We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
153
266
132
30
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
266
132
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice holiday an update bit dated taxi midnight fi
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for one week during the business trip. Hotel is nice and clean. Even smallest standard room is big enough, especially for one person. The breakfast is good, but menu is limited and remain same every day. After three days you can't see breakfast. Actually is the only minus of hotel.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Urikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atendimento_Hospede, General Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear Urikan.


Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre. We give the extreme importance to our guest comments as they help us to improve to provide the best guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Hotel appears to be very modern etc. Room is big. Had an issue where loud humming noise was coming into my room at night, I believe it was from another AC unit, mine was turned off. Bed not that comfortable. Food in restaurant fair not great.

Room tip: Check to make sure there is not excessive noise in your room from other AC units
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaptainKuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Dear CaptainKuddles,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodation, and we appreciate your business with us. It is nice to know that the modern appearance of the property is up to your par. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the noise level and the type of bed received may have caused you. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We have shared your comments with the hotel management and we’re confident that necessary action will be made, in order to meet our guest's needs and comfort.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you would consider staying with us again in order to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Divina P.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

I’ll be as objective as I can with this review. The Holiday Inn, Porto Alegre is well located in town with several convenient places to shop for supplies. There is a great buffet restaurant to the left as you walk out of the hotel less than a quarter mile where you can eat all the steak and local food for about $8.77 USD. The place is called Delicia & Art Restaurante. I mention this because my co-worker and I found this place by accident after being told by the Hotel staff that were NO places to eat nearby. The day before, we hired a taxi and spent money on the taxi ride and spent about $40.00 each on dinner at the Nebraska Restaurant when we could have save and enjoyed the same meal for much less.
Now, back to the Holiday Inn Porto Alegre. First of all, this property advertises itself as a hotel for the business traveler. Having said that, and me being an international business traveler, I will evaluate it as such. The staff was courteous, but not very knowledgeable with regards to what is available surrounding the hotel. The hotel and rooms are in desperate need of upgrading and modernization.
The lifeline for all business travelers is INTERNET! This property’s internet was TERRIBLE! I was unable to work in the evenings because of the ridiculously slow speeds. The air conditioning was acceptable as was the shower and comfortable bed. They did have a flat screen in the room and a decent work desk. I was on the 7th floor and didn’t experience any noise at all. The hotel advertises a buffet for lunch but it’s really a menu lunch they offer. The breakfast is adequate with plenty of fruit, coffee or tea and the typical soupy scrambled eggs and bacon, or hotdogs.
The power outlets in the room are European 220 with a couple 110 outlets. There is a medium mini fridge where you can stock up on less expensive bottle water at a nearby shoppette instead of the overpriced water and snacks pre-supplied in the room. The hotel is about 15 minutes away from POA Airport by taxi and the cost is about 20 Reals ($6.00) to and from the airport. There is a room safe but just large enough for a tablet not a laptop. I suggest using it since someone “liberated” a candy bar from the dresser drawer while I was out working.
The large rooms and spacious bathrooms have potential for this becoming a great hotel IF the owners decide to invest in upgrades and modernization.
Specifically:
1. High Speed Internet.
2. Better room telephones,
3. Replace the drapes and curtains,
4. Include hand cloths (face towels) in the bathroom.

All in all, there are better hotels choices you could make, but in all fairness, there is little you should expect for approximately $55.00 a night.

Room tip: Bring face towels and a WiFi hotspot
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMAbrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atendimento_Hospede, Comunicação at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015
Google Translation

Obrigada! Sua avaliação foi completa. Importante informar que o Holiday Inn Porto Alegre já está recebendo várias melhorias e atualizações. Em sua próxima estada o conforto será ainda maior. Tivemos problemas com nossa internet, mas foi pontual e já está funcionando com velocidade e fácil acesso. A orientação que nossa equipe recebe é de prestar todas as informações solicitadas e sua reclamação já foi encaminhada para o setor responsável. ESperamos que possamos ter sua companhia em outras ocasiões. Agradecemos todas as contribuições!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

I stayed for two weeks at this hotel while working near the airport. The Holiday Inn is quite convenient for airport access being about a 20min drive by taxi. The hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable. Furnishings and décor are a little dated but still acceptable. Kettle and tea/coffee provided (some rooms have coffeemaker only) but only polystyrene cups in the room. Breakfast was good, but no eggs to order.
There is a small gym but not very well equipped. No club lounge that one usually gets in a Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaza, so as an IHG Rewards member there is no real upgrade benefit.
Room TV was quite good with original English soundtrack available on many channels using the remote.
I'd happily stay here again on a short visit, but if staying longer than a few days I would choose a hotel in an area with shops and restaurants nearby (eg Radisson or Sheraton). You would need to take a taxi to go anywhere to eat or shop.
Carlos Gomes Avenue is very busy and noisy most of the time and the sound insulation in the rooms is not good, so best to get a room away from the traffic.

Room tip: Choose a room away from Carlos Gomes Avenue because of traffic noise.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atendimento_Hospede, Comunicação at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve​.

Best regards;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

Comfortable clean - good bed and pillows. Reliable Holiday Inn standard. Seemed pretty central although I chose this hotel as convenient for meetings that I had in the local area. Breakfast was good - again all as per the usual Holiday Inn standard.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atendimento_Hospede, Comunicação at Holiday Inn Porto Alegre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Thank you for evaluation. Check back often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews