We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
5
17
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
17
5
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

When we arrived here the staff had no record of our booking. I showed them the confirmation letter and forwarded them the confirmation email, but they treated the matter as if it was our fault and something we needed to sort out by contacting agoda.com (who I booked it through). Despite claiming to be an international hotel, they are unable to make international phone calls, their internet access blocked 99% of the links to the agoda site and they don't have any staff who can speak English. So it was very hard work trying to resolve the situation.
The room they eventually put us in had a double bed when we had booked, and also requested by email, twin beds. It was also very visably extremely dirty under the beds and had workmen drilling loudly in the next room. They did move us to a twin room away from the drilling but it was still dirty and smelt strongly of cigarette smoke.
As they told us they had no record of our booking, and after the appalling customer service we received, we went and booked into another place for the second night of a two night stay. When I went to tell them we would be checking out the next day they said that the money had already gone through and that they did have the booking after all and had just lost it.
We left anyway and went to the youth hostel which was much nicer, cleaner, really friendly, english speaking, helpful staff, free wifi and was under half the price.
We did get a refund for the night we didn't stay but agoda had to request confirmation from the hotel staff twice as they didn't respond for five days.
All in all a horrible experience. Any of the incidents would have been overlooked if only the staff had had a nicer attitude instead of expecting us to sort out their messes.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We got to this hotel thanks to my friend's crapshoot method of finding rooms. I guess the result was OK. I was initially worried about road noise due to very poor fitting windows but in fact the craziness of Luoyang traffic does cease about 10 pm and only resumes at 6ish am. Room was fine, breakfast good and included.
The Chinglish of the hotel brochure indicates that on some other floors you can get the services of "the sexualgirl". Luoyang co-travellers on the 10-hour standing room only train trip to Beijing indicated this is "not a good hotel" which really makes me wonder about those other floors.
Good food court on the top floor of the mall west of the hotel.
OLD RR station about 1 km north.
NEW RR station is at Longmen about 15 km south but there is a bus (1 yuan). Easy to get busses to other locations too (helps greatly to read Chinese, but the bus numbers listed in the "Rough Guide" are correct).
Highly advised NOT to travel in China (at all) during top holiday week.
The staff were very chummy with my Chinese-speaking friend and gave a lot of local recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craxiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I found the Luoyang Cygnus International Hotel on the CTrip.com website, where it had a "silver medal" (whatever that means). The room price for a 4 star hotel was very reasonable compared to other 4 star hotels on ctrip.com in Luoyang, all of which had received unfavorable ratings in Tripadvisor. It is also not far from the train station. The room was very modern, very clean and very comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, although we mostly spoke Chinese, so I'm not sure how good their English was if Chinese was not an option. They found me a taxi driver to drive me to BaiMa Temple and LongMen Grottoes as I had only one day to spend in Luoyang for a very reasonable price. There was a nice Chinese breakfast buffet, although the coffee looked a bit odd. When I pointed this out, one of the service staff members went to the kitchen and brought me something different (perhaps made with a Nescafe 3 in 1 mix?) that was perfectly nice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ysolde_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews