We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Orla Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$255
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$476
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
75
185
121
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
185
121
20
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Nice clean room, poor breakfast, friendly people, poor english speakers like the most of brazilians. Very nice neighborhood for nightlife with bars with live music and great food and drinks but also weird people.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vali_VMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Arcos is, as expected an old hotel located in the bohemian streets of Lapa. The locations is full of bars, dance clubs and restaurants.
Lapa is an awesome place to visit in Rio, specially considering nightlife. It is rather distant from the top beaches, though. Since it is a bohemian venue, expect to find some prostitution happening around the hotel.
The main streets at Lapa feels safe, but one should keep an eye always opened.
We were placed on a first room that had an awful cigarette smell, and there were no problem in moving us to another room.
The place was going through some transformations (dire needed), and there was a whole lot of noise early in the morning.
Breakfast is included and consists of a continental breakfast buffet.
Airconditioners are rather old, and their filters seemed a little dusty (my dust allergy kind of freaked out).
It can be a good, not-so-expensive option, specially if you are considering nightlife, or have appointments near by.
Subway is not so close, expect to walk 15-20minutes (about 1,2km).

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, on the same side as the elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

The hotel is well located, in an area close to the city center , a street full of pubs and restaurants and also close to public transport. But if you are planning of heading daily to the beach, then it is a bit far away . As for the hotel : breakfast was great , especially if you like exotic fruits, the furniture ( including bathroom ) is quite old and simple, air conditioning noisy . If you get rooms on the street side, then the room is noisy, if not - then it is quiet and nicer. Reception staff is very helpful when asking for directions to the turistic points. Price seemed to me quite high, but not for Rio ...

Room Tip: Try not to haave a rooms on the street side, especially lower floors.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imolakadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My stay in Arcos Hotel was just amazing.
The hotel is simple, but has very good plus in items.
Location - is well locating, Lapa, if you are interested in nightlife and experiencing different food. Lapa never sleeps, so if you are looking for a quiet place, definitely is not the place to be. From there is easy to go to the city center
Food - They offer a very nice Breakfast buffet with different options (although same different options everyday). They have different kinds of breads, season fruits (3 types), scrambled eggs, sausages or chorico, yougurt, cakes and mousses. Breakfast is included on the room price. If you are not interested to go out for lunch/dinner the restaurant at the hotel offers a buffet of 15 USD per people excluding drinks (includes starters, main dish and desert).
Room - Very small, but nice. AC is provide, hot water and daily room service.

I went there with my mother and my sister and we enjoyed our stay during our 12 nights there.

Room Tip: Ask the rooms on the left side.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neide T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2014

I got the opportunity to be hosted here many times before and I have to say that it was not good at all, but in my last stay I had a good surprise! Beside the room improvements I could see others amends beyond visual plan.

Of course this hotel has much more to be improved, but I have a glance of hope when I see some serious work in a hotel in Rio de Janeiro. I spent half of year hosted in many hotels in this town and this kind of actions is a exception here.

The service quality has improved, the wifi is much better and the breakfast have better products. The restaurant is good, very good, and has a Maitre that make you feel comfort and welcome.

The hotel is located in one of most bohemian neighborhood and you have many options surrounding you. In my case, my visits to Rio de Janeiro are for business purpose and I have no plans to spend the night drinking beer and eating appetizer, so the hotel restaurant is a wonderful convenience.

If your mind is get around and seize the bohemian life, here is a good place.
Here are some tips:

1 - Avoid the front rooms, they are very noisily and will screw up your night's sleep.

2 - If you are going alone, ask rooms with two single beds. Many rooms has olds mattress and with two beds you can choose what is better.

The rooms has a lot space, a good air condition and the bathroom has everything that you need: good shower and spacious sink to spread all your stuffs around!

To close this review I will remember that this neighborhood is located in downtown and it is ugly and stinks like hell, but you are in a good place to reach many important places in downtown and south zone.

This hotel has improving at all and it makes me happy cause this is a exception in Rio.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lincoln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews