We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Botanical Garden of Guayaquil
Ranked #21 of 114 things to do in Guayaquil
Attraction details
Reviewed 20 November 2016

On the top of a hill, with a good view of the river and suburbs below, the garden didn't live up to their descriptions. The orchid house was quite small with about 10 plants in flower (4 different species), the other 50-60 orchids being dormant. The bonsai section had 4 nice specimens. The cactus section was pathetic. There was one fish in the tilapia pond. There were some heliconias and a few other flowering plants scattered around, mostly unlabeled. The butterfly house had lots of plants, a waterfall, but no butterflies which was confirmed by a staff member. There were dead mounted butterflies in the auditorium. To compensate for the lack of botanical specimens, there were exhibits with no connection: small monkeys and many parrots in cramped cages; poultry (if like to see chickens in cages); some large fish in small aquariums; about 20 desperate turtles trying to fit into a puddle that might hold 2-3. This apparently was supposed to demonstrate the "Amazon Ecosystem" but I fail to understand how poor caged animals demonstrate anything other than the warped views of the owner. If you are coming from downtown Guayaquil, it's $8-10 by taxi each way, the taxi driver had a lot of trouble finding it with poor signage.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank errol1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"medicinal plants"
in 4 reviews
"poultry"
in 2 reviews
"butterflies"
in 9 reviews
"bloom"
in 4 reviews
"bonsai"
in 2 reviews
"auditorium"
in 2 reviews
"nature"
in 6 reviews
"trees"
in 10 reviews
"diversity"
in 3 reviews
"city"
in 9 reviews
"exhibition"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This place has virtually nothing there that they have on their map, but conversely many things you wouldn't think they would, they do have, including many animals in cages. They don't have hardly any orchids in the Orchid House the largest orchid in the world that supposed to be there is not, I did not see any of the medicinal plants which he said were small and there was a lot of disrepair. When I got there there was screaming children running around but fortunately they quickly loaded back on a school bus and left. The few plants that did have name tags were mostly on dead trees some were on the ground fallen off but very very few name tags existed. This may be the standard for Ecuadorian botanical gardens but it fell way short of my expectations and was far out of town and the address on TripAdvisor took us to the wrong place and we spent an hour with the driver looking for it, it was so not worth it. The only way we found it was from another TripAdvisor review that wrote the address in the text. it does only cost $3, but is not well kept up, i hated seeing all the fish in way too small of tanks and dirty water, lots of parrots caged and some monkeys caged. very sad...

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Cathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Is really beautiful place, we stop for awhile I like this place and there were benches to sit. I noticed some that plants I haven't seen yet before, the gardens are like oasis with fountains and ponds, very relaxing place

Amazing how well maintained the gardens are and how well it flows from one area to another. The gardens are really nicely landscaped with unusual plants and trees. It's a great place to be, in this part of Malecon you're surrounded by green environment, there were normally Iguanas here around, but we didn't see anything, some says you should looked up they can be on the trees

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank ShavyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

i toured the whole botanical garden with my Ecuadorian friends. Beautiful flowers..and well maintained garden. kudos to the City Administrators

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank j0ngking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Botanical Garden of Guayaquil
This is a touristic place of our city located in Francisco de Orellana Avenue and 24-B NE street, Ciudadela Las Orquídeas. This is a free place that have been visited by thousands of Ecuadorians and foreign people. In this place you can find scientific collections of living plants that are grown for their conservation, research, outreach and education such as timber trees, fruit trees and ornamental and exotic plants, so you can enjoy learning about botany.
You can also observe the Daule and Babahoyo rivers; this garden has species of birds, butterflies and mammals. If you are a lover of botany, this place is totally recommended for you, and if you are thinking of visiting Guayaquil, feel free to visit this beautiful place

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Navigator443299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botanical Garden of Guayaquil also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Botanical Garden of Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing