We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
13
10
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
10
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The resort is very large and offering various type of accommodation from dormitories to private villas.I refer to the hotel, which is a professionally managed of international standard. The rooms are homely decorated and furnished with a local touch. The beds are not local but comfyly soft.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful - particularly the concierges Eric and Michael helped me with a very unusual request! English is patchy with many of the staff, though. There's Chinese food and some western food -like pizzas, pasta dishes and sandwiches- available. The western food is not haute cuisine but comfort food - I loved it after 2 weeks of roughing it in the country side. They even do proper Gin Tonics that you can enjoy as a sun downer on the roof top terrace with a fantastic view of the dunes. I did this three days in a row! Breakfast has a wide selection of western and asian favorites, the only set back: the cheese was processed cheese slices in plastic. The baguette bread was fresh, eggs would be cooked to order, a selection of real juices as well as coffee was available and there was real butter and good jams and marmelade (I can't deal with Chinese breakfast, I'm afraid, even after 15 years in the country.).
Breakfast was included in the room price.

The resort is easy to reach by car (free parking for hotel guests) but rather far from downtown. It's within walking distance of the dunes and sits right next to the venue of the folklore show. To the airport it's a 15 minutes drive, the hotel offers free transfer.

I visited in off season and had a calm and pleasant stay - I could imagine that the area becomes buzzing in main season. Next time I will be in Dunhuang I will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nothe2le
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Having left the smog of Xi'an, we were delighted to see the blue skies of Dunhuang and the cultural hotel called the Silk Road. The dunes area was lovely, quiet and cold! - cozy and warm in the spacious rooms of this interesting hotel.
The service was good, food was fair, the views from the terrace roof - stunning.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sammy10dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Stayed here as part of a long, 18 day, silk road trip.
This hotel gave us a very relaxing 2 days while we visited local sites. Nice room, good wifi access throughout the hotel (though not the fastest). Stunning entrance lobby and very comfortable room. They also let us check in early following an overnight train trip.
Very good breakfast on roof top terrace with a superb view over the dunes.
Evening on the terrace was rather spoiled by the noisy theatre show next door; not sure if that is part of the hotel or whether it happens only at weekends.

Room tip: Our room was on ground (or for US readers first) floor looking out onto car park. Needed to keep curtains closed when changing etc
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Watching the sun come up over the dunes is a spectacular sight. This hotel was memorable for all the right reasons: scrumptious breakfast, comfortable accommodations, beautiful sunrise from a rooftop restaurant, friendly staff. Additionally it is conveniently located to the airport.
The breakfast was buffet style and could accommodate any palate. There were regionally traditional items as well as western foods. Between scenery, service and sensational tastes, expect to linger over your early meal.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Newly built hotel in the style of a traditional castle /fortress, 4 star. Views of the nearby big sand dunes, especially from the roof-top restaurant and some rooms. Friendly english spaeking staff, conference centre, free wifi, restaurants,spa. Outside town and about 10 minutes by car from the airport. Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews