We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
MLK visit on MLK day

Wonderful experience and enhanced by the multiple special events on that special day. I spent... read more

Reviewed yesterday
marsp0re
,
Dublin, Ireland
A must see...

We spent a lovely (albeit rainy) afternoon here and came away both horrified and hopeful. The... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
jrush428
,
Lincoln, Nebraska
Read all 1,103 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Birmingham
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$90.00
More Info
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
887
180
24
2
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
180
24
2
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street baptist church civil rights across the street eye opening moving experience freedom riders jail cell kelly ingram park african americans american history jim crow martin luther king short film two hours great museum learn something united states
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

This place is very moving. Documenting the desecration of the area. I would highly recommend everyone go through this it was very eye opening for me.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank deereman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

If you like history this is the place to go in Birmingham very well donr and very informative it was a great experiance

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Have been wanting to get to this iconic spot for years. It begins with a film, that opens the door to a room depicting the Jim Crow South, moving along with timelines of various civil rights events and national events. Be forewarned. We spent far too much time in the early part of the museum and did not have time to see the additions, which we are told take us into the next level of race relations. Allow three hours. Also, the 16th Street Baptist Church across the way closes at 3 p.m., so get there early unless you intend to return for church services. Docents here extremely cordial. Do not miss in downtown Birmingham!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Our 50th High School reunion toured this place. It was the brainchild of David Vann,the last white mayor of Birmingham and finally brought to fruition by Richard Arrington, Jr., the first black mayor. We also road along the civil rights trail, seeing "dynamite hill" along central avenue. I had no idea, even though I grew up in Birmingham. A real eye opener!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 20rickyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

This is a major institute to learn about the Civil Rights movement - it goes far beyond the 'modern period' starting in the 1950's and encapsolates the incredible resiliance to the hatred generated against African Americans (and others!) for no other reason that equal rights meant that everybody needs to be treated fairly. We spent over 3 hours in the building looking at exhibits and searching records. Very worth the time - be prepared to learn!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank sid a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews