We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
62
18
11
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
18
11
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two floors walking distance minutes driving beautiful architecture two bedroom villa old village unesco world heritage special thanks huangshan mountain one night beautiful hotel chinese cuisine anhui province hot water room service noodles resort
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We booked the Banyan because of its name and the great reviews here.
Unfortunately it didn’t meet our expectations.

There are a lot of positives about the resort. The location is wonderful amidst the mountains, away from the hustle of the major cities. The ancient villages nearby are amazing and definitely worth a visit.
The architecture or the resort fits beautifully into the landscape and the staff tries their hardest to make you feel welcome.

BUT

Half the resort is under construction, so it’s mostly empty. You feel a little like you’re in a ghost town.
Even in the main Lobby you could hear the construction noise upon arrival. Luckily we heard nothing in our villa. The villa is beautiful on the inside, but is in need of renovation on the outside. (Peeling pain/water stains)

The restaurant offers many Chinese dishes which are good, as far as we tried.
Unfortunately the western options are almost uneatable. The Hawaii pizza was just dough with a fruit cocktail on it and smothered in cheese.
They also do not speak much English, which makes it impossible to ask about unknown dishes or make changes to your order. Not what I expect from a 5 star hotel.

We booked a trip to Huangshan mountain with the hotel unfortunately no one mentioned that literally everything there is in Chinese and nobody speaks any English. So we were dropped off by our driver and had to fend for ourselves. It would have been nice to have some information from the staff about that.
When we complain about that upon return all we received as an answer was that they knew of the English issues there. No reaction to our feedback beyond that.

The deposit they took from us upon check in was the highest I have ever encountered. 15000 Yuan for only two nights of stay? That’s ridiculous. And it was blocked on my credit card over a week after my check out which made the card basically unusable.

The English level overall is quite poor and makes it difficult to express your complaints or wishes. Also there seems to be no communication between different employees, they constantly had to call each other to double check if what we said was true or even what we wanted. So a lot of waiting time. That was extremely exhausting!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank yvonnen306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Firstly a mystery surrounds this hotel which is very hard to find on Tripadvisor. Secondly, we understand that the recent history of this hotel has not lived up to the expectations of the owners. But all this is over and the hotel is in major renovation work, once taken over by the Accor group. The prices are down and now you have the opportunity to be in a beautiful and quiet environement, slightly in the mountains and very close to the Unesco villages. The services are excellent and we were fortunate to have a contingent villa with every imaginable comfort at a bargain price. This is the best hotel we have had in China. The restaurant in the hotel is also beautiful and the breakfast extremely good either for Continenal or Chinese tastes. What a joy to have a break here between 2 Chinese mega-cities!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millenium2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

heard a lot of reviews on how the stairway for villas are too narrow, thought it was ok. nice that it's close to hong cun, very beautiful! personally think this is the only decent hotel in huangshan. we had room service the last night, and the food was quite good

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank tingalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Most things there were nice: beautiful architecture and landscape at a gorgeous location, very well-equipped and well-decorated rooms with a huge bathtub, well-maintained common areas.

Despite these, there’s a lack of something as compared to those under the same brand in Phuket and Macau alike. Staff were efficient and nice but not as caring and patient as those in the counterparts. We expected a decent dinner in such a luxurious resort, but sorry to say the dinner was awful in the only restaurant. Food was oily with no difference as compared to these roadside local restaurants but much overpriced.

One thing to praise for the food - breakfast was great. The auntie cooking noodles was very nice and made good omelettes.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank leeyikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed four nights in a two bedrooms villa in Oct. 2017. It is the best resort in the area within 30 minutes driving from Huangshan and it is within the walking distance to Hongcun.

The resort is among the beautiful mountains and the villa is big but there is no view at all from the rooms except bamboos and trees. The stair in the villa is narrow and a bit scaring to walk down especially with luggage. The maintenance work of the resort should be quite poor as the resort is only two years old but the carpet and timber floor in the villa seem to be older than 10 years. The only tap in the kitchen ran hot water only and we had to get cold water from the bathroom.

The breakfast was nice and there were quite many varieties including Chinese food and western food although there were not many people to have the breakfast there. As I remember, there were 7 or 8 different kinds of fresh squeezed juice to choose from. There is only restaurant in the resort to offer the breakfast, lunch and dinner but this is the only clean restaurant you can dine in the area.We went to a famous restaurant in Hongcun one night but immediately ran away after we saw the owner and the guests smoking in every corner of the restaurant. The floor was slippery and the menu was sticky. We therefore had the dinners in the resort every night.

The service of the restaurant in the resort was excellent and the food is acceptable. If you want to have the Chinese cuisine, my suggestion is that never try the local famous food such as the Toufu and fish as they are really smelly and it may make you sick.

The other thing not to do in this resort is the spa. This was the worst spa we had ever had from a Banyan Tree resort. The only thing the massage therapist did was to pour the oil over the body but did not know how to massage. As a matter of fact, the massage therapist and the receptionist of the resort was the same person.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews