We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
US$46
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
FindHotelUS$62
Orbitz.comUS$62
Agoda.comUS$62
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
259
296
93
29
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
259
296
93
29
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve book it because of good quality of AccorHotels and service, but this time I was disappointed. I stayed in Mercure Arpoador at Rio 4 years ago and it was awesome. It was the first experience not so good.

Cons:
The cleaner lady show yourself lazy, she didn’t change the dirty glass, didn’t clean the shower box and floor. I needed to ask.
Some days she didn’t take off the trash.
The breakfast was the same day by day. If you start to take your breakfast and time is up they don’t ask you if you want to eat anything more. I thought impolite.
One day(Sunday) they didn’t have towels to use on pool or beach.

Pros:
Bed size(king)
Shower
Courtesy
Price reasonable(fair price)

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank luizclaudioc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo B, Front Office Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018
Google Translation

Olá Luiz Claudio C!

Agradecemos por nos contar sobre sua experiência no MERCURE RJ Barra da Tijuca.
Sentimos muito não termos correspondido ás suas expectativas, por favor, deixe-me apresentar minhas mais sinceras desculpas.
No Hotel MERCURE, procuramos fornecer um serviço de alto nível a cada um de nossos clientes; por isso seu feedback é muito importante para nós.
Esteja certo de que tomaremos as medidas apropriadas para lidar com a situação e prevenir futuras ocorrências.
Agradecemos que tenha nos contado seus problemas e esperamos que nos dê a oportunidade de melhor servi-lo num futuro próximo.
Sinta-se confortável para me contatar diretamente caso haja o interesse de uma nova reserva.

Atenciosamente,

Bernardo Bugarim
Chefe de Recepção.
Mercure Barra da Tijuca
h8180-fo@accor.com.br

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed at Mercure for a Medical Conference in Rio. The hotel is located at the beginning of Barra da Tijuca where it’s called Quebra-Mar. It was 5 min by car from our conference and 5 min from a great street with tons of bars and restaurants called Olegario Maciel. Check-in was extremely easy as it was check-out. They provide late check out till 2pm for everyone. Perfect! Breakfast is very good, included in the rate, but I wish it was a little bit longer specially on weekdays (6AM-9AM). They offer a great variety of breads, coffee, milk, juices, cheese, but a few options of fresh fruit. They also make tapioca (Brazilian snack) on demand and omelets. We got a room with ocean view. The room was good, clean, good view of the beach, with a double bed and a big desk behind it. They offer free-wifi with good connection! They have a safe-box free of charge in the room as well. The hotel also offers a gym that is pretty good, steam room and a pool. They have a restaurant called Sambá with great dishes. Service is a little slow but it’s like that everywhere in Rio. But they are very polite and food is well served. I believe all the staff speak Portuguese and English. They also offer a service of bike rental for 15 reais an hour. It’s a good deal to ride by the beach. I stayed for 5 days and would definitely come back! From Galeao Airport takes 40-45 min (not on rush hours) and to Santos Dumont Airport takes 40 min.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SilviaLeticiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo B, Front Office Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hello Silvia Leticia B!

Thanks for the great review of our hotel.
I will check who gave you the information about the breakfest time, because at weekends we serve the buffet from 07am untill 11am, and at the week days we finish it at 10am.
I am sure that is a specific problem, but I will reinforce with the entire team so that type of information is not passed on wrongly.
I put myself at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Bernardo Bugarim
Chefe de Recepção.
Mercure Barra da Tijuca
h8180-fo@accor.com.br

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for a business meeting. Staff is friendly, drivers are super nice. Breakfast was included and it was good and plenty. I found it close to most things I needed to visit. The rooms were clean and big enough. Beds were comfortable and I even had a mini-fridge in the room. Overall, a pleasant experience in Rio.

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank Luisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo B, Front Office Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello Luisa C!

Thanks for the great review of the hotel.
Hope see you soon again here with us.

Best Regards,

Bernardo Bugarim
Chefe de Recepção.
Mercure Barra da Tijuca
h8180-fo@accor.com.br

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel has the predictable qualities of a Mercure (which I find a good thing). The breakfast was reasonably well stocked, with nespresso being a nice touch. The service for omelettes and fried eggs was hard to find.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 94pieterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo B, Front Office Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Pieter L!

Thanks for your feedback, this is the most important thing to improve our services.
Thanks for the great review from our hotel.
Hope see you again here with us soon.

Im here for any further questions.

Best Regards,

Bernardo Bugarim
Front Office Manager
Mercure Barra da Tijuca
h8180-fo@accor.com.br

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I´ve been there with my family last week, for my son school activities (Olimpic Games) and what a surprise, a beachfront hotel, a room with a beach view, nice and very clean rooms, and the people that works in all areas are incredible nice. Good breakfast!!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardo B, Front Office Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello Dewellner!

Thank you for the great review of Mercure Hotel.
Its a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay with us!
I hope see you again here at the hotel soon.
Im here for any further questions or solicitations.

Best Regards,


Bernardo Bugarim
Front Office Manager
Mercure Barra da Tijuca
h8180-fo@accor.com.br

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews