We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$33
Booking.comUS$33
Hotels.comUS$33
TravelocityUS$33
Orbitz.comUS$33
FindHotelUS$33
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
38
114
93
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
38
114
93
15
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2019

very correct, large rooms, well furnished, but a bit outdated, sixties style. breakfast is a basic buffet with the same processed food as usual,
it 's very noisy at weekends but it's a good location if you enjoy live music, bars, and nightlife, near Santa Teresa and Santos Dumont airport.

Room tip: ask for a room on the last floor if available
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arzklh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Best value for money , clean , friendly , safe beside central police station , walking distance to cheap nice Resturent’s , a lot of bars near , cultural neighbor hood near , also u can find buss station just beside hotel entrance , but to be Honnest its much better to rent a car & drop it @ the end @ airport ( try vivo company , cheap & nice & talk Eng ) there is a parking building beside but expensive , find a white hair old guy infront of the hotel named victor , he is a cool guy & well known to find him , will show u where to park in street without problem & for a little tips , he know all the free spots

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Salhaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I loved this accommodation. It was clean and spacious and the air-conditioning worked well which is essential in Rio. I requested a view of the Metropolitan church and they obliged. It was spectacular! Then we could walk outside our room into the hallway and (depending on the weather) actually see Christ the Redeemer from one of the hallways windows! Bonus! One issue was that the Wifi didn’t work in the rooms but near the breakfast room there were two computers with internet available.

As advertised on booking.com, staff do not speak any English, so be prepared for that. The taxi from GIG airport to Hotel Carioca was 70 Real. The taxi from Hotel Carioca to SDU airport was under 12 Real. The walk to Carioca Station (nearest metro station) from the hotel is 900m and you pass the Metropolitan church. It is an easy walk from this accommodation to the Lapa district, keep in mind that Friday and Saturday nights are noisy due to the music in Lapa but the other nights are fine. Enjoy!

Room tip: Book on booking.com and request a room with a view of the Metropolitan church
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Binturong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We had a short stay in Rio,'cause it was our second time there. We choose this hotel, because it was in lapa.
The room was big and clean, even we had an economy room. Shower was hot and there was also a TV and fridge in the room. Choose a room at a higher floor, cause at the weekends you will probably hear people and music from the nearby club. WiFi worked ok, but was better downstairs. The staff was helpful and could also speak spanish (what helped us lot :))
Breakfast was good (with bread,eggs,yam,creamcheese &butter, fresh fruits and cake).
A lot of buses pass near by and the metro is just 10min away.
We liked our stay there and would definitely recommend the hotel if you like to stay close to downtown and lapa.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank soulsufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Licated next to Santos Dummont airport this hotel is very well located. From carioca hotel you can walk to Lapa and have a nice night of fun at this "boemio" place. Employees are very polite and ready to help. Breakfast could offer more options and services like ironing would very practical in they had it. But its a good option to stay for a weekend. I would go back easily.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank rog_rior322
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews