We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,348)
Filter reviews
1,348 results
Traveller rating
376
666
221
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
666
221
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews devassa restaurant two blocks attached restaurant street noise excellent location beach chairs convenient location higher floor felt very safe small room enjoyed my stay ipanema umbrellas brazil neighborhood closet metro
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,348 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

The best part about paying this hotel was it’s location. As first time visitors in Rio, it was great staying here. Just two blocks away from the beach, and at a walking distance from Le Blon and Copacabana. There are very nice bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is simply average, and breakfast could be improved but it’s ok.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Valentina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S, Reservas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Valentina,

Many thanks for your rating ! We’re very happy that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you very soon !

Mar Ipanema Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

The rooms were dirty. The bedding, towels etc. everything had stains on them and even ripped in some parts as they were super old. When we asked for clean bedding the first night as we noticed the one we had had hair and body fluid on it... the new bedding staff brought were also stained, and we ended up buying cheap bedding and towels, to us during our stay, from the shop across the street. The rooms are super small and very inefficiently laid out. The bathroom was TINY.. there wasn't even enough room to make the move to wrap a towel around your body after taking a shower. Windows didn't close all the way, letting quite a bit of noise from the street to come in at night. The breakfast was very basic... nothing seemed fresh, more looked like the previous morning's leftovers... The staff was not friendly except for one or two of them. No one except the staff in reception speaks in English. They simply stare at you when you come and go. While the hotel is one of the cheapest around the area, with this type of service and facilities it is actually way overpriced. It was one of the worst stays my husband and I ever had... They seriously need to renovate, change staff and renew their textiles asap...

Room tip: Don't waste your money on this hotel...
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S, Reservas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Suzun,

Many thanks for your rating. We’re very sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and we’ll work on that to make your next stay comfortable and memorable ! We hope to see you very soon !

Mar Ipanema Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Perfect location, next to the beach, right in the city area with all best restaurants, great view from the roof, great restaurant and breakfast! Garrage parking next door. Excelent bathrooms! Thank u mar hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eu20122018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S, Reservas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Eu,

Many thanks for your rating ! We’re very happy that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you very soon !

Mar Ipanema Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Good location one block fromBeach and near lots of restaurants. Clean room, only complaint was it was very small. The staff was friendly and they provided beach towels at no cost. Breakfast was largely sweets but very good for being included

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S, Reservas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Lindsay,

Many thanks for your rating.

We’re very sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and we’ll work on that to make your next stay comfortable and memorable!

We hope to see you very soon !

Mar Ipanema Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Perfectly alright for a short stay. Maybe the room is too small for a two week holiday stay, but everything you need is there. Room and bath room are clean.Located right in the middle of Ipanema, to noise from the street is noticeable. I had a room with a connecting door to the next room where some "noisy people" were accommodated. This was bad luck.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ralphi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S, Reservas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Ralphi,

Many thanks for your rating. We’re very sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and we’ll work on that to make your next stay comfortable and memorable ! We hope to see you very soon !

Mar Ipanema Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews