We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glenzhaus is just ok.”
Review of PortoBay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Buzios
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2007

Maybe I expected too much from Glenzhaus after the rave reviews. First, we had a terrible room with a view of a crumbling wall. When I showed my displeasure with the room, I was told that that was the room that I had booked on the internet. In other words, I was a bit second class because I used the internet for booking. I was moved to another room, but there were only four rooms in the lodge booked, and I guess the tone of our "internet booking" set the tone for the rest of the stay.
The lodge is a long way from the city center and the beaches, and, despite the reviews that the staff gladly would transport to town and beaches, this was not an option. In fact, I say no cars, except for those owned or rented by guests.
On the positive side, the breakfast was wonderful, the beds are the best that we had in Brasil, and the atmosphere around the pool is breathtaking. Also, the bartender is excellent and very helpful.
All in all, it was a pleasant experience, but, for the price and in off-season, I expected more. Glenzhaus has been sold, and the experience might have been better if the owners had still been there. Maybe the new owners will improve things, but I do not understand how this is one of the best lodges in South America. I have stayed at other pousadas in Buzios at half the price that had better service and a far better location.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank monjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for PortoBay Buzios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2007

Almost everything I have to say is so positive but I’ll try not to go over the top (and sound as if I get a commission from this hotel!) We spent 3 nights at Glenzhaus at the end of our stay in Rio and we went home totally revved up to leave our jobs and set up a hotel just like theirs. In fact Glenzhaus is now first on my dream home rankings.
The pool is nice and big and was almost always empty because most guests spend the day at the beach. The rooms are spread out around the premises so there’s lots of privacy and space. We stayed in a suite that had its own terrace and extremely comfy king size beds. Breakfast was not the world’s greatest (which didn’t bother us as we’re not big breakfast people) but the tables were always beautifully set and dotted around the pool area instead of a breakfast room, all very calm and civilized, a nice way to start your day. The owners of Glenzhaus have an eclectic collection of stunning artifacts, textiles and homeware from around the world, not showcased, just all there for us to touch, sit on, eat with, enjoy – very in keeping with the hotel’s nomadic-chic feel and Brazil’s laid back nature. We had free caipiriñas in the evenings at the terrace and guests would get talking to each other or with Luis, whose hospitable and sociable ways always made you feel at home.
The staff were extremely helpful and considering that we were there for a very short time, our nuisance to total-earnings-from-stay ratio was very high. I don’t know if the Glenzhaus staff are just that professional or thought we were from Frommers, but we certainly made them work hard! Booking, cancelling, changing our minds, being indecisive and asking silly questions about excursions, transfers, buggies, restaurants, flight reconfirmations, and so many other things, asking for rides into town, more of this and more of that …they danced to every tune and always managed a smile.
Glenzhaus is the place if you are looking for something that’s stylish but unpretentious. It’s like staying with friends of friends, so if you like that customer vs. staff feel I’d look elsewhere. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank knaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2007

The entire staff could not have been more pleasant. We were disappointed by the weather, but still had a wonderful time due almost entirely to the hospitality of those at Glenzhaus. We have traveled quite a lot, and are always thankful when find a hotel where the service is as outstanding as at your place. When we come back to Buzios, it will certainly be to Glenzhaus.
David & Janelle Senden - California - Long Beach - USA

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lsxcorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2006

We stayed at Glenzhaus Lodge for a week and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are nice and spacy with ocean view (at least #5). The owner and the staff are very friendly (although it would be great if the staff at breakfast spoke a little bit of English). The breakfast at the pool is very nice. The pool area itself is very peaceful and nicely decorated.
We were very fund of the Caipirinhas at the bar, thank you Victor.
We would consider to come again and can only recommend this Pousada.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Keinefroesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sofia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre B, Manager at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.4 km away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
954 reviews
1.6 km away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#21 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
739 reviews
1.1 km away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
684 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
689 reviews
0.4 km away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#34 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Buzios

Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#17 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: €89 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. PortoBay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
PortoBay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing