We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
90
66
30
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
66
30
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building small peninsula changed regularly easy access to the sea pine trees small hotel tourist train half board breakfast and dinner clean rooms self catering every evening per day day trip water taxi minute walk porec town
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Every time I visit Istria, I get a known sesnation that is exactly the same as the one I got as a kid 30 years ago. There are still the same ice cream shops with that special flourescent blue flavour, the same merchants along the lovely and narrow streets of Porec and, most importantly, here are still one man bands entertaining guests For me going to Istira is a bit of a nostalgic trip down memory lane.
There is, however, a twist: the Croats along with foreign investors build some new hotels and renovated the old ones. Service is slowly getting better as well.
Village Galijot is a mixture of both concepts. The hotel is a bit of a time capsule - when you walk in, you cannot tell if you are in 1995 or 2018.
But it is not a drawback; rather a pleasant getaway with really friendly staff and beautiful surroundings.

The good:
- really beautiful surrounding with stone beach and pine trees. The staff is meticulously trimming the grass and all the bushes. In the morning you get greeted by squirrels and sea gulls
- food is tasty and diverse.
- friendly staff.
- good restaurant in front of the hotel - they pack the food to take it to the beach.
- clean rooms and all facilities.

The not so good:
- small rooms.
- expensive! Our daily rate was 220 euro. That is a lot of money for such a resort. I have been at top notch 5 star resorts for that kind of money. The Croatian coastline is becoming really expensive, yet some stuff is still stuck in the late '80s.

To conclude, it is a lovely resort with a hefty price to pay.

The not so good

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Maarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeljka D, General Manager at Villa Galijot Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Marko
,
Thank you for sharing with us the feedback about the stay in our Villa Galijot Plava Laguna.

We are extremely proud to know that we have met your expectations regarding our gastronomic, our staff and our natural souroundings. We are always committed on offering to our dear guests great holidays and your compliments are our biggest award.

In the hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our facilities we send our regards!

Hotel Director

Luka Maleš

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Villa Laguna Galijot is set in Plava Laguna near Poreč town, on a small peninsula covered with pine trees. Guests have to leave cars out of resort in a "covered" parking, so the resort is mostly car free. Poreč is approx. 2-2.5 km away walking (alternatively, there is an option for a tourist "train"). Electric luggage cart helps you to bring luggage to your accomodation.

We booked a room in the main building, eg Villa (Village means a room in adjacent house, with more privacy and higher price, an even more expensive option are self catering appartments). Only option is half board, there is no option to have just breakfast. Most guests on the premises (at least in June) were russian families who come here for the whole summer, but you could also hear plenty of german and english languages. Outside summer season prices were very affordable.

We had a room 003, which was a quite small sea view room on a ground floor (we were also offered room with a sea view 131, but somehow i prefered 003. Despite the size, room was ok with all amenities that you need. There is also a small fridge, but it wasfilled with the hotel drinks and it wasn't really working that well. Bathroom was, similar to the size of the room, tiny.

Food (half board) was quite good. Both breakfast and dinner are buffet. Though, as this is a relatively small hotel, dishes do run out if you come too late (for example after 20:30, dinner is from 18:30 to 21:00 breakfast from 7:00 until 10:00). Some dishes were quite good and tasty, though it lacked quality wise for breakfast (for example selection of cheese and meat was very limited and not of very good quality). But i really liked the jam :-) Bar in the village is open until around 22h, and there are two restaurants/bars just outside small peninsula. And they do play live music, but it will not suit partygoers.

Pool is nice, filled with sea water with plenty of free sunbeds. Eventhough all the rooms were booked, there was never a problem getting a chair. Beach is rocky (with easy access to water) with plenty of natural shade, available showers and toilets. Unfortunately guests have to pay 20kn per day for a sunbed. Beach is mostly not suitable for young children (though there are two small pebble beaches).

Area is very calm, quiet and there are not many disturbances. But there is also not much of entertainment in the evening, so some will dislike that fact. I was actually quite surprised about this place - its certainly not a big concrete hotel like many around Porec - it just doesn't feel as a huge hotel (and it isn't) - a very relaxing holliday. Recommended - just know what you are looking for! If is entertainment, look elsewhere.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank matevzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Room a reasonable size and view through pine woods of sea pleasing. The food is good and varied with plenty on fish and tender meat on offer. Deserts however could do with a make over. The soups were hot and tasty and changed regularly.
Staff keep the hotel very clean and towels changed daily. Not a single item of litter seen, not just in and around the hotel, but the whole Istrian area. A very pretty destination. Well done Croatia!!
The only complaint was the lack of entertainment until 9th June,we arrived on the 3rd and after 9 p.m. the hotel lacked any ambiance. The seating area was limited so guests had no means of meeting fellow travellers. This improved once the entertainment began. If entertainment began say mid May this would improve matters and enable guests to interact more and exchange stories.

Room tip: Choose first floor. Ground floor may be a little damp as the rooms are below the grass level. Room 001 had a damp patch near bed.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 61birdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The hotel layout is a little unusual for a resort hotel. The entrance runs through a pine forest with little chalet type accommodation and up to the main hotel building which is quite small and unimposing. This basically presents a choice of two type of accommodation, a chalet or a room in the hotel building.

We stayed in the hotel building and as we arrived a little early we were checked in and invited to leave or cases in the storage area and grab a drink and something to eat in the bar. When we did get up to our room we were a bit disappointed as it was by far the smallest room we have ever had. After a chat with the very helpful and friendly reception staff they organised a larger room after the first night. This was a huge improvement and made a big difference! The view from the balcony was through the trees and over the little bay which was very nice!

The restaurant was relatively small but had a good selection of freshly cooked food both at Breakfast and Dinner. The quality was very good also!

Something we found a little odd, the bars close at 10pm which came as a surprise so be ready to either buy drinks at the super market or have some early nights! The bar staff were very friendly however and the food menu was good. Another thing which stood out was that the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.

The feel of the hotel is very laid back and serene. The guests are mostly families from continental Europe and many drive down and stay self catering in the chalets. As such it is very quiet on a night and there is little in the way of entertainment, however the peace and quiet was great for us!

The hotel is a nice half hour walk from Porec, but there is a tourist train and a water taxi also. the other side of the hotel is a small area called Zelena laguna which is a nice walk, it has a few bars and restaurants, a nice place to grab lunch.

The area is a great base to explore further afield too, we booked tours to Ljublijana and Bled in Slovenia and also took the ferry over to Venice. After such long days it was always nice to get back to the peace and quiet of the hotel for a drink and snack before bed!

The grounds are pretty, set on a peninsula in pine forests with beautiful blue water on each side. There are lots of Red squirrels in the grounds which are nice to watch and photograph.

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children or couples looking for somewhere for a nice relaxing break. We would love to return sometime!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wand3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

What a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and a perfect location. Although the bedroom isn't big it was spotless and very comfortable. Our room was cleaned every day and our bed linen and towels changed frequently.

The restaurant was lovely and a good choice of food was on offer. The staff are very friendly and Tomo and Kristoff were extremely helpful and friendly. There was plenty sun bathing areas around the coast with easy access to the sea and showers and changing booths dotted around the whole coastline. The gardens are very well maintained and very clean and tidy.

We loved the location, it was about a 25 minute walk to Porec town but it was a lovely walk along the coast, there is also the option to take the little tourist train or a boat taxi back.

A fabulous choice of hotel and one we would definitely return to.

Room tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor as there are no lifts, that said there are only 2 floors
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneMorris2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeljka D, Manager at Villa Galijot Plava Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Lynne Morris
,
Your review is like a small handbook of advices for our future guests!

Thank you in the name of the whole team for such nice words and recommendations dedicated to the hotel and it’s related services. We were really glad to read your positive impressions and it’s nice to hear that you enjoyed in all the charms that the destination offers.
Comments like this one are giving us a special motivation, it’s very encouraging to know that the hard work from our staff is recognized by the guests.
We use this opportunity to invite you to another visit in our Plava Laguna Resort where you can enjoy in all the surprises that we have prepared for our dear guests.

Sending our best from Poreč,

Luka Maleš, hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews