We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,636)
Filter reviews
2,636 results
Traveller rating
1,056
1,007
372
131
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,056
1,007
372
131
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden tulip block c regente hotel standard room beach hotel ocean view recommend this hotel room service chairs and umbrellas location is amazing car service the hotel staff beach service reception desk buffet breakfast rooftop pool small pool
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 2,636 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Friendly staff. The rooms are a bit small, sometimes not with the best view but the location is amazing. You are in the middle where it's all happening. Nice breakfast with ocean view, and the staff is willing to help.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Platinum_Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipRG, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015

Dear Mark W,

We are so glad that you shared your experience with us and that you chose our hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro.

We are satisfied to know that you are happy with our staff and with our location and breakfast with the view of Copacabana beach.

We would like to inform you that we have different categories in our hotel and the Luxus apartments have a beautiful view of Copacabana beach.
If you have the chance to come back someday, please let us know!

Kind regards,

Iris Nebot
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

It's on the Copacabana beach front by Posto 5. Great rooftop pool. I had a modest clean quiet room which was value for it's price and met my needs. I would stay there again and gladly. Very good breakfast and friendly service. Nearby open air restaurants.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipRG, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015

Dear Bill,

Firsly we want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Rio and for sharing your experience with us.

We are so happy to know that you would stay with us again!! We will be waiting for you!
We are glad to know that you liked our breakfast, the kindness of staff and the location!

We want that you feel good in ou hotel, and knowing that you had a good time makes us fery satisfied.

Kind regards,

Iris Nebot
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Recentely renewed Hotel perfectly located in front of Copacabana beach.
Ideal place to stay 1-2 nights. Friendly staff and great breakfast. Important to ask for "bigger" room located in front of beach ideally from 5th floor up. There are 2 Tulip hotels in Rio... tell taxidriver Tulip Hotel next to JW Marriott.

Room Tip: best rooms in front of beach e.g. 514...
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetoSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipRG, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Reto2011,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Rio and for giving us such a nice review.
We are happy to know that you liked our staff and our breakfast in the Forno & Fogão restaurant.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel,

Kind regards,

Iris Nebot
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

I had an excellent stay here. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating! The breakfast was also set up great! The pool was amazing and good views of the beach right ahead! I would recommend for anyone~

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipRG, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Dear Justin,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your time in rio and for your review!

We are so happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you liked our service, the breakfast and our location with the stunning views from the swimming pool area!

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Kind regards,

Iris Nebot
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Just returned from a 4 night stay. The location and fab pictures from the rooftop pool attracted me to book it. Now, I am pretty disappointed and consider it overrated.
The location is really excellent, right across the street from the famous Copa beach. On the other hand easy 10-15 min walk takes you to Ipanema beach.
Being at the beach hotel for a tourist in Rio has advantages like leaving all your valuables in the hotel safe and have peace of mind on the beach. On your way back you can have a dip in the rooftop pool and admire the entire Copacabana panorama (the hotel is almost at the end of it, at post Nr 5) and make fantastic pics. Beware, the pool is very small, even smaller than it seems on the pics. You can rent towels by the pool, but there's no bar to have a drink on that heat ??!!
Beside that, friendly service of kind personal and the breakfast is only I liked. Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor and it is very good with lot of choice. It is by a huge window facing the Copa and Sugarloaf so you may have postcard setting while having breakfast. Didn't have problems finding a table like others said, probably as we ate around 8 AM.
Now the cons.
The hotel consists of three blocks A, B and C. They are connected with complicated, narrow and winding corridors and lifts. You can easily miss your room if you take the wrong lift. Also at the elevator exits, there're no signs whether breakfast is left or right (same for the lobby), so you wander around. The lobby is currently moved to the back block, because of renovation.
The biggest issue are old and smelly rooms. We were in the block B, which is in a side street. Everything in the room is very worn out and crying for renovation. Starting from the entry door which you have to slam to close it. Old furniture inside, old bed, table, two worn out chairs. Windows are the worst. Like in old movies, they're wooden and opening when you push them up. Sound isolation??? What is that??
Bathroom also old, with old fittings and problematic flush. No toilet brush. Very basic toileteries.
Wifi also problematic. In rooms poor signal, at the corridors down there too many people.
All in all, except for the location and breakfast far away from 4 stars as it claims.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank B1714D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenTulipRG, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Dear B1714D,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Rio and for sharing your experience with us.

In fact, we have a privileged localization, close of ipanema beach, subway, shops restaurants... We have a beautiful view from our rooftop!

We are happy that you liked our service and the breakfast in the 2nd floor, and we want to apologize for the challenges you had during your stay.
Be sure that we have already informed the responsible for the respective departments about your comments in order to work on it!

We would like to welcome you soon again in order to offer you the quality service we work for and you deserve.

Kind regards,

Iris Nebot
Guest Relations


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews