life in a more rural area, where residents (some dressed in traditional clothes) tend to cows, sheep and pigs, and corn and other crops. However, you are very close to Otavalo and other areas.

The B&B itself is very comfortable; we stayed on the second floor with a beautiful view from the deck. Our room consisted of a queen size bed and a bunk bed, though we only used the queen bed. The meals were great. Each morning, we had fresh fruit, toast or rolls, coffee or fresh mint tea, eggs and fresh juice. One night we had dinner at the B&B, and Patricio, who attended cooking school, prepared delicious trout (from the local trout farm), with vegetables and potatoes (cost was $10 for the two of us).

What made the stay at the Green House Araque Inn really special is the warm welcome and attention that owners Patricio and his wife Nellie give to their guests. Their three children are also really charming. Patricio offers reasonably priced, custom-made tours of the area, based on visitors' interests. At the time we visited, Patricio was accompanied by his friend and driver, Cristian, who helped us get to more remote locations in his 4x4 car. On our first day, we visited the San Pablo Lake Aquatic Center, and went to the beautiful Peguche waterfalls (a half hour walk from where we parked). We then went to the textile market of Otavalo and the weaving town of Peguche.

The next day, we went for a four-hour hike around Cuicocha Lake. Because of the altitude and the length, we were glad that Cristian went with us as a guide. We then went to Cotacachi, which specializes in leather goods, and did some shopping there. After, we had a really special treat, when Patricio took us to meet his 86 year old grandmother, who lives a very traditional lifestyle in a more remote area.

Our last day together, Patricio and Cristian took us to Laguna Mojanda at the base of Fuya Fuya mountain. We did a small hike and saw two of the lakes in the region. This area is hard to get to, and was only accessible because of Cristian's ability to negotiate challenging roads in his 4x4. They then took us back to Quito for a reasonable fee.

We highly recommend this B&B to couples, singles, families and adventure travelers. Luckily my husband speaks fluent Spanish, but those with limited Spanish or no Spanish will still have a wonderful stay. You will see so much more of the region if you stay here since you will have a local host to show you around.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaFamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Green House Inn is a great little gem nestled in the hills, and just a short bus ride outside of Otavalo. The WIFI was good, and the showers were warm enough. Each morning we enjoyed a great home cooked breakfast (eggs, bread, juice and coffee) on the terrace overlooking the mountains and lake. By far the MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS IN ECUADOR, and not to mention at night the owner Patricio gives you this clever little heated bag to put in the bed for extra heat! I wanted to take this thing home with me! Hospitable, clean and roomy, this is a perfect alternative to the cramped hostels in the city center. Patricio also offers several fantastic tours for a cheap price. Really enjoyed my time here. Check it out!!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have an incredible view of the mountains and lake.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 514Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews