We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
356
202
23
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
202
23
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a beautiful little Pousada with a good location and priced right. It is in easy walking distance of various beaches, the town center and the main road for catching one of the minibuses. The room has enough space, is cleaned daily and has a large LCD TV and a bar fridge. Breakfast is continental with various fresh fruit, breads and sweets. There are various daybeds around the pool, which makes for a comfy place to spend a few hours. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

I am withholding one star for a few things that bothered me:
1. The bar (and hence snacks) only open at 2pm. This is a bit late and inconvenient for me.
2. The bamboo wall-mount in our room smelled like wet wood. I didn't like that.
3. The room needs a bit more packing space. I suggest a few drawers. There is enough space.
4. Nightstands on both sides of the bed are needed. Make it with drawers to help with point 3.

Thanx for a great 7 days.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a pool side room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaNilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Gerente at Pousada Bucaneiro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Nadia

Thank you for your comments! We are considering all your suggestions about our rooms.
Best regards from Búzios!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Wonderful service: staff in general is super friendly and helpful, including cleaning ladies, maintenance, reception, bar & breakfast, everybody has always a biiiig smile!!

Location is good, a few minutes walking from Rua das Pedras and Orla Bardot, with no need to climb morros...

Rooms size is fine while there is not much space left when having a crib inside... bathroom also small, but great shower pressure!

The garden and the pool area is nice and very enjoyable, well designed and well maintained.

Breakfast is good enough (delicious orange juice)! but could be better, specially fruit variety (sliced mango only once in 8 days, although I got a whole fruit sliced for me when requested!).

Silent, quiet and relaxing place, very clean, and with nice ambient music.

I would definitely recommend to stay at Bucaneiro.

A tip is for the city, not for this pousada in particular: make sure to bring enough clothes with you, because there is high humidity and they will not get dry if you wash them.

Room Tip: If you have small kids, rooms on top can be dangerous. I would choose for the ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaLauV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Gerente at Pousada Bucaneiro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013
Google Translation

Sra. Ana

Agradecemos seus comentários e ficamos honrados por suas recomendações.
Esperamos um dia ter o prazer de hospeda-los na Bucaneiro novamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

great pousada, very clean , nice rooms, quite and only 200 mt from city center!!
all was very pleasant, the room, big and moderm, all is present and you feel in a ice enviroment, pool is small size but is very nice , you can also have a drink while in the water, breakfast is special, fresh fruit, milk, cereals, eggs and ham, bread and cakes, all you van desire is there.
there is also a sauna close to the pool. more than suggested, i payd also a reasonable price probably because now is low season, but was inaspected .

Room Tip: room looking to the swimming pool and garden are fancy, i do suggest these
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Gerente at Pousada Bucaneiro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Lisa

Thank you very much for your recomendation!

It was a honor hosts you at Bucaneiro...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Pousada Bucaneiro last November for 6 nights and overall it was lovely and we were really pleased with our decision. Neither of us speak portuguese and we had serveral reasons to ask for help or advice during the stay (nothing bad about the hotel) and the staff were fantastic at finding a member who spoke good english and then really very helpful indeed. In general the service was very good, even though we arrived on a very busy bank holiday weekend. I thought breakfast was really good and consistently so. Our room (up the top, far left) was comfortable and clean. Having the veranda was nice for when one of us was still in the room and the other wanted to be outside. Drinks were priced reasonably I thought but if I were to offer one suggestion it would be a better lunchtime menu. That said, the town with such a large variety of restaurants is really close by. All in all this could be a nice middle of the range hotel but instead it is much better due to great management, staff and attention to detail. I love staying places like this.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verytravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Bucaneiro at Pousada Bucaneiro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013
Google Translation

Prezado amigo,

Obrigado por suas recomendações neste prestigiado site. Esperamos um dia ter o prazer de poder recebe-los novamente na Pousada Bucaneiro.
Um grande abraço de todo nossa equipe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Set just outside the buzzling town centre, Bucaneiro is a real gem. Very clean, great atmosphere, nice setting, spacious rooms, private veranda, helpful and very flexible staff, extensive breakfast and a nice pool. Would certainly go there again. Bathrooms could use an upgrade.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Bucaneiro at Pousada Bucaneiro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013
Google Translation

Caro Tom

Obrigado por suas recomendações neste prestigiado site!
Foi uma honra hospeda-los na Bucaneiro em suas férias e esperamos um dia ter o prazer de revê-los.
Um grande abraço a todos amigos da Holanda..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews