We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Orla Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$476
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,276 results
Traveller rating
352
639
211
45
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
639
211
45
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdevassa restaurantattached restaurantgreat locationstreet noisebeach chairsspoke good englishbreakfast is servedrooftop barfew blockshigher floorfelt very safeenjoyed my staychrist the redeemeripanemaumbrellasbrazilneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 1,276 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel, the rooms are not large but not small either, its comfortable. I did not experience any street noise, maybe because we were staying on a high floor or maybe because i'm used to live in a city. The location is excellent, it's close to the beach (about 2 short blocks), to the shops in Ipanema and also to a lot of different restaurants, not to mention the one located on the ground level: good food, cold beer and great servers! The staff at Mar Ipanema are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waikikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Wow! Thank you for your awesome review and kind words! Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and city! I’m glad you enjoyed our room! In fact, we are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. Our rooms are all equipped with ´32 LCD TVs, Ipod docks, free complimentary wifi internet access, and many other amenities.
Our location is just prime, I couldn’t describe it better myself. It’s noteworthy that we are roughly 20-30% cheaper than beachfront hotels. Also, since also shops and restaurants are located in streets adjacent to the beach, our location is even more suitable than the location of beach front hotels.
Good to know our staff was pleasant and were able to help you with recommendations on what to do in Rio. I’ll congratulate them myself!
Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel as well as recommending us. There is no better compliment for us than our guests telling us they would recommend and stay with us again. We hope to welcome you back very soon !

Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Mat Ipanema may not be on the beach but it is only 2 blocks away and in Ipanema there aren't any hotels on the beach anyway. Ipanema & its beach is far better than Copacabana so it is worth sacrificing the beach view for a better neighbourhood.

The hotel is decent - the rooms are not large, but not overly small and the bathroom is decent quality, with the most powerful shower I've ever experienced. I had only 1 gripe with the room - the noise from the busy street outside means ear plugs are essential.

Reception staff were friendly and spoke good English. I booked a day long Rio tour through the hotel, but frankly I wouldn't recommend it - the tour guide wasn't great and you'll learn much more about Rio by getting on the metro with a Rough Guide and making your own way to the main attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the main street if you can - or ensure you bring good ear plugs.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverside-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s always great to know that our guests had such a nice stay with us. Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.
I’m glad you liked our rooms as well. We are glad to say that Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only entirely refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. All rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Ipod Docks, and may other amenities to provide our guests a comfortable stay. Concerning the noise, rest assured that the next time you stay with us you will have an even more relaxed stay, once we are currently installing new soundproof windows in all rooms!
At last, thank you very much for your compliments on our staff, glad to know they helped you out efficiently. I’ll make sure to personally congratulate them!
Thank you very much for your review and kind words, we hope to see you soon again!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Mar Ipanema is an ok hotel...clean, tidy and free breakfast/wi-fi is a rare find in Rio so a welcome bonus. The rooms facing the street are noisy so don't forget your ear-plugs and you'll be fine. Hotels closer to the beach are probably 25-30% more expensive (as a minimum) so this hotel offers a practical alternative a few minutes away from the beach - that said if you can afford it the beach side properties are worth the extra.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the higher floors and be prepared for traffic noise on street facing rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro, as well as for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed our location, which is a stone’s throw from the best spot of Ipanema beach and just 3 blocks away from the lagoon. As you pointed out, Mar Ipanema Hotel is also the only hotel in Leblon and Ipanema districts which offers complimentary wireless internet access to all of its guests. Concerning the noise, rest assured that when visiting us again, you will have an even more pleasant stay, since we are installing new soundproof windows in all rooms!
Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back very soon - take care!

Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We spent four nights at the mar Ipanema Hotel and chose it because of its great location. Indeed, it is situated only one block away from the beach and the hotel even provides you with umbrellas and deck chairs. Rooms are modern, equipped with AC and a wonderful bathroom (lovely showers!). Beds are very comfy and breakfast is nice so it allows you for a good start into the day. The only drawback is noise - given that the hotel is situated on the main strip (R. Visc. de Pirajá) and that windows aren't noise proof at all, you feel like you're sleeping with your windows open when they're in fact closed. Otherwise, the hotel is very modern and impeccable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't give on the main strip (R. Visc. de Pirajá) but on the back towards the beach!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I’m really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel has a prime location. Located at the trendiest neighborhood in town and one short block away from the wonderful Ipanema beach, Mar Ipanema Hotel offers a perfect location for its guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach equipment that we lend to guests. Although you could rent those at the beach, during summertime its common not find available ones at the beach, not to say that it wouldn’t be cost free.
All of our rooms are 100% renovated, and yes, sometimes it could be difficult to find a brand new hotel in Rio. I am glad you pointed that out! Concerning the noise coming from the street, we are located in a very trendy and busy street and few times such noise can be noticeable. For this reason, we are installing new soundproof windows in all of our rooms, in order to provide an even more comfortable stay for our guests.
Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back very soon - take care!

Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here recently for a few days pre-cruise. Rooms were on the small size but adequate. We were on a high floor so street noise was negligible. The buffet breakfast in the restaurant next door was very good. In fact, we liked the restaurant so much we had a light dinner there another night. We found staff on the whole very pleasant and helpful although there was one individual (behind the desk) who barely cracked a smile the entire time and was quite brusque when we checked in. Fortunately he was the exception. The location of the hotel is very good...just a couple of blocks from the beach and right in the mix of shops and restaurants. An easy walk to Leblon and a bit further walk to the botanical gardens (although it was a pleasant and interesting walk...in the rain!) Overall we were quite pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotthetravelbug48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We find it truly satisfying that our guests had such a great stay and enjoyed our city as you did. I’m glad you enjoyed our room! In fact, we are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. Our rooms are all equipped with ´32 LCD TVs, Ipod docks, free complimentary wifi internet access, and many other amenities. Great to know you liked so much our Armazém Devassa restaurant. It’s a very typical “carioca” meeting point, where all the different styles of the craft beer Devassa are served. Good to know our staff was pleasant and were able to help you with recommendations on what to do in Rio. I’ll congratulate them myself! As a matter of fact, walking from Ipanema to Leblon and Botanical Gardens is really pleasant! Those are three of the most residential and elegant districts in town. And the botanical garden itself is no short from astonishing!
Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back very soon - take care!

Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews