We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
273
31
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
31
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tall buildings karst mountains mountain bikes yulong river the hotel's restaurant minute drive eggplant nice bathroom water cave five nights stayed nights breakfast and dinner jerry retreat moon hill balcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really loved it. Having just come from backpacking in the Longji terraces and staying in places that barely had indoor plumbing, this place was such a pleasant surprise. We stayed in the room upstairs with the balcony and it was lovely! The rooms were exceptionally clean, comfortable beds, very nice bathroom, powerful heater/AC. Walking distance to moon hill and other attractions and about 10 mins from the downtown area. The food we ate here was good and Lily the owner was extremely helpful in helping us arrange a car we needed to take early in the morning to catch our train. Can’t recommend this place enough!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank soanonymous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had a great experience staying in this place. The best part of it was the very friendly and helpful lady who manages the retreat recommending trips and giving us detailed guidance on how to make the best out of it. Breakfast and dinner were very good, too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eladiobuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We went on a trip to the areas near Guilin during the the national holiday, and I have to say that this was the best room I have stayed in during the trip. I really regret not having time to extend our stay there. The place is nice, neat, well kept and near some nice spots. You can go climb a small mountain nearby or take some nice pics of the beautiful mountains surrounding the place. The staff were very kind and helpful. One of them went out to the main street on her e-bike to guide our convoy of 5 cars to the place. She helped us find parking as we can't drive cars into the area of the hotel before 7:00PM. So we had to park somewhere near the entrance to the area. The hotel has a car that will pick you up from there to the hotel, but if you arrive after 7:00 PM, you can just drive to there.
The food in the hotel's restaurant was very nice.
While some of us were enjoying resting in hotel room, some of our friends preferred to camp and have their BBQ in the back garden where there were some seats and trees giving a very suitable environment for such activities.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view on the road (east view) as it will show you green fields and beautiful mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moment84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Phoenix Pagoda during Golden Week, which isn’t necessarily the best week in terms of tranquillity. However from the first moment we arrived our stay was beyond perfect and they provided exactly the calmness, tranquillity and hospitality we were looking for coming from a major city. The food was best we’ve had in a very long time (especially the pumpkin and eggplant), rooms are comfortable and well done and the staff is just most warm and friendly with perfect English. It felt like a little oasis. I can recommend this place to everyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in nature!! Thanks Jerry, lily and everyone else at Phoenix pagoda!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maud O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay. Such friendly staff and so so helpful, made our stay in Yangshuo so easy we didn't have to worry about a thing. Helped us get from the airport to the hotel, they can even arrange a car for you but we got the bus that runs every 1.5 hours. They gave us directions and information about everything we wanted to do, and rented us scooters and bikes to travel around. They also offer western and Chinese style breakfast and dinner which is great too.

The rooms are so nice and decorated in authentic Chinese style with views of the mountains from the balcony.

Location is great, out of the way of overcrowded Yangshuo but not too far away from the sights, and very close to Moon Hill.

Perfect for a short getaway!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charliemharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews