We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
371
305
126
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
305
126
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team sunny beach old town pool bar panini teenage club sol nessebar aqua park family room water slides sea view pretzels rooms are huge dance lessons fantastic hotel all inclusive hotel family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2009

well well well where do i start, firstly cannot fault the hotel cleanliness, room fabulous, cleaners brilliant, animation team deserve medals, thats where the the complments stop, some of the staff were friendly, but others I found ignorant, and its no good them saying that they dont under stand you, because they do, the food was not up to standard my partner and I are not moaners we go along with the flow but, we did moan alot during our 2 week stay at the palace, the food was horrid,they just catered for non english, we couldnt even get a decent cup of coffee the machines where always empty, we did complain to our holiday rep, who was coincidentally bulgarian (balkan holidays), she told us that the management said there was a power cut, thats why the machines were,nt working, funny they must have had a power cut for three days on the trot 24/7 [--], they were ok for a couple of days after that,but then went back to being empty again, our rep didnt give a damn, they want our money, that where it stops, we where also told, by first choice who we booked with that the palace had its own private beach, not so, you have to pay 6lv each for sunbeds, 6lv for umbrella, and you also have to pay for your drinks at the beach bar, so dont be fooled, we where also told by first choice, that we could also use everything the other sister hotels which are joined to the palace, the mare and the bay offered, including meals, again we were disappointed because you cant, you can only eat in the hotel that you are booked into, every thing is shared by the other hotels, entertainment pools, the main bar, so if you dont like the food at the palace you are stuck, we went into the mare and the bay not knowing that we couldnt eat there, their meals were 100% better than the palace, as we wre going into the mare one night we got stopped by one of the hotel managers, who told us we couldnt eat there we had to eat in our own hotel, we complained about this as first choice had told we could eat anywhere in the complex, not so we were made to feel inferior and humiliated, you are out in the middle of nowhere, and stuck, the nearest place you can go is old nessebar, which is a 10-15 mins bus ride away or a steady 40 mins walk, but you have to think about getting back, you can never go on the times of the buses,they turn up when they want, all I would say for anyone booking a holiday like this is please look into everything before you book, and dont take it for granted that your travel agent is always right, please be very very careful dont be taken in like we were, go to sunnybeach, half board then you are not stuck, enjoy your holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MINNIE125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

first time to Bulgaria, not sure what we were going to get, read the mixed reviews about the Sol Nessebar Palace and was starting to get cold feet.
This was quickly dispelled when we arrived. From check in to porterage, room was a pleasure. Slight downside was we had not booked sea/pool view and we overlooked an old Military camp with old tin huts, not great but certainly improved at night. Again I was not here to spend all my time in a hotel room! All areas I found to be clean and maintained to a high standard. The room was cleaned by Dora, who I wish we could take home with us, every day she made a different theme with the quilts and towels and was always a surprise coming into the room to find it clean and tidy (even round our son's not so good tidying habits!).
The Dining room had charts up indicating busy times which was helpful, though we never struggled at peak times for a table or freshly cooked food, though demand sometimes meant a small time waiting, hey I'm on holiday whats the rush! Food selection was very good, at times too good, felt I needed to try a bit of everything! even fussy eaters were more than happy with the selection. Tables were cleared quickly and reset by busy waiting staff, sometimes a little eager to clear as soon as you had finished but always polite attentive and not too intrusive.
Animation team need a special mention, they were pretty much attuned to the guests in understanding that a lot of people come on holiday to relax, and when and if they are ready will join in attend the activities, they wer all very friendly and were happy to stop and chat and give you the time of day letting you know they were there. A real cheery bunch of good dancers and performers, my Son was so impressed by them he wants to do an animators job when he is older during the summer breaks. Salsa dancing lessons and Bulgarian dancing during the day, keep fit and water aerobics were popular and pitched at the right level for beginners and intermediattes to join in, and basically fun. Snack food available at the pool bar kept you going during the day between meals cooked fresh at the time, chips pizza burgers and others fine once you realised that waist lines were expanding with all the dining room delights were showing! The water park nearby was excellent we had a really good day there, laughed at the sign going in, no food or drink animals or guns hey something different. Old Nessebar was a bus or taxi trip away, good shopping and good restaurents and a really nice ambiance no overly pushy people trying to part with your cash.
All in all we were not sure what to expect, and this was exceeding our expectations we chilled out, son was kept entertained, we ate well, drank well an had a thouraghly good time in a comfortable vhotel with a great atmospere an kind and pleasant staff, thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony_Josey_Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

we could not fault the place we had a really good time here the weather was good , the pool was great the kids loved all of the pools , we never had any problem with getting sun loungers where we wanted them , we were on the 5th floor over looking the pool area so we could see what was happening all the time , the staff at reception etc were friendly the only thing was the language barrier but we managed to get what ever we needed , the only thing was the entertainment area was a bit away from the bar and when you went to see any shows on return the bar was closed beside the pool at 10pm so you had to go into the other bars for any drinks etc the other bars closed at 11pm for all inclusive but you could still pay for drinks if you wanted to after 11pm we only did that on one occasion , we never needed to stay out after this time anyway ,

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollikrisp41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My wife myself and our 11 year old daughter spent a week here from the 25th of June 2009, and we found this hotel hard to fault. It was the 1st time we had been to Bulgaria, and only our 2nd "all inclusive" holiday, our first being Tunisia. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are huge and cleaned every day, the food and drinks were of a very good quality and high standard, the choice has huge and varied at meal times. I'm not sure if it is 5 star.....as Ive never stayed in another to compare it to? There were 4 outdoor pools, all of them rather refreshing in May as I dont believe they were heated, and one large indoor pool. The small and quiet beach was 1 minute away via some steps, and during our visit, though it was early in the season, the sun beds and umbrellas on the beach were free. The only small downside to the holiday was that the hotel does have a "smoke anywhere you like" policy, which the forever restrained British smokers took full advantage of. Some of the bars did fog up in the evening, as nobody bothered to smoke outside, despite all the children in these araes. The bars of which there were 4 in the evening did cease "free" drinks at 11pm, but if you did want to continue, they were no where near as expensive as home or the rest of europe this year! Daytime entertainment was numerous, but the evening shows were a little lacking. If your looking for a relaxing break, with no hassle or worries..........book here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pjdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I beleive some people just like to moan and are never satisfied and often are out to make a complaint or try to get compensation when its not really deserved, this is my opinion of some of the other reviews i have read in respect of this hotel. If you are expecting a buzzing place this is not for you. If you are expecting a clean, spacious, bright and airy hotel to relax and unwind then this is for you. depends what you want from a holiday!

We arrived at night and after disposing of our luggage in our large bedrooms facing the fantastic pool we were offered the use of the restaurant with a selection of breads, salads, cold meats and cheeses, cereals, yoghurts fruit etc and drinks.

If you so desired you could eat virtually from morning till night and the food was lovely. it should not be expected to have the type of food that some british people are used to bearing in mind this is a bulgarian hotel, in bulgaria, catering for many different people from various countries in the world therefore the food is diverse. Also its worth remembering bulgarian people would be offended to cause harm by scolding with very hot food and as the saying goes when in Rome........

Breakfast included a large variety of foods including freshly made pancakes, cereals, fruits, yoghurts, biscuits, croissants, cakes, continental and cooked breakfasts, fruit juices, cold drinks and hot. The pool bar served chips! pizza, chicken nuggets, meatballs (which were lovely) and many ice creams as well as beers, wines, teas, coffees, cocktials (angels kiss is very nice) and other alcoholic drinks. The lunchtime and dinner menu was very similar consisting of great salads - very fresh, cold meats, cheeses, pasta dishes, hot main courses, a fish dish, a carvery of one either meat or fish; breads, soups, a large variety of cakes,desserts and ice creams along with fresh fruit. beer wine and soft drinks were availble too. In the lobby bar they served drinks and cakes for afternoon tea and from 10pm the animation room bar served drinks and sandwiches (with butter!) usually cheese and meat and biscuits.

My only gripe about our whole stay would be too few bar staff and only very occasional diet / light drinks being available.

The pool area is very clean and tidy with people cleaning and tidying regularly. This also applies throughout the entire hotel from morning to night but it does not impinge on any of your personal space and they are very quiet. you can hire towels for the pool or use your own but not to use the ones from the bathrooms, Which is fair enough.

We had a leaking shower on the first day which was reported and fixed immediately. The bathroom was a great size with walk in shower, corner bath, toilet, sink, hair dryer and towels provided.

The bedroom was large with adjustable aircon, tv with many channels inc some english ones, minifridge to stock youself if you wished ( there is a small supermarket outside the hotel, turn left and opposite the Nessebar Mare's entrance).

The beach was accessed down some metal steps to the right of the kids/ fun pool or down a ramp to the left side of main pool area. the beach was sandy and had some seaweed. and you could even pay to have a massage there in a tented gazebo.

The hotel has a gym and a pay extra spa facility and hairdressers also an indoor pool of a reasonable size and a few small shops to buy souveneirs. You also can access the Nessebar Maresand the Nessebar Bays Hotel bars shops and pool - but to be honest the palace is the better.

Sunny beach can be accessed by taxi from outside the hotel (Not sure of price) but its as easy to get the bus from bus stop past the Nessebar bay on right hand side at a cost of 1lev 20 each(60p) each way. It would be a very long walk to Sunny Beach (approx 2.30 hours+) Its a bit of a dive there with fresh sewerage on the beach and street sellers (fresh cherries and strawberries 27 levs - i think not!) and promotions people attracting you to their bars/ restaurants - cheap as asda price! cheap as chips and all that. Not my cup of tea, But some ok shops try bargaining gets you everywhere.

Also McDonalds and KFC here - very bulgarian!

Old nessebar penninsulla is a nice walk round again try bargaining again. it costs 1 lev each each way to get there on bus from the same bus stop as Sunny Beach as its on the way.

Nothing much else around the hotel so its eat drink and relax. take some playing cards or a good book cos not much to do at night time either. there is a night club next door but didnt go. there are pool tables air hockey and table tennis.

The animation team are good trying to get you to salsa evey lunch time; they also arrange football games, aqua aerobics stretching, darts, chess, quizzes, amongst others. and their signature dance and song is very catchy you find yourself singing along unintentionally!

Relax and enjoy some time away from it all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish9626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews