We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Bay Glenzaus made trip to Buzios worthwhile”
Review of PortoBay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Buzios
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Gisele, Alex and Xavier and the staff are so welcoming and friendly, we felt very settled and relaxed in their hotel - despite a couple of problems, which everyone did their absolute best to sort out as swiftly as possible. We originally had a junior suite which was very well furnished but was very dark due to the attractive but very overgrown plants that surround the hotel. Unfortunately there were no other rooms, so we had to wake up to a depressing dark room.
We were staying here at the same time as the Volcano Ash grounded all flights, which caused a mixture of good and bad luck for us. We moved to the bright Royal Suite since the original guests who had booked it were stuck in the UK. The Ash also meant we were stuck in Brazil, leading to a couple of days of mixed feelings (panic vs pleased to have more time in Brazil and Rio) thinking we might be stuck in Brazil for weeks.
The foyer area of the hotel is actually somewhere we were happy to hang about in. There is a computer with free internet and a TV with all channels. And we enjoyed meeting other guests here and at breakfast. Overall since the hotel is quite small the feeling is more like going to stay with friends than being at a hotel.
The hotel is perhaps 15 minutes walk from the centre of Buzios but we rented a moped to get about on and reach the beaches. And once we had worked out the one way system around the town driving around was easy.
I am not sure we really like Buzios itself - it has no real charm or character. Its life blood is holiday makers, weekend visitors and holiday/second homes (many reached by helicopters that landed on Friday and Sunday nights outside houses) but this means there isn't much else there.
But since Porto Bay Glenzhaus was such a good place to stay we did enjoy our 4 days.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceCamberwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for PortoBay Buzios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

My family and I spent 3 nights at the Porto Bay Glenzhaus.
The view is fabulous, the staff are amazing, the breakfast is memorable!
Thanks to the entire staff, specialy Alexandre, Gisele and Maria for taking care of my children.

All the best! Bruno Sambado

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSambado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed 4 days/3 nights at Porto Bay Glenzhaus. We spent a very good time at the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and the room (junior suite) was very comfortable. You find everything you need for a pleasant stay. The fitness center is small but ok for a short workout with some weights. There is a very familiar atmosphere and you are really treatad as guest. We would choose this hotel again and recommend it especially to couples. there is nothing to complain.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LiL013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVieiraRiodeJaneiro, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2010

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to learn that we helped to make your stay in Búzios a brilliant one.
It is a honor to read your generous comments towards our rooms, view and confort.
There is no greater pleasure to us, for having met your expectations.

Sincerely grateful,

Aline Vieira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My partner and I stayed at Glenzhaus for 3 nights in Dec 2009 following a week spent in Rio. Upon arrival you are met by Friendly reception staff, offering a welcome drink and advice on where to go and what to see.

During our stay, we stayed in one of Glenzhaus Junior Suites. The room was very clean, spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the grounds and sea in the distance. Have a look at the Glenzhaus website for an image of the Junior Suite. The image provides you with exactly what you can expect on arrival. The bathroom in the Junior Suite is very small - shower, toilet and basin, however very adequate with nice toiliteries, dressing gowns and flip flops.

The hotel setting is very quiet and full of lush tropical plants (bring mozzy spray for youself, hotel provides room spray) The pool is nice, the breakfast is served by it (pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, breads and fruit juice and champagne).

The one down side to the hotel is, it is a little further away from the town centre that we would have liked. Although, it is only a 10min walk (not pleasant when dark) and cheap taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Around_the_World_165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

You'll be sure to be given a warm welcome by friendly hosts. We had a nice, big comfortable room, which provided lots of privacy. However, a slighly moudy bathroom could have done with a lick of paint.

The pool is a very good size for a guesthouse with so few rooms, and is also very private. It offers peace and plenty of shade, but there aren't many sun longers for dedicated sun worshipers.

Glenzhaus is in a great location. Close enough to walk into the cute little town, or to the beautiful beaches (Azeda & Azedinha), yet far away enough to offer tranquility. Buzious was a lively little place at the weekend, but was very quiet by the Tuesday when most Brazilians visiting for the weekend had disappeared.

Likeits sister hotel in Rio, we were again let down by the basics, as this time there wasn't a laundry service available after we'd been caught out in a tropical thunderstorm.
We had a plasant/relaxing stay, but did find it hard to believe this was voted Conde Nast's second best hotel in South America, so were a little dissapointed?!?

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.4 km away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
954 reviews
1.6 km away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#18 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
739 reviews
1.1 km away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#9 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
682 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
688 reviews
0.4 km away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#33 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Buzios

Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#5 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#16 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: €90 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. PortoBay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
PortoBay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing