We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
66
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Amazing! Good value for money, well located, good breakfast, close to restaurants and a supermarket. The room was nice, A/C, TV, fully equiped. Even an Iron! I comitted a mistake when i booked the date. They don't even charged me for this, i'm very grateful for that!

Thanks for everything!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Iuri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

I make periodic trips to Guayaquil and for a while I was always taking a gamble with booking mid-range accommodation options. I'll no longer have to worry about that after discovering this place. El Escalon beats the pants off of everywhere else I've stayed in Guayaquil, I can safely say.

The rooms are big, clean and kept at a comfortable temperature at night. Both nights I slept like a baby. It has a pleasant backyard area with tables and a minibar and a river along the back edge. It also makes for a really nice place to sit for breakfast and coffee.

The staff was welcoming and very helpful with anything I asked for. We did converse some in English so I can say that do speak English quite well.

The location is absolutely optimal. It's tucked into a quiet residencial area just a few blocks from the main drag in the Urdesa district, which has Guayaquil's best restaurants and night life. Urdessa is also a relatively safe area and is a short taxi ride away from the airport or the center.

There is also a cafe about a block away where they do improv comedy in the evening. I didn't have the chance to check it out this time but I plan on it the next time I come back to El Escalon!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank El_Gringo_Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

It's a perfect place in the big city Guayaquil. Feels like you out of town. Really nice garden to chill out in!
The room is clean and big.
Also, the owner is really nice and helps you with everything. She also went up at 4.15 in the morning to help us get a taxi to the airport(!!)
Will absolutely return if we visit Ecuador some more time!
Thanks! :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny M, Gerente at Hotel Boutique El Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear Ida,

Thanks for your review, we were more than pleased having you in our hotel.

We are looking forward to see you soon. Hotel Boutique El Escalon is always committed to fufill our guests requirements.

On behalf of our staff, thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Incredible staff! Extremely helpful, and very kind. Always there to call a taxi, tourist questions, organizing tours etc. Truly made you feel at home. Small paddling pool for the hot days, and staff always asking if you need anything! Can't wait to come back. Really enjoyed our stay! Clean rooms, always serviced, nice breakfast in the mornings, accommodating staff! What more could you ask for! x

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Tara-Jean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny M, Gerente at Hotel Boutique El Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Tara,

Thanks for your review, we were more than pleased having you in our hotel.

We are looking forward to see you soon. Hotel Boutique El Escalon is always committed to fufill our guests requirements.

On behalf of our staff, thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Muy agradecida por todas las atenciones y la gran hospitalidad de este hermoso y acogedor Hotel Boutique de mi ciudad, que permitió hospedar a mis maestros extranjeros que vinieron a la convención de danza Vortex Dance Convention a impartir sus clases magistrales. Se van felíces del lugar. Los dueños increíbles personas! Gracias enormes!!!

So thankful for all the atentions and hospitality of this beautiful and cozy Hotel Boutique in my city, Guayaquil, where my teachers from USA and Canada stayed when they came to teach master classes to my event Vortex Dance Convention. They felt at home and left very happy. The owners are incredible people!!! Thanks a lot!!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny M, Gerente at Hotel Boutique El Escalon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimada Karina,

Agradecemos su valioso comentario sobre su experiencia con nosotros. En el Hotel Boutique El Escalón nos esforzamos a diario para satisfacer todos los requerimientos de nuestros huéspedes. Esperamos contar con su visita nuevamente.
En nombre de todo nuestro equipo,

Saludos Cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews