We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About what you'd expect”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #63 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Our non-smoking room smelled smoky, we found a penny and some other objects on the floor, and one towel was stained. Otherwise, it seemed clean, and everything (except one socket) was in working order. We had 4 sets of semi-thick towels, which was nice. The employees were friendly and we felt relatively safe. Yes, we could hear the interstate all night, but it actually helped us sleep. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast consisted of vouchers at the Waffle House next door, good for a waffle, biscuits and gravy, or a biscuit sandwich, plus coffee, tea, or soda. We had the restaurant to ourselves the first morning, at 7am, but it was filled to capacity the next day at 8am - both times the service was relatively quick. We wouldn't stay here again, but it was fine for this trip.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the back side that are probably quieter, but you can't see your car from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janebC1903KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed at this Econo Lodge on 6/18/2016. The hotel is a good deal for the money--$67.82 for a non-smoking room with two double beds. I booked this room online and requested a first-floor room which we were given. The room was nice and clean and the beds comfortable. I wanted to take a bath but there were no drain stoppers available. When I inquired at the desk, I was told that they were in the process of remodeling. We were given coupons for breakfast at the Waffle Inn which is attached to the hotel. These coupons are good for a breakfast sandwich (biscuit or toast) and a drink (coffee, tea, or soft drink but not for orange juice which is the same price as the others). We were told that we could "upgrade" the coupons at the hotel but were told at the restaurant that we couldn't.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bowebil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

We were up for the DMB concert and stayed the night. The parking area is steep on the front side...hotel located on a hilltop. The receptionist was very polite and helpful. Although the hotel is old it was clean. You get free breakfast at the Waffle House...not a big breakfast but a biscuit or waffle and a beverage. I've paid more for worse. I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The staff was great, the room was adequate but the internet was the worse. I could hear the traffic from the interstate is was so close. The waffle house is attached to the hotel. You get a free breakfast sandwich for staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FCalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the Econolodge around 2 am, staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel lobby is clean and inviting but as soon as you hit the stairway all hell breaks loose. Hallways smell, carpets are dirty. Doorways are filled with dirt and trash. Walked in the room to be greeted by ducktape on the Light switch. Carpets were dirty, sheets stained, pillows were stained, bathroom was dirty. Tried room two and it was equally as dirty. Front desk staff didn't seem surprised when we asked for a refund.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank tdawn_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
6.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#57 of 80 in Birmingham
437 reviews
3.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
4.7 km away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
4.7 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1535 Montgomery Hwy, Birmingham, AL 35216-4527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: €46 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great property just minutes away from shopping and attractions. Enjoy free high speed internet, and lounge right on site. Interior and exterior rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing