We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
25
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream no matter pressed beach sea
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Galija is perfect for a family holiday because there is a pleasant Atmosphere, very friendly service and you get some ice cream there too! The restaurant is right on the sea and easily accessible. I recommend the wok with sweet chili!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank i h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

A family-run B&B and Restaurant Galija is all about good looks. Situated conveniently at the entrance to the public beach, where hundreds of tourists walk past every day, it exploits this fact to the full. The Galija owners rely on restaurant as their main profiteer, so everything is subordinate to this. The modern furniture, fancy plates and glasses, quite a capable kitchen with interesting dishes, wide selection of drinks and probably the best ice cream in Crikvenica...
At first glance, daily guests would have thought that they hit the jackpot with this destination. But, the big elephant in the room is that Galija operates with just four waiters in two shifts, from dusk till dawn, on a daily basis and regardless of the number of guests. Because they also offer Bed & Breakfast, and the staff is the same as for the Restaurant and Bar, several-days guests can quickly find out that Galija has a lot of room for improvement.
Pros: The room was equipped with a large terrace with a sea view, which was almost twice the size of the room. The room was very clean, mainly thanks to the dedicated room-maid. The staff and managing family members were polite at all times. Among the four waiters who we had a chance to observe at work during our two-week stay, Mr. Elvis was the only one who was completely in line with our expectations. Kind, precise, helpful and self-initiative, day after day. Together with the maid, he was the only true added-value to our stay in Galija. Most breakfast dishes were of higher quality and with a few exceptions we got the same impression during our visits to the Restaurant.
Cons: The room was quite expensive because of its small size (the same applies to the bathroom), lack of storage space for suitcases and lack of electrical outlets. There was just one free available and it was in the bathroom! It was even worse with the Internet, due to catastrophic Wi-Fi range. Sound-proofing was also poor, every day in addition to the cacophony of sounds from the beach we could hear the pizza baker spliting wood for the oven.
There were also no reserved parking lots for hotel guests. Parking is available only in the public area along the coastal street, based on the principle of »whoever comes first, parks first«. Come in late and you will probably walk a lot, even over the day the parking lots are full because of daily beach visitors.
And lastly, two of the Galija's biggest shortcomings. Our reservation included breakfast and because they run B&B, we thought they would pay the necessary attention to breakfasts. To our extremely negative surprise we found out that guests have only a choice of 6 dishes, no matter how many days they stay there!!! Five out of those six dishes included eggs, either an Omelette, or Ham&eggs, or scrambled eggs, or boiled eggs... Eggs, eggs, eggs, all the time. Indeed, there was always a jar of marmalade, cheese and chocolate spread served before the egg dish, accompanied with a glass of orange juice, or cup of tea or coffee. But the offering was allways the same, every day. After 5 days we asked for some salami and cheese and tomatoes etc, but the waiters showed a complete lack of sense for adaptation or improvisation. It was common for them to answer that the hotel management did not allow this or that... After 8 days we pressed Mr. Elvis hard for a change and were rewarded with an excellent meat plate (photo attached), one and only queen of the party. If at least every couple of days guests would have the possibility of such a change!
Among four waiters there were a young female, a young male, one skinny waiter and already mentioned Mr. Elvis. The waitress served us one morning and we ordered two omelettes. She brought the orders and left. We waited for bread and cutlery, but she didn't come back. After few minutes we saw her serving some guests across the street at the Restaurant. She completely forgot on us! In the end I went to the kitchen for bread and cutlery myself. The young male waiter once served us with a basket of bread, full of leftovers (photo attached). When we rejected the basket and asked for some proper bread slices, he brought them, but with an unhappy expression on his face. Again, once he served us in the Restaurant. My pizza was over baked, so all the tomato sauce dried. I asked him to bring some more tomato sauce and he did. But charged us later for that, which I found totally inappropriate.
And there was this fine ice cream, my wife adored in the evenings. Not only did one scoop cost a whopping 1.4 euros, they always served extremely small portions. So once I mentioned that to the skinny waiter, who was serving it that evening instead of some usual young girl. He replied: »Well, the managers don't allow us to serve bigger portions, but your wife is welcome to buy one more, if this scoop is too small for her.« I was left speechless. With all of the above, the fact that they did not accept credit cards when we made a hotel payment, has not even agitated us...
All in all Galija is a mixed bag; a little of each, good & bad, worst & ecxellent, but almost always the appearance is put before the content. Which is a shame, because the potential for complete excellence is tremendous.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

-Big choice of tasty cocktails (galia specials, non alcoholic, shooters, heavy drinks and long drinks)
-Big choice of 100% detox & smoothie drinks. ( My favorite is spinach+honey+orange+ginger)
-Tasty ice cream
-Big choice of other drinks (hot drinks, soft drinks, beer, wine, domestic alcoholic drinks, liquers and alcoholic drinks)
-Near beach
-Friendly staff
-Fast service
-Afordable price
-Trendy music

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Galija is nice hotel! Not so far to sea! Breakfast is good and look like nice! The room is clean, but small! Staff is yong! /// Galija hotel szép, és nincs messze a parttól! A reggeli finom és a személyzet elég fiatalos! Amiben elhelyeztek minket szoba kicsi!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Escape677919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent ambient, amazing, funny and welcoming crew. Beautiful all-white interior on an open terrace with a first row view towards the main city beach, close to the city centre and popular city clubs. Also, very acceptable prices.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LeaKrsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews