We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
25
31
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
31
11
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

The setting of the hotel is beautiful: on a hill within trees and gardens (makes for fresher air). The dimensions are truly that of a government guest house. While it feels as if having been built in old communist grandeur times, it is indeed only around 15 years old but looks a bit "worn" at places and rooms could benefit from some make-up. For instance, our room hat cloth wall"paper" that was smudgy at some places, and the shower area had signs of "wear and tear".
As others have noted, the pool areas (indoor and outdoor) seem to be "under construction" , and overall the hotel gives the impression that is the designers miscalculated the actual demand for staying there (it was quite empty when we were staying there).
Still: the location is great, as only walking distance from the grottoes and nearby temple and park - though you can also get a shuttle if you do not wish to walk 10-15 minutes uphill or downhill do the access of the tourist area.
As others have noted, only few people speak English, but staff is friendly and forthcoming.
As the hotel is set in different buildings, you may need to walk to another building for dinner or breakfast (separate locations, quite "grand"). Food was good, though the breakfast selection catered more to Chinese than international tastes.
(see photos).
Overall: a very convenient location, actually very relaxing and away form the noise and bustle of the main city, and it will offer a bit of Chinese adventure, entirely safe.

Room tip: rooms that do not face a parking lot are quieter
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The hotel is located in the middle of a mountain, cross the river, is the Longmen grottoshas. It has beautiful gardens and trails. The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious and good price. The service was excellent. I lost my purse, the hotel helped me call the places I went, and found it for me.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smilej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

While this hotel might work if it is part of an accompanied group tour, it doesn't work well for an independent traveler.

The front desk service is terrible - 15 minutes to acknowledge your presence "Are you checking in?" then another 10 minute wait.

Almost all the facilities were closed: Neither indoor nor outdoor pool were open (or even filled), the "Western" restaurant was closed, indeed I couldn't find any restaurant onsite other than the breakfast in the coffee shop.

As the hotel is behind the road barriers for the Luoyang Longmen monument, I couldn't get a taxi to come up for sightseeing and had to hike out.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This is a 5 star government guest house. We choose it because of its proximity to Longmen Grotto, walking distance. The hotel provides free shuttle to the foot of the hill where the hotel entrance is and the local shuttle will bring you to the ticket booth for RMB5 per pax. This paid shuttle also picks visitors who park their cars in one of the several car parks for the Grotto. We walked to the ticket booth across the bridge since we were out early. However, English is limited.

The rooms are large and all the plumbing worked. The bed mattress is softer than most Chinese style mattresses. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but prices looked reasonable. Since they cook for the state guests, the chef's cooking should be of high standard. I had a non smoking room which did not smell. They turn off the aircon at 10pm. The night was cool so I left the window opened. The hotel has quiet surroundings.

The hotel is 10km from the Luoyang city or RMB70 by taxi, with some bargining you may bring it down to RMB50 from the city to hotel. Since we stayed only for a night, we went to town to try the water feast at the famous "Chen Bu Tong" restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emster2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

This hotel is situated across from the Longmen Grottoes. In addition to its wonderful location, the hotel was friendly and had excellent facilities, including dining and sports center. The only points that I would improve would be to hire more personnel with English skills and to extend the hours of the sports center. It now opens at 3 PM, which is inconvenient. However, these were minor and I would recommend this hotel hardily.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank stanley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews