We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
52
38
11
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
38
11
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antique furniture the river rooftop terrace old mansion perfect location continental breakfast beautiful hotel penas las neighborhood malecon city ecuador airport linens accommodations taxi
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Checked in 26 Nov for one night. They charged the card when making reservation. Upon check-in they demanded $70 cash, which is $15 more then the quoted rate. Refused to give a receipt. No wifi in room 8, spiders in shower, floor dirty, blanket had lots of hairs. All-in-all, they charged the credit card for $55 plus took $70 cash and refused a receipt in the morning. I would never recommend this hotel, nor would I stay there again. While the lobby is beautiful and I am sure many of the rooms are as well, room 8 was nasty, tiny, and considering I paid over $125 for the night, this is a laughing joke of a hotel.

Room Tip: try somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located in the heart of the old town of Guayaquil. It was established in an old mansion from the old days of the city. It has been maintained to look like when it was build. The classic las Peñas Neighborhood is located right above and around the hotel. The malecón is only 5 minutes walking distance.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DiveDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel Mansion del Rio is in a good location to come from the coach Park or airport and is close to some nice areas of Guyaquil. It is an old colonial property with some very interesting and quirky antique decor. However, my partner and I didn't have the best experience stating here for the night.

Our room wasn't correctly booked on arrival and the member of staff who met us didn't explain breakfast or use of water or anything really?

The room had a nice view over the bay but didn't have water (we had to ask) and was pretty tired. There were a lot of ants in the room too. But we had just got back from the rainforest, so this didn't bother us. At night you are close to lots of bars and a few restaurants but our room was very noisy until midnight on a Thursday. Window open or closed it made no difference.

We came for breakfast to find it wasn't ready and when it was finally out it wasnt the freshest and some of the crockery was dirty and the choice was very limited. I couldn't help feeling we were an inconvenience to the member of staff.

Finally, we tired to book an airport transfer which was 'included' according to information but this wasn't booked on time and then we had to pay? Our Spanish isn't perfect but we are certain we asked for this correctly.

Shame it wasn't a better experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sophie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This hotel really is a bit of a puzzle. For location, if you want to stay in the Las Penas neighbourhood, you probably can't do better. It's only a $5 taxi cab ride from the airport, but as it's on a semi private street, you can't just walk outside and leap into a taxi to get to where you want to see in the city. You'll be mainly doing things on foot, at least until you get as far as the main road. If you turn left when you exit the property, you'll find yourself in the ultra modern river front development, with many (expensive) eating options, or you can turn right and head up the winding cobbled stairs and hills of the Las Penas hillside and village.

The hotel itself is impossible for anyone with any sort of mobility issue. If you cannot handle excessive, steep steps, then do not even consider this property. The first, very, very steep stone stairs take you up to the main lounger/dining room. The smell of damp and musty furniture almost knocks you back when you enter. It's quite the welcome. The decor of this area however is fascinating. You almost feel you've walked into a museum rather than a hotel. The antiques, chandeliers, ceiling and wall murals as well as the antique furniture is really fascinating. Up another steep staircase (this time wooden and winding, passing impressive stained glass) you'll find check in/reception and the first four rooms. Staff are reasonably welcoming and friendly, but English is somewhat limited.

Up another narrow, steep, winding, wooden staircase you'll find the next three rooms and an outdoor patio. Then up an almost vertical, stone staircase, you'll find rooms 8 and 9. There's another staircase up to rooms 10 and above. If you can, try and insist on rooms 1-4 when you're booking otherwise, you'll be completely worn out by the excessive climbing.

The room I had was billed as "single" and it certainly is. Single bed, barely furnished, but with mold and water damaged walls. The linens are tired and stained, but the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is much newer and fresher and the hot water pressure is good. Small bars of soap and a sachet of shampoo is provided, but the towel is not changed daily. The one towel provided was stained and when I left it on the floor in the morning, the maid simply picked it up and hung it up. There is a TV, but I never switched it on. There's no safe or any other amenity at all.

The wifi is next to useless. Room 9 is so far away from the main building, the signal just can't reach. You'll have to sit in the musty lounge if you want good wifi signal.

The breakfast is a bit woeful. Coffee, tea, watered juice, fruit (but get there early as it's not replaced when it runs out) breads, spam, that weird yellow rubber cheese south Americans love and eggs over cooked to order.

The rates reflect the rather rundown state of the property, but it's a bit of a mix up. The antique styling is quite fascinating and makes it very interesting, but it seems to hide that the property is terribly run down. The location is the best thing, as long as Las Penas is the reason you've come to Guayaquil. The river front was the most interesting part of the city for me, but it may not suit everyone.

Room Tip: Room 9 has as single bed, no wifi connection and is up endless, very steep stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jarko2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

It is like stepping back in time. The paintings on the ceilings, on the walls. Absolutely beautiful. No elevator but staff carried our luggage. They also, carried it down when we had to go to airport for 4:30 in the morning. Only thing I didnt like is the smell of the place. Probably the dampness from the ocean or the oldness of the building.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews