We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - very nice owners - amazing rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Portal das Artes
Ranked #47 of 322 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed for a night. This is a very small boutique hotel, it feels like you are at your own house. The owners are great people and rooms are AMAZING. I wish we could stay more! Decor is very nice and people are so friendly, you don't want to leave. Just make sure to rent a car since it is not the closest location to downtown (just 5 minutes)

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sedayakamercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2015

A very beautiful place with great, large and clean rooms, showers are good too incl hot water. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful - they helped us organize trips and even drove us to town several times. Breakfast is great and with quite a bit of variety. Wifi is solid. The location is a bit off, it's about a 25-30mins walk to town and there's really very few taxis, but that's the only minor negative point - overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I had a wonderful experience staying in Pousada Portal das Artes at the end of November. Speaking very little Portuguese, and traveling independently, it was so helpful to have both Rui and Catarina (the owners/operators) assistance navigating the town and surrounding areas. They were both so kind and accommodating (Catarina literally drove me to town and gave me a walking tour, recommending local restaurants and showing me where the taxi stand was). Rui helped me navigate my plan to visit a somewhat "off the beaten track" beach recommended by a friend, and also to arrange my transfer from Paraty on very short notice. The Pousada provided a lovely breakfast in the garden each morning. The rooms were beautiful-very clean with a rustic feel (though the appointments were quite modern). It is conveniently located less than 5 minutes drive from the historic center of town (though car/taxi recommended for getting to and from the Pousada), when at the Pousada, Catarina called taxis that came in relatively short period of time for pickup. I highly recommend Pousada Portal das Artes when staying in the picturesque Paraty area! If I have the good fortune to make it back to Paraty, I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank viprincess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We have a pleasant stay at this friendly place in Paraty. Room, breakfast, WiFi and ambiance are perfect.
The owners are helpfull and gave us nice tips about where to go and eat.
During our trip to Paraty, which was in the evening, he checked us out every once and a while if we were ok since the road is dark and curvy.

Lovely place!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Jora d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

The pousada is located in a residential area, a little bit far from the historic center and the bus station. But the owners gave us a ride twice, which was very much appreciated. Very cosy home, nicely decorated. Great breakfast. Room was small. The owners gave us useful turistic info about the area. Overall, we had a great time and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndidouya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.7 km away
Pousada do Atoba
Pousada do Atoba
#60 of 322 in Paraty
203 reviews
0.8 km away
Pousada Casario
Pousada Casario
#29 of 322 in Paraty
224 reviews
1.8 km away
Pousada Vila do Porto
Pousada Vila do Porto
#10 of 322 in Paraty
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pousada Eclipse
Pousada Eclipse
#9 of 322 in Paraty
322 reviews
0.3 km away
Pousada Aquarium
Pousada Aquarium
#96 of 322 in Paraty
14 reviews
1.7 km away
Pousada Estrela Do Mar Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Portal das Artes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Portal das Artes

Address: Av. Candido Portinari 4 | Portal das Artes, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range: €50 - €231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Portal das Artes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pousada Portal das Artes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Portal Das Artes Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing