We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
16
9
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
9
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet separate shower chinese hotels excellent location old city beautiful hotel south gate concierge storey pillows privacy english china
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This hotel has a Japanese sense of design. It is very elegant. I found each piece to be chosen in perfect taste and useful. It is located in the lovely Ancient City with no cars. My guide fr China Discovery Tours arranged with the hotel for my luggage both on arrival & departure .
My large room had a divinely comfortable mattress & pillows. The huge bathroom had a very large tub for 2. The separate shower was symmetrically placed on one side of the sink & on the other side was the toilet in a closet like space – with a door for privacy. Off the bathroom was a small patio with 2 chairs & a table – totally private. They designed the rooms so they are located in small attached structures, along various charming streets all within the hotel complex going from the main building containing their reception area & Dining room. Breakfast was delicious with a few most satisfying western choices. The service was fine. I assume everyone traveling has a translator app.There was no frig & the strong box is w Concierge.

Room Tip: I was in one of the rooms closest to the reception area. If walking is an issue be sure to request such a room.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nscheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Good location. Decent rooms. But rest of services don’t expect much. Had to request 3 times for room cleaning. First day turn down service didn’t happened. Second day at 7pm and that too only made the bed and refreshed towels. Rest of the room was still mess. It was hot in room. AC was set at 16degrees. But still not the best. Bathroom was always warm.
Good thing they had upgraded to Spa room which have bath tub.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank vishalsanadhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Anyone giving this hotel a bad review needs to have his or her head examined. It is a lovely and stylish place. Very zen and fits in well with the surroundings of the old city of Dali. The staff are very friendly and despite what some have posted, very Western.

I live in China, so trust me, I know Chinese hotels (Chinese hotels have no adjustable AC - the One does) lots of amenities. We booked the up and downstairs, so maybe the other rooms aren't as good, but ours was perfect for families.

It's a beautiful hotel. The breakfast buffet isn't that great, but just don't buy it and go into town where fabulous restaurants are a step away.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank QingdaoAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

The One Resort Dali was a mixture of the good and the not so good. Its position within the old walled city is great. This position has its issues however, Vehicular traffic, is limited between the hours of 8am to 8pm. To arrange a electric vehicle to pick up luggage at the gate of the old wall within these hours, hotel reception must be contacted, This was not a problem for us as we had a local private guide from China Odyssey Tours so all it took was a phone call from our wonderful guide Sally. Rooms were modern, tastefully furnished and spacious, but no refrigerator also minimal staff English. Without Sally we would have had problems over our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: For travelers with mobility issues, resort layout could present problems
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This is a very new and clean hotel.
The rooms are in 2 storey houses spread across the compound.
Location is fantastic because it is just inside the Old Town near the South gate. So walking to the main streets in Old Town takes just 5mins. Along the same street with the hotel there are several decent massage and foot reflexology outlets. Very convenient to take a cab as it is only a 2mins walk to the main road just outside the Old Town.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HCG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews