We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
60
79
27
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
79
27
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Located close to all amenities in Paraty which is a beautiful town in Rio state with lovely cobbled streets and lined with quaint little shops. The hostel itself has nice rooms with spacious bathrooms and the breakfast is good. It is a friendly cozy place.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank NiallODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada Contos P, Gerente at Pousada dos Contos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Nial
Thank you for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Greetings from paraty Julia and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

This is a very simple place so expectations should be set accordingly. It's OK for a short stay but probably not for anything beyond a few days.

The location (in the newer part of town) is second to none. Just about everything is only a few minutes walk away.

The room was basic but adequate enough for our 2 night stay. The bed (described as queen size but in fact 2 single beds put together) was rather hard and not great for those of us with back issues. The bathroom was similarly basic but functional. Water pressure in the shower was very ordinary (although in fairness I understand the town has significant water and sewerage issues). Using the air con has a R$10 per night surcharge - though we found the overhead fan a reasonable, if noisy, alternative. The TV offered a very limited choice of channels, with no English language ones. The safe required a key to be provided from reception but in our case was unusable because (apparently) there are insufficient keys available.

Breakfast could best be described as simple South American continental. Very limited choices but adequate enough. Coffee and cake provided in the late afternoon to all guests was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed at this Pousada for 2 nights while visiting Paraty. The pousada is a 5 minute walk from the historic center. The staff was super friendly. The owner speaks perfect English and was very willing to offer guidance regarding what to see and do in Paraty/bus schedules/etc. The room we stayed in was quaint, simple and clean. The breakfast was also a simple buffet but offered some very nice homemade treats. Paraty is adorable and I would definitely recommend a visit and this Pousada.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada Contos P, Proprietário at Pousada dos Contos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2016

Dear Christen , Thank you very much for your comment , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again soon! greetings from Paraty - Julia & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

A small hotel close to the heart of Paraty. Very nicely decorated. Comfortable rooms, if a little cramped. Good breakfast and usable wifi. Nice shower. I was particularly impressed by their willingness to provide a very early breakfast so we could catch the first bus to Rio. Definitely a place that I would recommend.

This hotel was one of over 20 places that we stayed in during a 7-week, South American holiday. Each was booked and paid for by the tour company that we were travelling with. Therefore, I am unable to say anything about the prices of whether the hotels were good value for money. The reader will have to rely on other travellers for that information.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada Contos P, Gerente geral at Pousada dos Contos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Dear Tucan Traveler
Thank you very much for your feed back , we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Pousada. Hope to host you again on another trip to brazil . Greetings from Paraty Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

- Pros: friendly and attentive staff, clean and 5 minutes walk to the Historic Center of Paraty.
- Cons: the queen size bed is actually a two single ones put together; the shower pressure is pretty weak; poor wifi and TV connections; noisy mini fridge; don`t accept neither credit nor debit cards.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews