We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, food debateable”
Review of Sol Nessebar Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Nessebar Mare
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived early hours of the morning, check.in was no problem, rooms were lovely and clean, basic a bit like a travel lodge but I have no problem with that. There was free WiFi at the hotel handy for checking in with the kids.
All hotel area was kept lovely and clean inside and out. Pool was freezing cold but OK once u got in and began to swim, there were a few slides which were open at different times they were well maned and made days at the hotel more fun.
Now the food mmmmmmm, the choice was outstanding. Salads, cheeses all different breads, cold foods and hot foods some were cooked fresh others brought from the back, unfortunately, as others have stated the hot food was generally luck warm, but we did manage to eat at each meal without any problems. Alcohol was freely avaliable, wine red, white, rose and beer, all which you pulled yourself from the pump both in the food Hall and at the pool. In the German bar over 100 different cocktails were available so plenty if choice.
Food at the 3 pool bars well, for the first 3 days there was hotdogs available at 1, fresh doughnuts at another, and burgers at the 3rd which meant lunch was sorted if there was nothing suitable at the restaurant. However 3 days in these where all stopped, when we asked why at the reception they said they only said they provided food they didn't say what would be provided, so a little disappointed :-(, so it was just fruit after that oh and pizza at the middle pool. We did venture to the beach bar One day and the pannini was lovely.
Out and about there was a bus stop just down the Rd, there are taxi based there too, we used the same man after that an elderly gentleman 10 levi to old town not bad saved waiting for the bus.we loved old town nessebar it was a cobbly town with lots of shops and bars and restaurants. We did venture to sunny beach one day but it wasn't for us and we ended up walking back along the besch to nessebar. BE WARNED THERE IS A NUDUST AREA BETWEEN THE TWO.
Entertainment at the hotel was good, the team had lots of activities going on throughout the day, and they put on shows every night some where not to our taste, but it was worth a trip down to see. Additionally, there was lots going on for kids in the evening, it was a hive of activity.
All in all it was a nice place to break for a week, I think we may have got bored taking a two week break there but

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WalesFuntimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear WalesFuntimers,

Thank you for choosing us, as well as for your comments.
It is very good that your early check-in was smoothly and the rooms were lovely and clean with free WiFi.
Thank you also for appreciating the work of our staff, who is responsible for keeping the area "lovely and clean inside and out."
Greetings from our life guard staff, who are happy that the weather allowed them to extend the water enjoyment till almost end of September.
Our kitchen staff is just happy to hear about the food they prepare with so much love is "mmmmmmm", with "outstanding choise"!
As per the food temperature - in south countries maybe connected with hot weather, the food is served at 65 deg. C (local and international H&S requirement). This often feels luck warm for some guests, which is why we have a microwave in the buffet area - some help if one would love it really hot.
We are happy you managed to taste the midday options at the pool bars at least in the first couple of days of your holiday. These are at our guests disposal till middle of September (which is given in our AI description).
We are glad you loved old town Nessebar with lots of shops and bars and restaurants, and beautiful old churches (UNESCO).
Our Entertainment team really has lots of activities going on throughout the day, and several evening shows - different, for different tastes :)

Wishing you all the best, we hope to see you soon again, for another enjoyable and relaxing stay in Sol Nessebar Resort.

Warm regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Palace/ Mare/ Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

The hotel looks good, is clean, the staff is very friendly and the food is good and varied. Between meals you have a lot of options, from a buffet with warm pretzels, barbecue sausages with potatoes or Italian-style sandwiches to Spanish dishes or pizza. Drink options include: tea, coffee from Nesscafe, wine, beer and juices at the dispenser, as well as a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails. Beverages do not expect to be of the highest quality, but are acceptable for all inclusive. The hotel's beach is small with few sunbeds. In the full season there aren't enough sunbeds on the beach but there are plenty at the pools and aqua park. The aqua park is very nice and the animation team organizes all sorts of entertainment activities for all tastes. The hotel also has a kids club that our little girl really liked.
I did not really like that the aqua park is open only 2½ hours in the morning and the same in the afternoon and the water is very cold, about 20 degrees. Otherwise the place is very cool and I would definitely like to come back.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Alina G,

Thank you very much for choosing us, as well as for your great review.
We are happy you had a nice holiday in our hotel, supported by our enthusiastic staff.
It is very important for us to know you liked the food in the main restaurant, as well as the in between dining options, scattered in the resort.
The animation team is happy your girl liked the kids activities.
Special thanks for the last sentence of your feedback: "the place is very cool and I would definitely like to come back"!

Wishing you all the best, we are waiting for your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Mare/ bay/ Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Having read some truly dreadful reviews of this hotel, I was worried. I shouldn't have been. I would truly recommend this complex to anyone looking for a fun, easy family holiday.

First of all, transfers. Because the complex is slightly outside Nessebar and before Sunny Beach you get dropped off first and picked up last. No hours sat on a bus. Immediate win for me.

Upon arriving at 12 noon we were told we couldn't get in our room until 2pm so we had lunch in the main restaurant and looked around a bit. Upon getting our key we found our room on the West side of the complex. This turned out to be perfect as we had a sea view and watched the sunset numerous times. The rooms were fairly basic however the beds were comfy, shower hot and it was spotless. The cleaners left a bottle of water in our room every day which was nice.

So onto food. Breakfast was gorgeous. Pancakes and fry ups every day for me! The fruit selection was awesome, our daughter was in heaven. The main restaurant had loads of choice. There was loads of seafood, stews, meat, kebabs, salads, rice, pasta, spaghetti, chips...I don't see how even a fussy eater could go hungry. The puddings were a bit naff, we nicknamed it 'sponge and cream' as it was always some variation on that. The various eateries dotted around the complex were great for during the day. We had hotdogs from the Mare, paella (so good), pretzels and sausages, doughnuts (sure I ate my own weight in these, gorgeous) burgers from the Bay (management - for the love of all that is holy, please stop toasting the buns, it is unnecessary and slows the queue down). The burgers were gorgeous but we waited about 20 minutes! There was also an ice cream hut down by the beach and ice cream tubs and snacks dotted around. You could also get paninis and pizza at lunch but we didn't get a chance. The drinks were brilliant too. Lots of soft drinks and juices on tap dotted around. Hot drinks machines ditto. Wine on tap in the restaurant (red, white and rose - I'm fussy about wine but the rose was delicious). Beer on tap at each eatery and Becks at Der Biergarten. The cocktail box in there was awesome. Loads of alcoholic and non alcoholic choices. Our 5 year old loved this. Try a Green Life or a Donald Duck. Yum.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. There was one lady in particular who worked on the door in the restaurant who everyday high fived our daughter and kissed her hand. The animation team were very nice and always spoke but never pestered you to join activities (of which there were sooo many). The evening entertainment was a bit of a mixed bag. We gave up 10 minutes into both the Bulgarian Show and the 'Ballet' show but the Disney and Grease shows were excellent and really enjoyable.

The facilities were immaculate. There were constantly people emptying bins and cleaning public areas. The toilets were always clean despite the amount of traffic in them. The pools were great and the slides great fun. Yes some of them are only open certain times, but it is for a good few hours each day and is clearly signposted. There is plenty of time to go on everything!

In an evening there were lots of activities dotted around the complex, ie power boats, crazy golf, bouncy castles. Ok these aren't included in the all inclusive but for the sake of 6lv (less than £3) who cares?!

The beach. Hmmm. Seaweedy. But lovely and warm sea. We went to visit friends in Sunny Beach one day and that beach was far nicer.

A few bits of general advice. Don't bother getting taxis into Nessebar or Sunny Beach. Grab a bus timetable from reception, the bus stop is just up the road, 2 mins walk. A hotel taxi to Nessebar Old Town (well worth a visit) was 15lev but the bus was just under 4lv (about £2) for 3 of us. Similarly the day we went to Sunny Beach, a taxi would've cost us 50lv but the bus for all 3 of us cost 8lv! We aren't very confident at finding our own way about but even we managed.

All in all we had an amazing holiday. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who asked. Thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Bamble,

Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar Mare, and for your great encouraging and detailed review! All details will be taken into consideration - to prepare our service for your next visit, hoping you are planning already :)

Greatings from all of us,

Warmest regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Mare/ Bay/ Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

If you have kids, don't feel like planning anything, and want a beach holiday, it's hard to beat. Bulgaria is unspoilt, the food in the hotel is seemingly unlimited with loads of variety, and there was solid sunshine. Oh, and the 'all inclusive' includes beer!

It's a holiday hotel so don't expect what you expect when travelling on business. To turn off, bake and read books (while drinking beer) and know the children are happy, does it.

A particularly nice touch was how a cat and her very young kitten had established themselves around the swimming pool and were showered with affection by guests.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, the first being the lobby. This made it very difficult to get any spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank 22duncana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear 22duncana,

Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar Mare for your holidau with kids, as well as for your review on Tripadvosor.
Special thanks for your comment that it is a hotel which is "hard to beat"!
Yes, Bulgaria is still "unspoilt, the food in the hotel is seemingly unlimited with loads of variety, and there was solid sunshine".

Best wishes and Greetings from all of us,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Mare/ Bay/ Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

i have just returned from this hotel and have to say i cannot fault it nor the area. We were a group of 3 families children aged between 11-13. the hotel is in a fabulous location to the beach and old town of Nessebar which is a must to visit and Sunny Beach. This area is good for cheap replica brands but is very clubby at night for younger people. We went on an amazing boat trip called The Lazy Days Cruise which is really worthwhile, i don't like boats but this was very smooth and calm. The hotel staff were all amazing and friendly especially the guys behind the bar in reception. Always happy to help just look after them and they will look after you. my only negative comment is that EVERYTHING stops at 11pm so lights out literally, you can sit on the terrace still but in the dark. they could do with a bit more for teenagers, there is a football area and basket ball area which is in need of some tlc but it really didn't stop our kids from having a great time. The old town is a must to visit approx 25 min walk everywhere is so cheap to eat out. next time i go i wouldn't bother with all inclusive its cheaper to eat somewhere different every night. the problem with all inclusive is it does get a bit "samey" but kids loved it and you can get food all day long from one area or another within the hotel. quality of drinks is good although have to say the hotel reception has the better quality alcohol. kids drinks, fizz and soft drinks all day and ice creams. you don't need to take towels, bath towels provided and also pool towels. i would definitely go back

Room Tip: definitely get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear amanda l,

Thank you very much for choosing us, as well as for your review.
We are happy you had great time in our resort, and that you will definitely come back.

Best wishes and till next time!

Kindest regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Palace/ Mare/ Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
1.9 km away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
85 reviews
2.1 km away
Sol Marina Palace
Sol Marina Palace
#3 of 35 in Nessebar
366 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Kamenec
Hotel Kamenec
#23 of 35 in Nessebar
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#9 of 35 in Nessebar
68 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#30 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
0.1 km away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Nessebar Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Nessebar Mare

Address: Nessebar Blvd. 7, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
#4 Family Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: €64 - €266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Nessebar Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management for Sol Nessebar Resort by Sol Hotels as per 2008. Kids pool area and castle refurbished for safety and quality reasons. New and extended food offers and resort entertainment & sports follow Sol Hotels quality standards. Gardens and Park upgraded. Resort Manager for Sol Nessebar Mar, - Palace, - Bay is Mr. Lubo Lipchev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia, TravelUp, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Nessebar Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Nessebar Mare Hotel Nessebar
Sol Melia Nessebar
Sol Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing