We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,758)
Filter reviews
2,758 results
Traveller rating
1,254
874
330
174
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
874
330
174
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcopacabana beachtop floorlocation is greatsmall balconylate checkbars and restaurantsbeach viewriobrazilcarnavalcarnivalleblon
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 2,758 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

The location (Copacabana) is not as good as Ipanema, but it's nice since you find bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel room is clean and good, electronic key, safe box and AC work well, comfort bed, spacious bathroom. The rooftop (where the pool is located) is old, it needs a revamp, its bar makes drinks using bad quality vodka and cachaça. The very bad point of the hotel is the staff, I felt the waiters, doormen, front desk receptionists, they were all in a bad mood... they didn't have proper manners, always with a lot of attitude.
Note: We spent the carnival week at Pestana Rio.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brazilianheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestanario16, Gerente at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and your kindness in sharing with us your impression and experience of our services and structure. We understand how much our guests' comments allow us to make the necessary corrections so that we are in a position to align our service and, mainly, to correct any flaws that may occur to make your stays more pleasant and satisfactory.
I apologize that the staff did not made you feel welcome, it is not our standard and not the usual feedback of our Guests. Be sure that this will be analised and that we will take necessary and possible measures.
Kind Regards,
Daniela Siqueira
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Nothing too exciting! Right in Copacabana with a great view. I rather stay in Leblon vs Copa, gives me a better security feel. I didn’t feel the staff was warm and accommodating. It is too expensive to be just average.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WorldTravelerBalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestanario16, Gerente at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn that you faced an occurrence while were our guest and especially for not having reached your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you and deliver the service you expect to find. Respectfully, Daniela Siqueira Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Pestana Motto is “One step closer to your dream”.
It should read “Never one step closer to a half decent hotel”
Good points: great location, half decent breakfast, room reasonably comfortable
Bad points: other than Anderson (breakfast waiter) and Fabiana (reception) the staff are totally pathetic. Waited 40 mins for a useless individual to adjust a bike seat. He wandered off, never to come back. Then the idiot who climbed onto the very top of the building (near the top floor pool decking) to take photos. Staff ambled by, completely ignoring the suicidal lunatic.
Guests drinking from glass bottles in the pool, smoking in the pool, there are no rules or management principles.
Seems to me the management attitude is - a problem shared, is a problem with no ownership.
Not impressed.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gentle_Giant_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestanario16, Gerente at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel as your destination, and for sharing your opinions with us. We are sorry to learn that you experienced certain situations during your stay. I personally thank you for your kindness to sharing your comments regarding your experience of our services and facilities, which supports and helps us to make all the improvement and investments initiatives needed. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience we may have caused you during these days of your recent stay, even though independent of our intention.
We constantly strive to ensure that our required standards of quality and comfort are charged to all sectors of the operation that contribute to the experience of our Guests, and for all of us it is disappointing to know that we no longer serve you in what we cherish. Rest assured that we are committed to ensuring that the impressions of your stay are fully corrected and re-evaluated, for the most important thing is to be sure to convey the seriousness and respect with which we deal with your comments.
Sincerely,
Daniela Siqueira Pestana
Rio Atlântica Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Our stay at the Pestana was okay. We paid extra for an oceanfront room with a large balcony and the view was amazing. We could see all of Copacabana beach -just stunning!

The hotel itself was a bit outdated. Everything was a bit damp and mildewy. The guest service staff were friendly enough but did not go out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast buffet was so-so.

Overall this was still a good hotel and the location is truly unbeatable if you can handle the action of Copacabana beach. The hotel could benefit from an update though.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestanario16, Gerente at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018
Google Translation

Sra. Amanda,

Muito obrigada por nos escolher como sua forma de hospedagem. Ficamos muito tristes em saber que não conseguimos lhe transmitir o acolhimento que nos propomos diariamente.
Entendemos o quanto os comentários de nossos Hóspedes nos permitem realizar as correções necessárias para que tenhamos condições de alinhar nosso atendimento e, principalmente, corrigir falhas que possam ocorrer para tornar suas estadas mais agradáveis e satisfatórias. Por isso avaliaremos a fundo suas observações acerca da quantidade de pessoas na recepção e do serviço de piscina.
Novamente peço desculpas pelos desconfortos vivenciados e me coloco a disposição para que possamos reverter a imagem deixada.

Daniela Siqueira
Gerente de Hospedagem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

I just spent 11 wonderful days at this ocean front Copacabana beach hotel. I had the Ocean front suite which was large and comfortable. It had a huge bathroom with 2 sinks, bathtub and huge shower. The balcony was huge and had a panoramic view of Copacabana beach which was wonderful to see the pre carnival parades go by down Avenida Atlantica, front row seat. The room was clean, the maid Andrea cleaned everyday with a smile and was such a gracious person. Sure there were a few things that needed to be fixed as can happen anywhere and everyone was there to help eagerly and with a smile, I was very impressed with the staff of the hotel

I ate breakfast everyday in the hotel and had an omelette to order or waffles, fresh fruit, fresh bread, cereal, yogurt, fresh juices, everything you need.

The front desk workers were very professional and helpful and everything I needed they provided me with, I even had friends to visit and the front desk workers were very helpful in providing the service that they needed.

The pool was great, even being on Copacabana many hotels have a small roof top pool but this hotel has a good size pool and friendly staff at the bar providing drinks and food. During the weekend the rooftop has a DJ which I went to a few times. It's nice to go to listen to music and mingle with the local Brazilians or other guests.

Everyday I called room service for ice and they were very prompt to deliver and didn't charge me for it as I have seen in other hotels in Rio.

My next trip to Rio I am thinking of staying here again because I really enjoyed my stay here and recommend it highly. Sure the hotel is not brand new but not many hotels in Rio are, I felt that this hotel represented good value, nothing is perfect but this hotel is a good option for Rio!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but of course Ocean view is always better.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BobH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestanario16, Gerente at Pestana Rio Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you for your recent stay in our Hotel and the time given in order for us to receive such detailed comments about your experience of our services, structure and hospitality. Everything we do aims making our guests' stay very comfortable, positive and memorable, and knowing that we can make their moments with us such pleasant experiences makes us even more satisfied and motivated. We hope to welcome you again soon !!

Sincerely,
Daniela Siqueira
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews