We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
80
154
93
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
154
93
16
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Good location in the city. Close to main streets. Hotel rooms are nice, clean and quite large. Friendly staff. Restaurant is located on the top floor, which has excellent views of Porto Alegre. Breakfast and dinner also very good.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank AndrewGorzny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Upon arrival, I was way early, check in not till noon, but I already at the hotel by 9am in the morning, and I didn't sleep at all the night before due to early flight. So I was at the front desk asking if possible to get a room early check in, unfortunately no room was available. So I if possible, just let me know, but in the meantime, I'm going to go laid down on one of the chair in the lobby, because I was really tired. Around 10am, one of the front desk staff woke me up, and told me they have a room ready for me. I was so pleased, because I was exhausted.
They give me the room on the 3rd Floor, and after I got to the 3rd Floor, I can't find my room number, I kept walking around and around, and when I was about to go downstairs, I saw one of the hotel staff, I asked her for her help. Funny enough, on the left hand side, the red door that looks like a fire exit, was the door that goes to different side of the other rooms. There were no sign at all direct me to that, which is to me very unprofessional, for people that never stay at this hotel, how would I know where to go?

After I finally got into my room, I was a little disappointed, the room is very small, the desk almost touching the bed, is a tiny balcony, but the door that go outside is very lose, if I pull harder, the whole door will probably come down. The toilet seat will not stay up, I have to hold it when I using it.
The bed only have 2 pillows, is very dry, like a very low budget hotel.
The pillows are not comfortable at all, I pretty much slept without pillows the 2 nights I was staying there.
I was originally reserved for 4 nights stay, but I just can't go throw with it, I stay for 2 nights and I moved to another hotel.
Also, I'm not sure what is in the end of the hall way by my rooms, is always dark there, not sure if those rooms have people stay there, and I never once see the house keeping cleaning other rooms, kind of make you wondering if is even house keeping at all.

The elevator was broken or something, one night around 11pm, I wanted to go downstairs to the front desk and ask for the internet password, but waiting 10 minutes, elevator never arrive.

Next day I had a meeting, and once again, I was waited for 10 minutes, the elevator never arrive, so I went back to my room and call the front desk asking what is going on. I tried to use the phone on the hallway, but is not working.

Inside the elevator, it has sign listed the restaurant is on 16th Floor, but when I got up there, no one was up there, nothing at all, but beautiful view, such a waste.

I'm not really sure what is going on at this hotel, it can be a great hotel, but is really running down, seem like people don't care anymore. Also, the pictures of the room, is not what it look like at all on this site.

Staffs are very nice and very friendly, which is why making it very difficult for me to write this review, but the hotel really need to renovate big...time. Sadly I will not be back at this hotel, really such a waste, this hotel have a lot of potential in it.

Room Tip: Look at the photo on this site, and upon your check in, tell them you want the room look like in the picture.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tangkc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrid d, Gerente at Everest Porto Alegre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Dear Mr. ,

It’s really unfortunate that your experience at Everest Porto Alegre Hotel was not positive and we were very sad as we are always in constant search to do the best for our guest. We had some problems with the elevators that week, it was certainly not pleasant and for this situation we apologize. We would like to let you know that the problem was solved.
Regarding to the internet, we have communicated our IT department and we provide a review on the routers. You stayed in a Standard apartment that has 18m². We do have others categories with more space, for example: Deluxe Executive room with 26m² or Executive room with 44m². In one of these categories you would and will have more comfort. And regarding to your other appointments, we are improving every point mentioned one by one. Your opinion is very important to us so we can improve our service because it is our goal to better serve our guests/clients. Once again we apologize for all the discomfort caused during your stay, we were very sorrowful by this misfortune.
Even with your negative opinion about our hotel we would like to leave at your disposal the email centraldereservas@evererst.com.br to assist you in whatever you need and we hope for you to change your mind and have another opportunity to welcome you here at Everest Porto Alegre.

We thank you for your time.

Best regards,
Sigrid S Diercks
Corporate Manager”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel is celebrating its 50th anniversary but it may have seen better years. To be honest I do not have a sense of what the other hotels in Porto Alegre are like. I suspect, regardless of stars, etc, this is a mid-range hotel. So, what do you want? Central? This was within walking distance of the city centre and the waterfront? Cheap enough? I paid around $70 per night, and that includes breakfast. friendly staff? Yes, can't fault them there. Clean? No problems there. It looks dated but nice enough. I had no problems hanging out in my room some days to get work done. Amenities? Well there is a nice restaurant of the 16th floor, where you get breakfast but can also get an evening meal. No bugs? Well, i can be a concern so I have include it on my list. NO, I never saw any cockroaches or any sign of them. My room was fairly spacious and I had a nice flat screen television. The shower was large and effective.
What to look out for: some reports say that it can be dangerous to leave the hotel in the evening. This point was also reinforced by a friend. However, as alerts go it was medium, i.e., just be sensible. The room key failed to work every single day. I had to go back down to the lobby to get it reactivated. Tip: ask for 2 keys and key one separate just in case the first one gets deactivated.
The breakfast was minimalist and a matter of taste. No eggs, bacon, etc. Some fruit choices, scrambled eggs ( a bit runny), cheese and ham.
The restaurant is a good choice when you arrive and you don't want to wander around town looking for somewhere. Its short comings were that I ordered a steak which was very overdone and I had to keep asking for the sauce that went with it (I needed to offset the overdone nature of it). My steak dinner, a half-bottle of okay read wine, a minuscule desert (ask to see it before you decide), and coffee cost me around R60 (roughly $30) which wasn't that bad as the city goes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the far end of the hotel to get a view of the harbour. The higher up the better. Ask for a spare key because one will be almost immediately deactivated.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kakha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigrid d, Gerente at Everest Porto Alegre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014
Google Translation

Muito obrigado pelos seus comentários são muito importante para nos.
Esperamos em breve su visita.
Muito obrigado
Sigrid Silva Diercks
Gerente Corporativa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed a few days for a conference in Porto Alegre in this Hotel.

Booking: book on the Hotel's webpage, you will save some money.

Impressions: The Hotel lies in the very center of the city, bus stations are nearby. It has a nice entrance (the Hotel bar could be more inviting... I never saw someone there) and friendly staff (they helped me out with a suitable power-adapter). I enjoyed the breakfast and the nice view in the 16th floor (twice we saw a very nice sunset in the morning).

The room (standard executive) + bathroom are nice. Good flatscreen TV, very good beds.

The big big minus are the windows. They were not renovated, you really hear every single car or bus passing, you hear them clearly. Its not that loud that you couldnt sleep in the night, but you just dont feel comfortable. Tonight some homeless people were shouting/yelling for multiple times on the street downstairs - it's really something nobody wants to hear in a standard executive room.

As the windows were very old it was quite cold in the evenings and mornings and I had to activate the air-conditioner (heating) --> more noise in the room.

Thats why, apart all other things were good, I can only give two rating points. Thats too bad.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room - and especially for renovated windows!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samuel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Everest Hotel whilst traveling around Brazil following the Aussie soccer team (Room 502). We had a pleasant stay there, the location was central and handy, the room was comfortable (Beds were fine), breakfast was reasonable and the staff were friendly and helpful. As was normal in the various Brazilian hotels, the TV reception in the rooms was not good so we watched a couple of World Cup games in the Bar lobby - a very average 'cold' (atmosphere wise) bar that needs updating. We liked the city and found the people very friendly, we had a churassco at a Brazilian family's home whom we met in a bakery in our first evening in the city - thanks Felipe.
The view from the restaurant on the 16th floor is very spectacular and well worth a look. Summing up, if we ever visit Porto Alegre again we'd have no qualms in staying at the Everest again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerryyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews