We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Cavtat(Cavtat)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Royal(Cavtat)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pansion Lovac(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cina Apartments & Rooms(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,182)
Filter reviews
3,182 results
Traveller rating
1,479
1,277
342
64
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,479
1,277
342
64
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano bargolf buggybuggy serviceoutdoor poolsteak restaurantsalt waterhalf boardspinaker restaurantsea viewspinnaker barstar hotellarge hotelhotel buggythe clifflovely hotelmain restaurantnudist beach
Filter
Updating list...
908 - 913 of 3,182 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

As per previous reviews, the hotel is not quite meeting 5* standards. The hotel is a lot larger than I thought and I would not recommend for the less able unless you are happy to get the buggy service into cavtat however this was never mentioned to us during check in and we rarely saw it in action.

Breakfast is fine, you won't struggle to find something to eat but it's not great quality. One day the bacon will be almost burnt the next it looks anaemic. The waiters are slow in resetting tables and sometimes did not come round and offer tea or coffee which was a disappointment - 2 days we were not offered any and there is nowhere to help yourself as far as I saw for coffee. We stayed B&B and found lots of nice restaurants in cavtat. The piano bar is ok and had live music the one night we went. There was a frenzy at the bar with customers shouting over each other and to staff about who should be served next as people who had been waiting a long time were getting ignored - not exactly 5* service. The spinaker is nice enough but again eating and drinking in the hotel is of course more expensive than cavtat.

The staff are mostly friendly however when going to reception you often get passed around from desk to desk. We wanted to change our transfer time and got passed to 3 different desks and people to do it. We paid our bill one day at the main reception, went back another day to pay again and we're told we would need to go to another desk and see someone else. Why? Speaking of the hotel bill it is supposed to show on the TV - however this is wrong and only showed tourist tax and one item from our bill.

The hotel is very clean but there is a lot of walking involved to get around everywhere. Even breakfast requires you to go up and down lots of steps unless you want to wait for the unreliable, slow and old looking lift.

The hotel is in a great location. The sea is nice to swim and snorkel but is no good for small children. The pool area is a waste of time and is shaded for most of the day. The trees all over the hotel could do with being cut to allow more sunlight. Only the sunbeds in the middle of the pool area got sun for most of the day. And sides of pool only a few hours. But the pool is nowhere near as nice as the 'beach' and we only went to the pool once during our stay. For the pool and beach you do have to reserve sunbeds or we would aim to be there by 9 as we also required a parasol. The sunbeds at the beach are uncomfortable and getting a parasol is like gold dust. Why there are so few for a hotel this size is beyond me.

On our last day at approximately 8.30 the cleaner decided to just come into our room unannounced and did not even knock. This was very awkward as I stood there in my nightwear like a deer in headlights. I am clueless as to why she let herself in when checkout is not until 12. Weird. Make use of your do not disturb sign.

There isn't loads to do if it rains, there was thunderstorms while we stayed. There is an indoor pool and you can wander into cavtat, the hotel does also have umbrellas you can borrow. However everyone stayed in the hotel and it was just very busy and unpleasant.

In cavtat the prices of restaurants and bars seemed to vary from very cheap to almost hotel prices. Some lovely restaurants so we're glad we went B&B. It was difficult to find a B&B option flying from Manchester so we decided to book everything separately and had hotel transfers which were good costing 120 kuna.

Overall the hotel was nice and we had a great stay but I'm not convinced it was worth the cost.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Mrs. Jade,

Thank you for such detailed review on your stay in Hotel Croatia.

We are sorry if we didn’t meet your expectations in some areas, your comment that this is not a 5 star is a reason we need to do our best to change your opinion, and improve these details, so all our guests enjoy on their vacation.

We have taken a good note about all your comments, which will help us to improve our services every day.

We still hope to have opportunity to welcome you again to improve your impressions.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We spent four days in Cavtat at Hotel Croatia, The hotel grounds and facility are
beautiful. The staff I found very cordial and helpful. We stayed in a suite on the 10th
floor. The room was very nice but we had a ruff time in trying to keep the room cool
the AC did not work as well as it should. This is a huge property that can take care of a
1000 guest , large buffet breakfast is included. The little town of Cavtat , which is a
water taxi away from Old Dubrovnik , I can not say enough good things about it.
It is beautiful , quaint with fabulous restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Mr. Hal,

Thank you for your visit and for your review.

We are glad you had great holiday in our hotel Croatia, you enjoyed in our hotel facilities, restaurants offer in lovely town of Cavtat and that our lovely and helpful staff made your holidays enjoyable and memorable.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

On first arrival, I wasn't sure about this hotel. It seemed overly large and a bit corporate with big open expanses of mustard carpet, but by the second day I really came round to it. Breakfast was nice and fresh with plenty of choices. Staff were friendly and relaxed. The indoor pool was barely used so we almost had it to ourselves. You could only really get a lounger around the pool area after 3.30pm but there are plenty of places to sunbathe instead, in the grounds of the hotel or by the sea. We really appreciated the use of the free towels. There were lots of steps down to the town but a free golf buggy shuttle service ran all day and evening and was great fun.

We'd have liked to stay around the hotel for drinks more because some of the bars looked lovely but the cost was really expensive, hence four stars rather than five. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PBirchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Mr. Birchy,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Croatia for your vacation and for sharing the experience in our Hotel.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed in our hotel, in wonderful location and easy walking to the old town of Cavtat, our restaurants and food offer.
Thank you for recognizing our polite and helpful staff effort in making your holidays memorable and enjoyable.

We hope that we will greet you again in our lovely Hotel!

Best regards from sunny Cavtat,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

just returned from hotel Croatia but fear will not be going back. As others have said the view is fantastic but that is about it. We were bed and breakfast thank goodness as if reports from others were to believed the food was pretty bad. The view from our room was fantastic but the balcony area was never cleaned. The rooms were given (in my view) a quick once over . The breakfast was just okay . The bar prices were a joke - my husband drinks a local black beer (tomislav) - he paid 52 kn in the hotel and 20 kn in a bar in the village. We had a couple of lunches in the hotel and one in the Spinnaker but no more - the quality was poor and the price again high. Have been to Croatia and to Cavtat many times and have stayed in other lower star hotels but much better. I do have walking difficulties and was worried about reports about the buggy service. This is one area however I have no complaints - We stayed two weeks and used the buggy service at least twice a day with no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Mrs. Sandra,

Thank you for taking your time on writing this review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed in spectacular sea view from the hotel and lovely Cavtat itself.
We are sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay at hotel Croatia with our facilities and some of the service in the hotel.
We have taken a good note about all your comments, which will help us to improve our services every day.
We still hope to have opportunity to welcome you again to improve your impressions.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My daughter and I really enjoyed a week in this hotel. The location is beautiful and Cavtat is quiet, virtually traffic free and laid back with several good restaurants. The views from the hotel are stunning and the facilities are great. I would return. It is quite close to Dubrovnik - 40 minute sea ferry ride and 5 minutes from the airport in a taxi which is great (there were flights coming over Cavtat throughout the day but not too many or too intrusive). The hotel is well looked after and very clean and has a slightly quirky 70s eastern bloc feel to it in the public areas which I liked because it didn't feel 'corporate'. The food is quite good, but not 5 star. There is plenty of choice but its not restaurant quality. The Steak House and Spinnaker restaurants are on the same site and the food is better at both. We felt safe and happy at this Hotel.

Room Tip: We loved the fifth floor sea view room as it was on the same level as the pool and one floor from reception.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lilycatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Mrs. Lily,

We are really happy to read such positive feedback about our Hotel Croatia!

We are glad you enjoyed spectacular sea views as well as all hotel facilities.

Thank you very much for being our guest and we are looking forward meeting you here again!

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews