We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 00:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Crescent Moon Pool
from US$129.00
More Info
from US$389.00
More Info
from US$369.00
More Info
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
153
117
65
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
117
65
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crescent moon sand dunes camel ride desert oasis theme park silk road beautiful lake pagoda area green oasis gobi desert worst part closed off don t forget crescent shape chinese tourists cultural revolution tour group
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This is one of the oasis along the Silk Road,the name comes from the shape like a half moon

Thanks to the barricade imposed by the xinjiang authority, the outer half of the lake is closed off,otherwise it will be filled by people again

The sand dunes,water,pagoda ,the corn field creates a beautiful
Scene for photography

After the camel ride,the climb up to the sand dunes,it is a beautiful place to sit on the sand and relax

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Allan & Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The pool itself is small and brown and not that interesting or significant but the area around is quite sopectacular with the massive sand dunes. Expect large crowds.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is a very popular place among Chinese tourist. When I was there, it was packed with Chinese tourist. The lake is not far from the entrance. But many tourist take a long camel ride to an area that is near to the lake. There are many activities for the visitor. There is climbing up the dunes, sand buggy rides, sand slides, motor hang glider and even helicopter rides. I chose the free option which was to climb up the steepest and highest sand dune. The view from the top offers a spectacular view of the monastery and the lake. I personally found walking in my socks was much easier when walking in the sand. Highly recommend anyone going there to walk to the top of the sand dune.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Steven_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

This place is actually inside the Mingsha Shan (Echo Sand Mountain) Park, I dont know why there is a different topic for this attraction.
Anyways, it's a cool pool, you can take a nice picture of the temple above it from there. But sometimes they close the area just in front of it.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Jacqueline_Jacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Well think of Gansu and it is the crescent moon oasis that is in all the photos so you absolutely must go. I think we did the best job of this.... went early and took the camel ride which is just mass camels and really worth it, it sounds dumb but it is really really worth it.... then we took some photos of the crescent moon and left the park and did the Caves and came back at 7pm and climbed to the top of the sand dunes and watched sunset. They light up the template and crescent pool and it is lovely to see from above and much cooler to do that at night. When you leave the park during the day you can registered your face in the face scanner and that allows you to get back in before 7.30pm for free

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews