We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
327
283
69
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
283
69
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iguana park giant iguana ping pong lovely pool area great hotel hour restaurant the free airport shuttle hotel offers service oriented bottled water highly recommend this hotel rooms are comfortable stayed nights the hotel staff front desk staff central location definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We spent our first four nights in Ecuador at the Grand Hotel Guayaquil. Everything about it exceeded our expectations—delicious and bountiful breakfasts, friendly and accommodating staff, clean and comfortable room, and the beautiful tropical pool area. It is very well-located, close to the Malecon 2000 and restaurants. To top off our wonderful stay, on our last night the hotel hosted a party on a terrace overlooking the pool area. We stopped on a stair landing to listen to the live music. Some of the staff saw us and sent drinks and appetizers to us, which was way above and beyond! We also truly appreciated the free airport shuttle, particularly finding our name on a sign as we exited customs. So warm and welcoming!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bebe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano P, General Manager at GRAND HOTEL GUAYAQUIL, AN ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION MEMBER, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear bebe 1971,

We're so glad to receive your opinions through this portal. At the Grand Hotel Guayaquil, we try every day to deliver an exceptional service and a unique experience.

We are happy to know that during your stay as you mentioned in your comment, we celebrated the proud alliance with the CHOICE HOTEL INTERNATIONAL BRAND.

That night was so important for us and we are happy that you were a testimony of that ceremony. Now we are an Ascend Hotel Collection Member and we for sure we continue in improve our product and services.

I truly hope that our hotel will be your location always you come back to Guayaquil and once again thank you to choose us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

This hotel was perfect in all respects. We stayed here for 6 days on our way to and after a fantastic trip to the Galápagos Islands. Great location, exceptional service, clean, beautiful, tropical, just what you would want to experience and enjoy visiting South America. Food and service were excellent. Staff was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. Beautiful pool area and gorgeous large mosaic statue of an Iguana that you can see from each open floor balcony area near the elevators. Comfortable beds, clean large rooms and bathrooms. Wonderful and delicious selection for breakfast. Absolutely delicious variety of fresh fruit and juices every morning. Loved the delicious cookies on your pillow every night fresh from the wonderful bakery a couple doors down. They also supplied the delicious breads and rolls at breakfast. A fabulous price for the delicious food, lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, plus a great location.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Road456657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel G, Director of Sales at GRAND HOTEL GUAYAQUIL, AN ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION MEMBER, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Grand Hotel Guayaquil, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member.

Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction and it sounds like we achieved that goal with you. We want every experience to be “five stars”! Your recommendation means a lot to us.

Glad to hear you had an amazing experience and that you loved the little surprise from the wonderful bakery Galleta Pecosa. The team will be thrilled to hear your feedback and please come visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Camelia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Super hotel in every way - kind helpful staff, lovely rooms, gorgeous communal areas with a wide range of spaces. A complete gem - would stay here every time. The squash courts were a great surprise and the gym good quality.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Athene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel G, Director of Sales at GRAND HOTEL GUAYAQUIL, AN ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION MEMBER, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Athene,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you had a great experience and loved our services.

Our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing.

Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Camelia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

The meals were good, the service was excellent, the rooms were nice and clean, and the common areas were sparkling and inviting. I will stay here again. The pool has a waterfall and giant ceramic iguana and is not visible to the street.

Room tip: Interior rooms do not hear sounds of traffic
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eskipito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel G, Guest Relations Manager at GRAND HOTEL GUAYAQUIL, AN ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION MEMBER, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendations.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Guayaquil, an Ascend Hotel Collection member.

Our hotel is conveniently located close to all tourist attractions such as the Malecon 2000, the Iguana Park, La Perla etc.
Our rooms are spacious and decorated with desks and executive chairs, flat-screen televisions with cable and mini refrigerators. In addition to a complimentary breakfast each morning at Cafeteria Pepa De Oro, guests enjoy additional perks like Wi-Fi, bottled water and freshly baked cookies from Guayaquil’s famous Galleta Pecosa pastry shop each evening.

We hope you will have time to visit us again soon. Until then, we send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Camelia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

this is not a fancy hotel but the water was hot.. the spa was great it is on 5 floor.
they have games and tables up on the 5th check it out..
well location for food. close to water front..
beds ok with 4 pillows good. a/c works good and the street side is noisey

Room tip: street side noisey
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kitty37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hotel G, Guest Relations Manager at GRAND HOTEL GUAYAQUIL, AN ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION MEMBER, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We hope you had nice and relaxing stay.

A perfect start into the day begins with our complimentary breakfast buffet. Our rich buffet offers a wide selection of specialties, hot and cold dishes, as well as local and international breakfast favorites that vary every day. Enjoy a variety of breads, milk, cheeses, cold cuts, cereals, fresh juices, fruits, and many other delicacies.

In addition to a complimentary breakfast each morning at Cafeteria Pepa De Oro, guests enjoy additional perks like welcome cocktails, Wi-Fi, bottled water and freshly baked cookies from Guayaquil’s famous Galleta Pecosa pastry shop each evening.

Our air-conditioned guest rooms feature spacious, handsomely decorated spaces with desks and executive chairs, flat-screen televisions with cable and mini refrigerators. If you are a light sleeper, we invite you to reserve a room with an inside view. It will be our pleasure to assist you with this requirement. Please feel free to email us at info@grandhotelguayaquil.com.

Best regards,

Camelia S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews