We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrimp risotto without the shrimp”

Zalogajnica Rokotin
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This is a little beach side restaurant in the resort town of Cavtat, just south of Dubrovnik.
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I almost don't feel that it's fair to review restaurants in Cavtat in August. There are so many tourists and the staff are all hot, overworked and overtired and sometimes cranky. However, my meal at Rokotin recently was disappointing enough to mention.

First, let me say that their food is usually very good. The service is typically mixed, some are very friendly, but a couple of the waiters can be surly, but the ambience usually makes up for it. In this case, the waiter was unpleasant enough to mention, especially since we were there at a quiet time of day. Our young waiter was inattentive and rude. He seemed quite annoyed at receiving a small tip, but his attitude was so bad that I didn't feel it needed to be rewarded.

My main complaint was with the prawn risotto. I normally order meat from the grill, which is always good, but a friend and I both wanted to try the risotto. It was delicious, but utterly devoid of shrimp. It was almost a bisque. I know it is the high season and the quality of food usually slips a bit everywhere, but this was as insulting as the service.

I will go back to Rokotin again, but not in August and I will certainly be sure to ask the staff if they can actually include shrimp in the shrimp risotto.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Baylaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Rokotin is a restaurant with a longstanding reputation, offering great traditional food and relaxed atmosphere. The food is excellent, we eat there every year, and have never experienced any bad surprises - the food is fresh, well prepared, tasty.
The restaurant is located in coniferous forest, in shade, and is overlooking a popular but not overcrowded beach.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ZCelebic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Cavtat for 2 weeks. Visited several restaurants (Ivan, Spinaker and others), but Rokotin is the best. Very fresh and tasty food, actually best in Cavtat. Wonderful view, very relaxing atmosphere and just lovely place. You can always find a table and spend a couple of hours in a shadow when it's hot during the day or have a romantic dinner there. At first you can think that the waiters are too relaxed, but it's just a part of the atmosphere and in 10 min you will enjoy you time there. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Superb sardines and Greek salad - jut ask for that and leave it there! House wine also good value. Can take a while to cook but not a microwave in sight so no great surprise.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Davepaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

This restaurant is very relaxed and laid back, it has the most stunning views of the beach and sea. Service is on the slow side but that's ok when you're on holiday...who wants to feel that they're being rushed? We visited the restaurant for three lunches and we seemed to see the same people each time, great for salads and grilled fish. Good selection of wines. Waiters friendly and welcoming. Clean loos too, a real bonus when you're coming off the beach.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zalogajnica Rokotin also viewed

 

Been to Zalogajnica Rokotin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing