We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
141
159
60
38
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
159
60
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club water slides ice cream pizza animation team sunny beach old town italian restaurant salad aqua park family holiday sol nessebar paninis hot food main restaurant hotel is clean adults and children
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The hotel looks good, is clean, the staff is very friendly and the food is good and varied. Between meals you have a lot of options, from a buffet with warm pretzels, barbecue sausages with potatoes or Italian-style sandwiches to Spanish dishes or pizza. Drink options include: tea, coffee from Nesscafe, wine, beer and juices at the dispenser, as well as a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails. Beverages do not expect to be of the highest quality, but are acceptable for all inclusive. The hotel's beach is small with few sunbeds. In the full season there aren't enough sunbeds on the beach but there are plenty at the pools and aqua park. The aqua park is very nice and the animation team organizes all sorts of entertainment activities for all tastes. The hotel also has a kids club that our little girl really liked.
I did not really like that the aqua park is open only 2½ hours in the morning and the same in the afternoon and the water is very cold, about 20 degrees. Otherwise the place is very cool and I would definitely like to come back.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Alina G,

Thank you very much for choosing us, as well as for your great review.
We are happy you had a nice holiday in our hotel, supported by our enthusiastic staff.
It is very important for us to know you liked the food in the main restaurant, as well as the in between dining options, scattered in the resort.
The animation team is happy your girl liked the kids activities.
Special thanks for the last sentence of your feedback: "the place is very cool and I would definitely like to come back"!

Wishing you all the best, we are waiting for your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Mare/ bay/ Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Having read some truly dreadful reviews of this hotel, I was worried. I shouldn't have been. I would truly recommend this complex to anyone looking for a fun, easy family holiday.

First of all, transfers. Because the complex is slightly outside Nessebar and before Sunny Beach you get dropped off first and picked up last. No hours sat on a bus. Immediate win for me.

Upon arriving at 12 noon we were told we couldn't get in our room until 2pm so we had lunch in the main restaurant and looked around a bit. Upon getting our key we found our room on the West side of the complex. This turned out to be perfect as we had a sea view and watched the sunset numerous times. The rooms were fairly basic however the beds were comfy, shower hot and it was spotless. The cleaners left a bottle of water in our room every day which was nice.

So onto food. Breakfast was gorgeous. Pancakes and fry ups every day for me! The fruit selection was awesome, our daughter was in heaven. The main restaurant had loads of choice. There was loads of seafood, stews, meat, kebabs, salads, rice, pasta, spaghetti, chips...I don't see how even a fussy eater could go hungry. The puddings were a bit naff, we nicknamed it 'sponge and cream' as it was always some variation on that. The various eateries dotted around the complex were great for during the day. We had hotdogs from the Mare, paella (so good), pretzels and sausages, doughnuts (sure I ate my own weight in these, gorgeous) burgers from the Bay (management - for the love of all that is holy, please stop toasting the buns, it is unnecessary and slows the queue down). The burgers were gorgeous but we waited about 20 minutes! There was also an ice cream hut down by the beach and ice cream tubs and snacks dotted around. You could also get paninis and pizza at lunch but we didn't get a chance. The drinks were brilliant too. Lots of soft drinks and juices on tap dotted around. Hot drinks machines ditto. Wine on tap in the restaurant (red, white and rose - I'm fussy about wine but the rose was delicious). Beer on tap at each eatery and Becks at Der Biergarten. The cocktail box in there was awesome. Loads of alcoholic and non alcoholic choices. Our 5 year old loved this. Try a Green Life or a Donald Duck. Yum.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. There was one lady in particular who worked on the door in the restaurant who everyday high fived our daughter and kissed her hand. The animation team were very nice and always spoke but never pestered you to join activities (of which there were sooo many). The evening entertainment was a bit of a mixed bag. We gave up 10 minutes into both the Bulgarian Show and the 'Ballet' show but the Disney and Grease shows were excellent and really enjoyable.

The facilities were immaculate. There were constantly people emptying bins and cleaning public areas. The toilets were always clean despite the amount of traffic in them. The pools were great and the slides great fun. Yes some of them are only open certain times, but it is for a good few hours each day and is clearly signposted. There is plenty of time to go on everything!

In an evening there were lots of activities dotted around the complex, ie power boats, crazy golf, bouncy castles. Ok these aren't included in the all inclusive but for the sake of 6lv (less than £3) who cares?!

The beach. Hmmm. Seaweedy. But lovely and warm sea. We went to visit friends in Sunny Beach one day and that beach was far nicer.

A few bits of general advice. Don't bother getting taxis into Nessebar or Sunny Beach. Grab a bus timetable from reception, the bus stop is just up the road, 2 mins walk. A hotel taxi to Nessebar Old Town (well worth a visit) was 15lev but the bus was just under 4lv (about £2) for 3 of us. Similarly the day we went to Sunny Beach, a taxi would've cost us 50lv but the bus for all 3 of us cost 8lv! We aren't very confident at finding our own way about but even we managed.

All in all we had an amazing holiday. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who asked. Thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Bamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Bamble,

Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar Mare, and for your great encouraging and detailed review! All details will be taken into consideration - to prepare our service for your next visit, hoping you are planning already :)

Greatings from all of us,

Warmest regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Mare/ Bay/ Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

If you have kids, don't feel like planning anything, and want a beach holiday, it's hard to beat. Bulgaria is unspoilt, the food in the hotel is seemingly unlimited with loads of variety, and there was solid sunshine. Oh, and the 'all inclusive' includes beer!

It's a holiday hotel so don't expect what you expect when travelling on business. To turn off, bake and read books (while drinking beer) and know the children are happy, does it.

A particularly nice touch was how a cat and her very young kitten had established themselves around the swimming pool and were showered with affection by guests.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, the first being the lobby. This made it very difficult to get any space in the lift with multiple bags, etc, when we needed to check out. We had the sea view but I would have happily given that up for a room across the corridor without the noise from the bar and pool
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank 22duncana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear 22duncana,

Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar Mare for your holidau with kids, as well as for your review on Tripadvosor.
Special thanks for your comment that it is a hotel which is "hard to beat"!
Yes, Bulgaria is still "unspoilt, the food in the hotel is seemingly unlimited with loads of variety, and there was solid sunshine".

Best wishes and Greetings from all of us,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Mare/ Bay/ Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

i have just returned from this hotel and have to say i cannot fault it nor the area. We were a group of 3 families children aged between 11-13. the hotel is in a fabulous location to the beach and old town of Nessebar which is a must to visit and Sunny Beach. This area is good for cheap replica brands but is very clubby at night for younger people. We went on an amazing boat trip called The Lazy Days Cruise which is really worthwhile, i don't like boats but this was very smooth and calm. The hotel staff were all amazing and friendly especially the guys behind the bar in reception. Always happy to help just look after them and they will look after you. my only negative comment is that EVERYTHING stops at 11pm so lights out literally, you can sit on the terrace still but in the dark. they could do with a bit more for teenagers, there is a football area and basket ball area which is in need of some tlc but it really didn't stop our kids from having a great time. The old town is a must to visit approx 25 min walk everywhere is so cheap to eat out. next time i go i wouldn't bother with all inclusive its cheaper to eat somewhere different every night. the problem with all inclusive is it does get a bit "samey" but kids loved it and you can get food all day long from one area or another within the hotel. quality of drinks is good although have to say the hotel reception has the better quality alcohol. kids drinks, fizz and soft drinks all day and ice creams. you don't need to take towels, bath towels provided and also pool towels. i would definitely go back

Room Tip: definitely get a sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear amanda l,

Thank you very much for choosing us, as well as for your review.
We are happy you had great time in our resort, and that you will definitely come back.

Best wishes and till next time!

Kindest regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Palace/ Mare/ Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

To summarize, bulgarian people in general are so unfriendly it is difficult to want to come back...

Yesterday the 20/08/2017 we went at the Embarcadero for a sandwich and the employee there almost insulted us because we were too late for a sandwich...maybe because we were not russian or bulgarian.

Thats a shame because doing this in front of children can be traumatizing for them...however most of the staff is friendly except in the kitchen, where they really make it obvious they dont like you.

The food is average but OK, the good thing about Bulgaria is that you can find all sort of fresh juices for a very cheap price around the hotel, and the aqua parks (action & nessebar) are nice too.

If you take the bus to go to the old town, people will try to rub you when you buy a ticket, and make you feel they dont like strangers...its like that everywhere, all the time

So next year we will go to spain or italy

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Ricky M,

Thank you for your visit, as well as for your feedback.
We are sorry you may have a reason to find it difficult to want to come back... We have discussed your unpleasant experiense on the 20/08/2017 during our weekly quality meeting and I would like to ensure you, that such behavior from our staff would not be allowed. Even if a bit late or outside opening hours, all of our guests deserve a perfect service any time, so please accept our deepest apologies regarding the case. Please belive that we treat all of our guests equally. In this particular case it came out, that the associate did not have any idea where do you come from...
Thank you for your comment "however most of the staff is friendly"...
Thank you also for your comment regarding the fresh juices outside the resort. We have discussed it also and would most probably offer such next summer in our property.
We feel sad for your words regarding local busses - all over the world where much tourists are gathered there are people, who would be trying to take advantage from foreignes being attracted by sigths or new unknown environment. This is really sad, especially bearing in mind, that so many local people are engaged in servicing these same guests and are waiting for them to come during the whole winter time.
We are sure you can make the difference - in the end, as you said, we have associates, who are friendly, and they are Bulgarian, too.

We wish you all the best and hope you would choose a hotel from our chain in Spain or Italy.

Best regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Mare/ Bay/ Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews