We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$301
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$232
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$237
US$229
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$279
US$238
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$568
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveller rating
357
644
213
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
644
213
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdevassa restaurantattached restaurantgreat locationstreet noisefew blocksspoke good englishrooftop barbreakfast is servedhigher floorfelt very safechrist the redeemeripanemaumbrellasbrazilneighborhoodclosetmetro
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I stayed at Mar Ipanema Hotel in April 2017 for seven days. Excellent location, less than 10 minutes walk from the beech. Variety of shops and restaurants in the vicinity. Initially, they gave me a room on the 3rd floor; it was clean, small, but could hear the street noise. Therefore, I asked if they could give me a different room. The staff was very professional and helpful. They immediately moved me to a different room, on the 11th floor, which was bigger, quieter, and have a great view.

I enjoyed the complementary breakfast at Armazem Devassa restaurant which is located on the first floor adjacent to the hotel. Great option for lunch or dinner, if you choose not to go far from the hotel.

The staff was awesome helping me with different tour programs. Overall, it was a great stay, and will choose it again. I definitely recommend this hotel, it is great for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yonas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Fiquei aqui 2 dias em maio, sem my problema mas o wi fi de graca uma piada, não funciona....I stayed here two days in may, hotel ok, basic and clean, but the wi if is a terrible joke , doesn't work period

Room Tip: Avoid if u need wi fi
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Excelent location, just few blocks from Ipanema Beach. The Visc. Pirajá Avenue where the hotel stays have a lot of different stores and nearby a good variety of places to eat. I felt safe walking around, but didn't walk at night. The breakfast is really good, the staff is nice as well.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cristiano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Second time me and my family stayed here. Can't beat location. Just a couple blocks from Ipanema beach and all the nice restaurants and stores. Also just a few minutes walk to Lagoa (the lake/ lagoon area). Breakfast is served on Devassa restaurant adjacent to the hotel so if you feel lazy you don't need to go far to get some good traditional food and drinks. The rooftop area offers view of the Lagoon and you can also see Christ the Redeemer from a distance. Overall, really nice stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy but you are in the city so some level of noise is expected.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenatinhaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseMIH, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear RenatinhaR,

We are delighted to know that you enjoy our property and services and we feel proud for being your "home away from home".

We also thank you for your so nice comments on our Hotel, looking forward to welcoming you back on a soonest opportunity.

With the warmest regards from Mar Ipanema Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

This hotel was recommended to us by a couple who frequent Rio. We were not disappointed. We took the airport shuttle to get to the hotel. There was always someone on the front desk who spoke good English. Thanks! The clerks at the front desk can make arrangements for tours and dinner if you'd like. The room was small, but adequate, clean and quiet. Great breakfast and the restaurant was a great people-watching place for a good dinner. Great location. We walked a couple of blocks to the artsy/craftsy Hippie Market in a park on Sunday morning. Super!
The roof top bar is lovely but no bar tender. You have to call downstairs for if you want a drink.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escape5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseMIH, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Escape5,
First of all we thank you so much for your visit, looking forward to welcoming you back everytime you come down to Rio!
We also thank you very much for your comments on our services and property, but over and above, the description of the "experience" you have had. Just wonderful!
With the very best regards from Mar Ipanema Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews