We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fine, area not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
Ranked #133 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 9 March 2016

On arrival in Rio, my taxi driver expressed surprise that my business had booked me the Arcos Rio Palace, mainly because of the area it's located in, Lapa. I read many reviews on here that described it as "bohemian". I'm sure it's interesting, but the advice was not to walk around alone after dark.

Anyway, on to the hotel itself. Reception staff i encountered were fine, and had a decent enough grasp of English to communicate.The hotel has 12 floors, and i would advise asking for a room towards the top definitely. Also, ask for an inward facing room, as the street parties at weekends went on past 7am!

The double room I stayed in - 1105 - was small, but was fine. It was clean, relatively quiet, and was serviced each day. Even though you can't drink tap water there, don't assume the water in the fridge isn't free! There's no tea/coffee/kettle in the rooms.(There is a supermarket fairly close by though to top up your own supplies).

The hotel restaurant served breakfast, which was a buffet, and had a good selection of fruit and cakes/pastries. The hot selection was only scrambled egg and sausage. There were also juices/coffee, but a poor selection of cereals. The hotel also has a bar, but it didn't seem to be operating? Wifi is free, and is decent enough.

The gym is very basic, just five cardio machines, and no weights. But the little swimming pool on the roof is pleasant enough. Very small though - more for a cooling dip than swimming, and in the morning the sun is on it so the water is warm.

All in all, the hotel is fine at a basic level, but certainly 3-star at the maximum.

Room Tip: Higher floors, and inward facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank boombangabang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2015

Nice clean room, poor breakfast, friendly people, poor english speakers like the most of brazilians. Very nice neighborhood for nightlife with bars with live music and great food and drinks but also weird people.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vali_VMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Arcos is, as expected an old hotel located in the bohemian streets of Lapa. The locations is full of bars, dance clubs and restaurants.
Lapa is an awesome place to visit in Rio, specially considering nightlife. It is rather distant from the top beaches, though. Since it is a bohemian venue, expect to find some prostitution happening around the hotel.
The main streets at Lapa feels safe, but one should keep an eye always opened.
We were placed on a first room that had an awful cigarette smell, and there were no problem in moving us to another room.
The place was going through some transformations (dire needed), and there was a whole lot of noise early in the morning.
Breakfast is included and consists of a continental breakfast buffet.
Airconditioners are rather old, and their filters seemed a little dusty (my dust allergy kind of freaked out).
It can be a good, not-so-expensive option, specially if you are considering nightlife, or have appointments near by.
Subway is not so close, expect to walk 15-20minutes (about 1,2km).

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor, on the same side as the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

The hotel is well located, in an area close to the city center , a street full of pubs and restaurants and also close to public transport. But if you are planning of heading daily to the beach, then it is a bit far away . As for the hotel : breakfast was great , especially if you like exotic fruits, the furniture ( including bathroom ) is quite old and simple, air conditioning noisy . If you get rooms on the street side, then the room is noisy, if not - then it is quiet and nicer. Reception staff is very helpful when asking for directions to the turistic points. Price seemed to me quite high, but not for Rio ...

Room Tip: Try not to haave a rooms on the street side, especially lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imolakadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

My stay in Arcos Hotel was just amazing.
The hotel is simple, but has very good plus in items.
Location - is well locating, Lapa, if you are interested in nightlife and experiencing different food. Lapa never sleeps, so if you are looking for a quiet place, definitely is not the place to be. From there is easy to go to the city center
Food - They offer a very nice Breakfast buffet with different options (although same different options everyday). They have different kinds of breads, season fruits (3 types), scrambled eggs, sausages or chorico, yougurt, cakes and mousses. Breakfast is included on the room price. If you are not interested to go out for lunch/dinner the restaurant at the hotel offers a buffet of 15 USD per people excluding drinks (includes starters, main dish and desert).
Room - Very small, but nice. AC is provide, hot water and daily room service.

I went there with my mother and my sister and we enjoyed our stay during our 12 nights there.

Room Tip: Ask the rooms on the left side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neide T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Monte Alegre
#150 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
316 reviews
Centro
Hotel OK
Hotel OK
#156 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
393 reviews
Hotel Granada
#99 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Carioca
#164 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
222 reviews
Centro
Rios Presidente Hotel
Rios Presidente Hotel
#200 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
191 reviews
Hotel Pouso Real
#189 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcos Rio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcos Rio Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida Mem de Sa 117 | Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230-150, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: €34 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcos Rio Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcos Rio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing