We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveller rating
368
652
216
49
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
652
216
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews devassa restaurant attached restaurant great location street noise few blocks beach towels higher floor felt very safe small room ipanema umbrellas brazil neighborhood closet metro rooftop safety
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This hotel has everything you need for a comfortable stay in Ipanema. Centrally located, close to beaches, restaurants, metro and shopping. The breakfast was fantastic (best coffee in South America). The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Beautiful clean hotel---luxurious, yet simple and minimalistic. Lovely and safe walk to the beach, about ten minutes. They let you take beach chairs for free. Breakfast had great variety----fresh juices (watermelon, passionfruit, green, etc.), eggs, breads, as well as typical Brazilian eats. Highly recommend grabbing their breakfast, otherwise there are plenty of cheap coffee shops around. You're surrounded by a lot of stores, as well. Small but quaint gym on rooftop with a view. Absolutely no problems with this hotel. We definitely would go back again.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Roselyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Location blocks from beach, on street with pedestrians, not far from metro is great. Corner location means traffic noise at least from 5 am to midnight on 9th floor on side street because buses and motorcycles stop and start, beep horns. One room (ends in 8?) seems to face back, so might be quieter. I had an adjoining room so I could hear my neighbor's conversations in normal voices plus their phone sounded like it was ringing in my room.

Seemed secure from street with vigilant bellmen. No peephole in door, though. Also will make new room key if you tell them room number without asking for ID. (Am I that memorable?)

Room OK for cleanliness--a little mold on grout in bathroom. Either they are remodeling the bathroom or they are going for an industrial look--tile up half wall, then unsmoothed concrete up to ceiling.
Used room service trays were left in elevator lobby for more than 24 hours.

The room was ridiculously narrow. I paid for higher category room to get higher floor (and I thought larger room). The desk was at the foot of the bed and the plastic desk chair was sitting next to the desk. To sit at the desk, I either had to lift the chair above the bed and work in into the desk opening or else leave it out in the room and sit on the foot of the bed--yes it was that close. If sitting at the desk in the chair, the chair touched the foot of the bed. I was really glad to be traveling alone. There was excess space in the entry nook.

Breakfast was OK except for the hot dogs as sausage/meat.

Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Higher facing the back might have less noise--ends in 8?
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The best of the hotel is its location. 2 blocks from Ipanema Beach and 2 blocks to many of Ipanema's best restaurants.

Rooms are nicely clean interior. The hotel sounds like a smart choice if you don't mind that it does not have swimming pool.

Breakfast is offered in the attached Devassa Bar and it is ok, nothing very special, quite simple.

Gave it a 5 stars on the overall cost, location, rooms, cleanness.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MLNMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I stayed at Mar Ipanema Hotel in April 2017 for seven days. Excellent location, less than 10 minutes walk from the beech. Variety of shops and restaurants in the vicinity. Initially, they gave me a room on the 3rd floor; it was clean, small, but could hear the street noise. Therefore, I asked if they could give me a different room. The staff was very professional and helpful. They immediately moved me to a different room, on the 11th floor, which was bigger, quieter, and have a great view.

I enjoyed the complementary breakfast at Armazem Devassa restaurant which is located on the first floor adjacent to the hotel. Great option for lunch or dinner, if you choose not to go far from the hotel.

The staff was awesome helping me with different tour programs. Overall, it was a great stay, and will choose it again. I definitely recommend this hotel, it is great for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YonasM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews