We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent”
Review of Fogo de Chao

Fogo de Chao
Ranked #96 of 14,500 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

This steakhouse is just excellent. They focus on the best parts of beef, have an incredible variety of excellent side dishes, and very good service.

In addition, the location on the Botafogo waterfront is great.

Thank martinpY5963UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FogodeChaoBR, Gerente de relações com clientes at Fogo de Chao, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello, Martin.

Thanks for your compliments and recommendation. We are happy to hear that we have met your expectations and we are committed to provide the highest level of service, just because our customers deserve the best.

For us, it was undoubtedly an immense pleasure to receive and provide you such an experience.

We hope you can come back soon.
See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

To avoid absolutely ! Unless you want to spend a full day in the hospital.

After a diner that was supposed to be a treat and a peak in our short trip, we went there and Became sick immediately after 2 hours.

We did not pay attention to this as it was a special occasion and we wanted to enjoy the night. Suddenly we had to go to the terrace as we could not stand anymore and we had to leave cause we felt so bad.

After a terrible night : vomiting, diarrhea, fever, shivering.... We were really worried and not feeling well at all in the morning and after seeing a doctor he advised to go immediately to the hospital because of a possible food poisoning.

Hospital has confirmed food infection and i am still very ill.

This has ruined the all trip.
Besides to the massive prejudice of this special trip, the hospital has charged us a sum of 4790,28 reais.

So please don’t go and spread the world

Thank Elise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

The best meat I have ever tried in my life. I am not used to writing reviews, but when a place touches you this way, I feel that the people must know.

The first thing that catches your attention is the food quality is excellent, with a huge variety of meet and a wide range of different flavors to discover.

The second point to mention is the service, real professionals. We were always surrounded by a team of elegant, polite and well taught on the art of cooking steak. They made our lunch an unforgettable experience. I would like to specially greet Cezario for his suggestions and advice, we learnt a lot and your service was excellent. You are an extraordinary valuable employee for this restaurant.

Finally, I am grateful for the kitchen your we had, it was impressive to see how hard and with how much dedication you work. A personal recommendation os to have a nice walk surrounding the beach once you finish, the views are amazing.

To sum up, I will say that if you are visiting Rio de Janeiro or you live here, you must come to this place. At least once in your life. You will never forget the food, the service and the views of this paradise in Earth.

Thank pabloquero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FogodeChaoBR, Gerente de relações com clientes at Fogo de Chao, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hello, Pablo.

Thanks for your compliments and recommendation. We are happy to hear that we have met your expectations and we are committed to provide the highest level of service, just because our customers deserve the best.

For us, it was undoubtedly an immense pleasure to receive and provide you such an experience.

We hope you can come back soon.
See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We wanted a traditional Brazilian restaurant and came across this place. What a perfect restaurant.

The food was amazing!! All the meat offered were cooked to perfection and the salad buffet bar had a wide range of choice. The drinks were of good size and nice.
Being gluten free the staff made sure I knew what I could and couldn't eat and ehen placing food on our table they told me if they were gluten or not.

On hearing someone was celebrating a birthday they gave us a free dessert.

All staff were friendly and helpful. And tried their best to speak English to us.

Prices were what you would expect for nice restaurant in Brazil. Unfortunately with it raining we didn't get to see the view.

We will come back.

Thank JackIe4536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FogodeChaoBR, Gerente de relações com clientes at Fogo de Chao, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hello,

Thanks for your compliments and recommendation. We are happy to hear that we have met your expectations and we are committed to provide the highest level of service, just because our customers deserve the best.

For us, it was undoubtedly an immense pleasure to receive and provide you such an experience.

We hope you can come back soon.
See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Wonderful salad buffet here. Selection is excellent and mouthwatering. Afterwards comes the meat which is brought to the tables on skewers and cut - the waiters keep coming with different meats until you tell them to stop. Discipline is needed as the food is delicious.
Wonderful waterside location with very good service.

Thank Berdy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FogodeChaoBR, Gerente de relações com clientes at Fogo de Chao, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello,

Thanks for your compliments and recommendation. We are happy to hear that we have met your expectations and we are committed to provide the highest level of service, just because our customers deserve the best.

For us, it was undoubtedly an immense pleasure to receive and provide you such an experience.

We hope you can come back soon.
See you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fogo de Chao also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing