We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for peace and quiet or people wanting to avoid kids! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Nessebar Palace
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We travelled here on the assurance from the travel agent that this hotel was perfect for a couples getaway. How wrong they were.

The hotel is nice, simple - not quite the 4/5 it's rated as.

The pool area is nice but the sun beds are so packed in that you're practically sat on the person next to you. There aren't anywhere near enough sun beds and it turns into a daily war if you're not up at the crack of dawn!

There is simply nowhere to escape for time in the company of adults - the kids are everywhere. If you have a family - it is a great hotel.

The food is boring and edible but nothing to write home about.

Overall, I'd say, if you're a family - great place. Loud, noisy, lots of hustle and bustle.

If you're an adult wanting to relax - steer clear.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

big hotel with big pools and water park for kids,
room are big and clean,
service is amazing,
good food all day long. in the main dining room or around the hotel area.
free drinks including beers and others.
free wifi around the hotel but very slow.

Room Tip: higher floors has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear John_TLV,

Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar Palace, as well as for your review.
We apreciate your high evaluation and encouraging words regarding our facilities and service.
Wishing you all the best, we are expecting you in our resort soon again :)

Warm regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Palace/ Mare/ Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Although we were there in August and all the three buildings were fully booked, the staff managed to do his best to satisfy every desire and was always friendly and at hand. Special thanks to all the staff in the restaurants, bars, at the reception desk and to the cleaning ladies for their professionalism. And especially to Kathy from the Palace restaurant for her exceptional kindness, cheerfulness and sense of humour. Very good language knowledge of the reception desk staff also!

The pizza in the Italian restaurant is a must!!! I have never eaten such a good pizza in my life, not even in the south of Italy! Very commendable! The paella and the panini bars have absolutely to be tried!

The animation was very strong, the evening stage programme is a must. Excellent role play and very good sound quality!

I have children at the age of 6, 11. There is a lot to do for every age: the water slides, animation, bathing in the sea. And if one needs some moments away, at a more silent place, the sun bed terraces offer always a place and a great view to the sea.

In a nutshell: Great choice for families!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Irina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Irina I,

Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar palace, as well as for your feedback.
We are happy to read, that you "had a fantastic stay at this hotel".
Thank you for appreciation our efforts to do our best to satisfy every desire and be always friendly and at hand. Special thanks from all the staff in the restaurants, bars, at the reception desk and to the cleaning ladies, as well as from Kathy from the Palace and the animation team.
Greetings from the reception desk staff!

We wish to all family members great health and are waiting for you to visit us again - for another pizza, paella or/ and panini, as well as for unforgettable moments at the water park, in the Kids' Castle or bathing in the warm sea!

Special thanks for the qualification "Great choice for families!!!"

All the best,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Palace/ Mare/ Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We wanted to holiday somewhere a bit different this year and after reading about Bulgaria in some of the travel sections of the newspapers, decided to give it a try. We were a bit anxious about what it would be like, but have returned from a two week trip, with one week in Nessebar and one week in Pomorie as Bulgaria converts!

This hotel is very good value for money and absolutely ideal for families. It is a complex made up of three hotels. Ours was five stars, with the four star Mare and Bay were positioned on either side. To be honest, we couldn't see the point of having the different hotels because everyone shared all the facilities and rules about using sunbeds in a particular hotel pool area were not enforced.

Our room was exactly as the management picture shows, with plenty of space. We had a sofa bed for our teenage son, which was a bit uncomfortable and it would have been great for him to have had a proper bed. I would have been happy to pay a bit more for this.

The view from the balcony was great, overlooking the sea and we enjoyed sitting outside every evening enjoying a pre-dinner drink and the view.

There are large, well equipped bathrooms, but the soap is in a wall dispenser. It's probably more cost effective and practical for families, but doesn't give off a five star luxury feeling. It was good to have a bath to relax in, especially as the water pressure of the shower was weak and a shower could take some time!

The rooms are spotless and very well maintained by a team of hard working staff. Linen was changed regularly and we appreciated having a mini-fridge and a new bottle of mineral water each day. We had an in-room safe, but had to pay for this, which is unusual in our experience.

There are several pools to enjoy, comfortable sunbeds and umbrellas, but there aren't enough of the latter and by 7am, most were already taken. There was a member of staff attempting to police this, but to little effect and there did not seem to be a system for the way that he removed towels and bags from empty beds. Some would be picked up, whilst others had their possessions left in place. It would also be a good idea to ensure that the pool is cleaned and the sunbed area hosed down early each morning, as we were often showered with cold water when this happened!

The main buffet restaurants offer a wide range of different fresh foods each day. There was plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, hot and cold meat etc for breakfast, but we would have liked proper juices. Lunch and dinner was the same, with plenty of different meals; I am sure that even the fussiest of eaters could find something to enjoy. We ate outside each evening as the dining hall was so busy and noisy. There were a lot of unsupervised small children collecting food, which was a bit dangerous and on more than one occasion, I saw some near misses with hot soup etc. This is a parental responsibility issue, rather than a failing of the the hotel, though, in my view. Tables were cleared promptly and efficiently.

Outside of the main dining hall, the hotel offers some other tasty treats. Our son enjoyed the hot doughnuts each morning, there was a pizza bar for lunch, Spanish tapas bar, freshly cooked paella station and a German beer garden offering Becks beer, bread pretzels, sauerkraut and sausages. Apparently the hotdog station did a good job too!

We haven't stayed in an all-inclusive hotel before so didn't know what the drinks would be like. There was an outside cocktail bar and the free drinks were very watery and sugary. In our lobby bar, however, we could pay for cocktails served in glasses that were of a much better quality. Beer and wine at dinner were disappointing and again, we would have been happy to pay, especially when the local beer we sampled in local restaurants and bars was so nice.

There is a lot to do at the hotel. There is a mini-waterpark with several slides for everyone to enjoy. These were very well patrolled and felt very safe for the children to use. There is also a small children's pool for very young children and toddlers.

The Animation team are superb and so full of enthusiasm. We found their daily wake-up dance at 10am every morning very entertaining and they made time to come and talk to us, encouraging us to try new activities and telling us a little about life in Bulgaria. There were morning fitness classes, daily dance lessons, water aerobics, some very competitive water-polo sessions, volleyball, shooting and archery. It would have been good to be able to offer the latter to under 16s. Every evening at 9.30pm, the team put on a show. Their energy and commitment has to be commended and the audience was always packed. The performance always ended with a mini disco for the children and closed with their signature song and dance routine. Great fun!

The hotel is situated closer to Ravda than to old Nessebar. There are some bars around, but we didn't tend to leave the complex much in the evenings. We travelled by taxi to Nessebar; it is important to agree the fare first as drivers don't seem to use their meters for tourists!

Old Nessebar is very pretty and we enjoyed wandering through the cobbled streets. There are plenty of bars and restaurants to explore, together with the inevitable tourist shops.

The beach by the hotel is quite good. There is a private section for hotel guests, but this was busy and most people paid for sunbeds, which are cheap and plentiful, if rather close together. There are plenty of things to do on the beach with inflatable rides, jetskis etc. Beware of the jellyfish though - the Black Sea seemed to be full of the things at times and our son was badly stung.

On the day that we were due to move to Pomorie, our son was ill and the Reception team were very kind, allowing us a late check out and helping us to access the on-site doctor

We had a really great week at the Nessebar Palace. The staff were helpful and kind, the Animation team worked so hard to ensure we had a good time and there were plenty of things to keep us entertained. Bulgaria is a very interesting country and it was great to find out a bit more about it. We would recommend this hotel for a good value family holiday in the sun.

.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SmithFamily2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear SmithFamily2015,

Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar Palace for your first Bulgarian holiday.
Thank you also for your detailed and honest feedback, giving us topics to think over and offer to you during the second Bulgarian trip an even better holiday experience.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you soon again, for another great week at the Palace... or two :)

Warmest regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Palace/ Mare/ Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

first time in Bulgaria, first time I have ever posted a review on any of the holidays my family and I have had.
this is my second attempt at posting this review, my first review was posted then removed by Tripadvisor still not sure why. But does prove/show tripadvisor checks all reviews.
Family of 4 wife, daughter, grandson and myself (age range 70+ to 12yrs)
arrived at the Palace at approx 1am in the morning, lady on reception offered to open restaurant so we could have something to eat(first time that has happened on any of our hols) thanked her but just wanted to get to our rooms.
our rooms were on ground floor facing the pool pleasenty suprised at the size of the rooms also minibar stocked with drinks as I had requested.
1)Animation team were SUPERB and seemed to have an unlimited supply of smiles with a very large variety of activities for young and old both in and out of the pools (no hassle if you just wanted to chill
2) food very good quality,(my grandson loves fishfingers so maybe fish fingers more often) lots of fresh fruit lots of cakes
3) large variety of drinks at the many bars.
4) nearly all staff friendly (all worked very hard)
5) staff tried very hard to enforce the sunbed rule and we saw staff removing towels every day (I think the only way to solve this is No towels before 8 o clock)
6) brilliant view from our rooms
we had a great holiday and will be looking to book again next year

ROOM TIP if you want to be close/next to the pool 046 and 048 were the rooms we had with a good size balcony that seated 4.

Room Tip: 046/048 are perfect for for pool and for a quiet drink on the balcony and ideal if you like to "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eggp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janina_SNResort, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear eggp2014,

Thank you for choosing us, as well as for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are happy your first time in Bulgaria was nice, enjoyable and relaxing for the whole family. Thank you for your good words regarding our team, as we are all putting all our effords to make your holiday an unforgetable one!

We wish to all of you all the best and hoping to see you in our resort soon again!

Warm regards,

Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Palace/ Mare/ Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
1.8 km away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
84 reviews
0 km away
St. Stefan Boutique Hotel  Sunny Beach   BOJ
1.3 km away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#8 of 35 in Nessebar
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Sol Marina Palace
Sol Marina Palace
#3 of 35 in Nessebar
363 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#30 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
0.1 km away
Sol Nessebar Bay
Sol Nessebar Bay
#6 of 35 in Nessebar
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Nessebar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Nessebar Palace

Address: 7B Aurelia Boulevard, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
#1 Family Hotel in Nessebar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: €81 - €460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Nessebar Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management for Sol Nessebar Resort by Sol Hotels as per 2008. Kids pool area and castle refurbished for safety and quality reasons. New and extended food offers and resort entertainment & sports follow Sol Hotels quality standards. Gardens and Park upgraded. Resort Manager for Sol Nessebar Palace,-Mare, - Bay is Mr. Lubo Lipchev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Nessebar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Nessebar Palace Hotel Nessebar
Sol Hotel Nessebar
Sol Melia Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing