We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
33
108
82
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
108
82
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fridge lapa wifi metro airport shower rio
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

I loved this accommodation. It was clean and spacious and the air-conditioning worked well which is essential in Rio. I requested a view of the Metropolitan church and they obliged. It was spectacular! Then we could walk outside our room into the hallway and (depending on the weather) actually see Christ the Redeemer from one of the hallways windows! Bonus! One issue was that the Wifi didn’t work in the rooms but near the breakfast room there were two computers with internet available.

As advertised on booking.com, staff do not speak any English, so be prepared for that. The taxi from GIG airport to Hotel Carioca was 70 Real. The taxi from Hotel Carioca to SDU airport was under 12 Real. The walk to Carioca Station (nearest metro station) from the hotel is 900m and you pass the Metropolitan church. It is an easy walk from this accommodation to the Lapa district, keep in mind that Friday and Saturday nights are noisy due to the music in Lapa but the other nights are fine. Enjoy!

Room tip: Book on booking.com and request a room with a view of the Metropolitan church
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Binturong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We had a short stay in Rio,'cause it was our second time there. We choose this hotel, because it was in lapa.
The room was big and clean, even we had an economy room. Shower was hot and there was also a TV and fridge in the room. Choose a room at a higher floor, cause at the weekends you will probably hear people and music from the nearby club. WiFi worked ok, but was better downstairs. The staff was helpful and could also speak spanish (what helped us lot :))
Breakfast was good (with bread,eggs,yam,creamcheese &butter, fresh fruits and cake).
A lot of buses pass near by and the metro is just 10min away.
We liked our stay there and would definitely recommend the hotel if you like to stay close to downtown and lapa.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank soulsufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Licated next to Santos Dummont airport this hotel is very well located. From carioca hotel you can walk to Lapa and have a nice night of fun at this "boemio" place. Employees are very polite and ready to help. Breakfast could offer more options and services like ironing would very practical in they had it. But its a good option to stay for a weekend. I would go back easily.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Rogério R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and basic, no frills hotel. Good breakfast and good location (Centro). Decent prices (inflated due to Olympics when I was there), and I enjoyed my little balcony. I'd have liked another blanket for the bed and the WiFi is dodgy at best. Nice, helpful staff. Architecturally interesting building. Very basic - bed, TV, soap, towels, beer/soda vending machine, breakfast. Nice to visit a hotel with real keys!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank opalfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here during the Olympics so prices were vastly inflated, but for the regular rate this is a fair option for Rio.

On the plus side the rooms are clean, the staff friendly, and the showers good. However it gets VERY noisy with the nightlife on a Fri/Sat night, such that all but the heaviest sleepers will struggle (ear plugs recommended). Breakfast is ok but a little disappointing, and the beds were nothing special. The location is reasonable but the metro is a fair walk.

Overall it's ok, but if you can find something in a better location you'd probably be better off taking it.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jawsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews