We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT hostel!”
Review of Hikers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hikers Hostel
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hiker's Hostel is situated at the top of one of the mountains, which makes the walk totally worth it. Mila and Alex were so awesome- super helpful and up for great conversations. The common room upstairs has the perfect view of Tsavarets, especially when it's lit up at night. If I am ever in VT again, I will stay here for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 4-bed room and the 10-bed room, both of which were great. I'd still go with the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vspendergraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stayed here for four nights, decided to hole up in VT after feeling fatigued with getting up early and going to different destinations each day. I found the hostel with difficulty, but that's down to my poor navigational skills and I should've taken advantage of the free pickup service from the train station. Anyway, the hostel is located in the Varosha quarter of VT, on a hill with winding cobbled streets. The views from the hostel are amazing, you can see the fortress and in particular the light show at night- you could hardly be better placed. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. The owner, Toshe ,put on a BBQ on my first night, with the rakia flowing- a memorable night. Andrew, a Welsh guy who's lived in VT for 9 years, was particularly friendly and pleasant to be around- and ranks as possibly the nicest person I've ever met. His hospitality and humour influenced my decision to stay here for four nights and I'll never forget him. The rooms were clean and the ambience of the hostel was very chilled and I have to say this was the best hostel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Good location in old town and can see fort and light show from the common room. Good staff. Free pick up from bus station. Dorm room is good and quite spacious. There are 2 showers which is good. The atmosphere was very nice. The staff really made special effort to make me feel welcome. Mila taught me some fab Bulgarian cooking! I am now known as the mish mash maker during my travels and it was lovely to share food, rakhia and experiences here. They could do with some more information and perhaps better maps of the surrounding areas as there are some nice eco trails nearby but it was kind of hard to find out about these but apart from that a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed at Hiker's Hostel for 2 nights. The staff is alright, one of the girls is very friendly and nice and the other is pretty negative about everything. The view from the hostel is great, beds are nothing special. They have hot water 24 hours a day and at night, the hostel is quiet which is nice (if no one is partying in the common room). To read more about my stay in Plovdiv, check out this post on my travel blog, http://www.theworldorbust.com/photos-of-the-week-plovdiv/

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Thanks for a good stay! If you want to meet nice, friendly peolple from all all over the world, the Hikers Hostel is your address!!! :-) Hope to come again one day...

Stayed: May 2007
Thank Bibo_goes_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veliko Tarnovo hotels
0.8 km away
Hostel Mostel
Hostel Mostel
#1 of 25 in Veliko Tarnovo
171 reviews
0.2 km away
Rooster Hostel
Rooster Hostel
#4 of 25 in Veliko Tarnovo
2 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gurko
Hotel Gurko
#1 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Yantra Grand Hotel
Yantra Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
307 reviews
0.6 km away
Anhea
Anhea
#6 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
43 reviews
0 km away
Alegro Hotel
Alegro Hotel
#7 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hikers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hikers Hostel

Address: Rezervoarska Str 91 | Samovodene Marketplace, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range: €13 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hikers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing