We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$108
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Porto Alegre Hostel Boutique(Porto Alegre)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ritter Hoteis(Porto Alegre)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Ibis Styles Porto Alegre Centro(Porto Alegre)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$47
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Brick Hostel(Porto Alegre)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Solar63 Hostel(Porto Alegre)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Porto Alegre Eco Hostel(Porto Alegre)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$23
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
353
312
66
35
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
312
66
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallgreat hotel in a great locationrooms are beautifulmodern decorlatin americapeople watchingbusiness triplarge bedcomfortable hoteltop floornice roomthe breakfast areatoilet paperrestaurants and barslate at nightexcellent breakfastmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

This Sheraton is in a good location, and except for the concierge whom I spoke with, the staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was on an upper floor, and the view was nice. The bed was comfortable, and we got a good night of sleep. We were disappointed with the club lounge, the gym, and the breakfast (only meal we ate there).

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ondaindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Good afternoon Dear guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for the time you dispensed giving us your feedback. Thank you for the great remarks regarding to our property and staff, we take great pride on our services and caring attitude of our staff. On regards to your comment about your interaction with our concierge, would you mind letting us know more details of this experience? Everyone here at our hotel are considered as concierges and are trained to be prepared to advise our guests at any way possible, in order to make sure every guest take the most of their visit and live memorable experiences here with us, so in case you had another impression please don’t hesitate do share with us in more details. We assure you that your feedbacks are very important to us, giving us the opportunity to continuously improve our way to take care of our valuable guests.

We regret knowing you were disappointed with some aspects of our services such as gym and club lounge. It would be great to have the chance to have a better understanding of the reasons that we did not meet your expectations so, we can work on that.

Once again thank you very much for your considerations, please provide us with your contact information in case you do not mind we getting in touch with you personally.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

I have stayed at this hotel in November and was disappointed. The price is way too high for what you get - it looks like it was not renovated since the 80's and the bed is really tough. Service is good and rooms are quite big.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelie_Tomoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Guest Service Supervisor at Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Amelie, good evening!

Firstly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel as your destination and for dispensing your valuable time to comment about your experience. It is really important for us to receive your feedback regarding our services and your experience with us.

We would like to apologize for not being able to reach your expectations in your stay with us and since our entire building has been fully renovated recently, we would like to kindly ask you to provide us more details about what exactly disappointed you, then we will be able to check the aspects we are failing, in your opinion, regarding our structure. Also, we are proud of providing the Sheraton Sleeping Experience, so it is very important for us to understand better in which way it stayed below your expectations.

We can assure you that we are constantly evaluating our services to provide improvements and maintain the quality, and your comments contribute to that.

We are at your disposal.

Have a great week!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

The people are nice enough but I was on a club floor and there was no one there at 9:30 and even if the information is posted I was informed that breakfast was on the main floor.
The gym is OK but I had to go ask for towels and was not greeted at the door by anyone. All the attendants chatting and having a good time and not paying attention to the guests.
Main floor bar OK.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Woods S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solange M, General Manager at Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Mr. Staton, good evening!

Thank you very much for the time you dispensed to evaluate your recent stay at Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel.

As mentioned by our Front Desk Manager in your checkout, because we take pride in offering memorable experiences to our dear guests and we have definitely not reached your expectations during your stay, we sincerely apologize. Such facts do not reflect our company high standards at all. Although we are very sorry for having failed to achieve our main goal, we take this opportunity to thank you for offering us the opportunity to improve the aspects that we have failed in delivering.

Every single issue you brought has been promptly forwarded to each responsible person in the related departments and you can be sure that corrective measures have already been taken.

We wish to count on a new opportunity, enabling us to regain your confidence in our Hotel and our Brand.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We guarantee you that the constant development and improvement of our services is part of our philosophy.

We are at your disposal for whatever is needed.

Best Regards,
Solange Minassian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Twice in a year and same comfortable and high standard experience. It’s not a luxury hotel but they deliver high standard services. Rooms have large square feet although they lack of class details. Staff is well prepared, always helpful and discrete.
Gym is located in the upper floor. Definitely not at the same standard than the other facilities. It’s small and not very equipped. It needs urgent improvements for a hotel of this range.
This time I used the room service from the restaurant. In fact they don’t offer any different option as the cafeteria and the restaurant close after 3pm. Service was fast and well presented as dishes arrived on a trolley, well dressed and presented. I think food was too elaborated for no reasons but definitely eatable. For example, what is the point of filling a beef fillet with mozzarella and Parma ham? Sometimes less is better.
The hotel lobby is also connected to the shopping mall by indoor access. This mall can be a good option for eating and shopping.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Leonardo Sergio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

It's a very good hotel but overpriced. I can't believe this the best hotel in Porto Alegre, my hometown. Location is excellent, but the facilities and services are not 5-stars. Just a few towels and worn off. The swimming pool is too small. The sauna was not working. I asked them to switch on, waited for half an hour, but they couldn't do it. Overall, disapointing. This is not a 5-star hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nelsonfjobim2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana A, Director of Sales at Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Mr. Jobim,
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Porto Alegre Hotel for your last stay. Thank you for the positive comments about our location. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced in our Hotel. We emphasize that the experiences that you had in our hotel are not usual, reason why we feel so sorry that during your stay we did not have the opportunity to correct the errors. Again, please accept our most sincere apologies and we wish we can have another opportunity to demonstrate you that the problems experienced in our Hotel were an exception and are not the regular service offered to our guests. My best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews