We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting and Relaxing”
Review of Wamao Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wamao Inn
Ranked #4 of 2,625 Lijiang B&B and Inns
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inviting and Relaxing”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here during our visit to Lijiang. The Wamao Inn is a cozy place with clean rooms centered around a small courtyard. The owners were very helpful. They pointed out places to eat, set up our horse riding adventure, and even woke up early to make us free breakfast (Baozi) on our last morning. We will definitely stay here again. On a side note, the Inn is named after the owner's dog, a friendly border collie, who welcomes you back after each visit into the old city or wherever you go.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshuao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Sorry Chunsheng & Dongdong but being busy during whole January that I dont even have a sec to write a trip report!

I would say It was so delightful about our choiceduring our anniversary trip in December, and It was the best days we've spend in Yunnan in our journey!

After a 5hours long coach journey from shangri-la we were warmly greeted by the owner Chunsheng, right outside the entrance of the old town. The little inn was incredibly well designed, the room was filled by a comfy king bed, a large LCD tv and a big modern bathroom equipped with luxury amenities.

We've got a detailed map right after we settled, all about old town and a bunch of local's favourite restaurants. Having had the best breakfast in our life during the stay!!

A journey to the surrounding was a must have for most tourists, thus our trip was negotiated by the owner with a very decent and unbeaten price from hight street !

Pros,
1. Comfy bed with thick curtain, well, I had better sleep than some 5* properties.
2. We had a whole roast pig party during our stay!
3. You'll get satisfaction from whatever you asked, if possible.
4. Eva and me love the table games with neighborhood guests !! But there's no chance Chunsheng could be beaten in any ways...
5. We love Wamao! and Qingpi..miss both of you!

Cons,
1. The cleaner must be more responsible for her job.
2. NOTHING.

Thanks for your great hospitality, and it was probably the most wonderful memory in our life! Hopefully we'll see you again very soon:)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank frkstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed here for three nights. While I was there I was the only Westerner but there were some other Chinese guests. Since the Wamao is small you get to know everyone staying there. The Wamao (cat on the roof tiles not dog as the last review states) is family owned with the owners being very presonable and helpful. The Inn is located close to a vegetable market which is really fun to visit as long as it does not rain. Recommend the Wamao Inn.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jamejonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed here for couple of nights coming in from Kunming and as a staging place for Shangrila. Located within old town, but not too close to the noise of the bars. 5 rooms so you will chill with your neighbours and get to know everyone. Owners are young, chilled couple who will take care of you (take you shopping so you don't get screwed). Wamao (the dog) is one of the friendliest creatures you'll meet. Enjoyed my stay immensely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natrificial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
0.0 km away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
0.0 km away
LUX* Tea Horse Road Lijiang
0.0 km away
Hotel Indigo Lijiang Ancient Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lvye An Jia
Lvye An Jia
#1 of 2,625 in Lijiang
576 reviews
0.0 km away
Hemuju Inn Lijiang Mufu
Hemuju Inn Lijiang Mufu
#3 of 2,625 in Lijiang
57 reviews
0.0 km away
InterContinental Lijiang Ancient Town Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wamao Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wamao Inn

Property: Wamao Inn
Address: No.3 Zhaoqing Village, Qiyi Street, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 2,625 B&Bs / Inns in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wamao Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing