We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$382
PricelineUS$382
TripadvisorUS$382
Trip.com
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
10
11
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
11
11
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2019

The hotel name in English is Yupinglou in one word as seen in several booking websites.

From my memory, the hotel had no elevator but everyone had climbed up and down Huangshan the whole day so a few floors in hotel was nothing. Our twin room had a window but didn't have a good view as we booked the cheapest room type which cost us 810net RMB with breakfast for 2 in August. No air-con which is perfectly ok to me. Who needs the air-con while being on the top of such a great mountain? Wish there were a fan as when we first entered the room, we felt a bit not well aired and during our stay, we had to close the curtain most of the times as outside workers might see us. Looked like the hotel had gone through a renovation not long ago so everything looked quite new. Our room and the bathroom were a bit small, not so new but acceptable. It was clean.

We brought our own toothbrush and other stuff as back then they reduced plastic trash by not providing free one time user stuff (they were in a chargeable box in bathroom). Only big bottle of shampoo and bath gel were provided. I love this policy as I can feel for the workers carrying on their shoulders all those trash to the ground.

At night I saw a big outdoor screen for guests to view movies when having dinner at the food hall in front of the hotel. At day time this place was packed with people.

Buffet breakfast was ok with several choices. With this room rate in town, we could have a very good spread but this is on mountain top and everything is expensive.

Reception staff and bellboy were all sweet. We had a nice stay there.

Thanks to Andy's advice from Chengjin Hotel, we took Yungu Cable Car up in the morning. After going through all major sites including West Sea Grand Cannon and skipped some tops, we ended our day at Yupinglou when it turned dark, just in time to see sunset almost in front of hotel.

The next day we asked hotel to keep our bags and we did the Celestial Capital Peak, came back to hotel to collect bags and took Yuping Cable Car down. This station is almost next to the hotel.

When we were near the top of Celestial, we felt if we hadn't left bags at hotel, we could have gone down the Celestial on the other side as we were almost half way to Mercy Light Pavilion. That could have saved our legs of going down Celestial and going up to hotel again to collect bags.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wsea3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful in resolving a booking issue. The booking website (ctrip.com) charged our debit card for the hotel, but when we arrived, we found that the hotel was at capacity and did not have a room for us. Ctrip.com was not helpful in resolving the issue. The front desk, however, was very professional and contacted current guests to see who would not be able to make it to the hotel that night. They were able to find a guest who booked a room and couldn’t come. We were able to have a hotel room that night because the staff truly went above and beyond to help us even when it was not their responsibility. Otherwise, we would have had to slept outside in the mountains because Ctrip.com did not offer any reasonable solutions. I highly recommend this hotel to all guests traveling in Huangshan region. They truly care about their customers.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank int_traveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We stayed one night while hiking the stairs in the Huangshan Mountain scenic area. This is really the best location on the mountain - close to Celestial-Capital Peak, the most impressive climb on the mountain, and close to a tramway if that's your thing. The daytime crowds fade away as the last tram leaves in the early afternoon, and we still had time for some fantastic exploration in the evening.

We also had a great dinner with another couple we met on the mountain - very surprisingly one of the best we had in China.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kw21cbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

We booked a 4 bedded & a twin room for a day stay. The twin room has added/ better amenities in the room like tap filter, bath towels, a computer & a tea set for making tea which are not available in the 4 bedded room. All the rooms has shower & shampoo, face towels, room slippers, heater. The beds are comfortable and they are pretty decent rooms in view that we are up in the mountain. The ala carte dishes we ordered for dinner were delicious. Breakfast was not so good though- the noodles like rubber bands, but porridge ok. To get to hotel, take a 10mins cable car from Yuping station. (Vs 3 hours climb up the mountain). After alighting from cable car, walk about 10-15mins (longer if you are stopping to take photos) to the hotel. The hotel is a relief sight after a steep climb up the last flight of stairs. The area outside the hotel is where the famous pine tree is & the scenery is beautiful. It is also the point where you start your hike down the mountain & up to Celestial peak. After the hike to Celestial peak & back, we had a wonderful view of sunset outside the hotel. If you don’t want to hike, the hotel location is wonderful for the view of Huangshan.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank May-Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Reviews of the hotels on the mountains are not good, I booked yupinglou as I thought it is situated in one of the nicest areas (and it is). I arrived early (lunch time) and my room was luckily available. At check in desk they had staff that spoke english. I booked a room with two beds and yes it was a bit old and not to modern but comfortabel enough. Bed was good and the room even had a pc in it with (slow) internet. What a luxury. It even had a view of the mountains. But beware most rooms don't have a view.
Via a undergrund walkway you can get to the a la carte restaurant (it gets cold in the evening so convenient), mostly occupied by big groups. Only one other couple of westerners I have seen in the hotel (and not many more on the mountain!). With the help of some pictures on an iPad I ordered my food which was ok but not great. Breakfast is not very good.
I think if you stay on the mountain Yupinglou is a good place to stay. You do have sunsets from the terrace in front of hotel.
Warning, it is still about two hours to get to Baiyou and that is quite a lot of stairs to climb. and start early as it gets very busy on this route with tourists arriving with the Yuping cable car, 20 minutes away.
The Greeting Pine tree is next to the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews