We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo(Ouro Preto)
US$90
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rock in Hostel(Ouro Preto)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Pousada Chao de Minas(Cachoeira do Campo)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Classica(Ouro Preto)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
80
112
23
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
112
23
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Ouro preto is a wonderful place to visit,,,very safe environment ,what stands about this hotel is how helpful they all are ,,even with the language barrier,,,on reception area they have ,,language interpretation set up on computer,,,,BEAUTIFUL young lady looked after us so well, no food served but breakfast is ,""The steep streets of ouro preto will keep you fit,,!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cathalmacdomhnaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

The hotel is situated at the edge of the historical city center. For the main square you need 20 minutes on foot.

The object in general has been restored wonderfully and is a real jewel. We had a huge corner room (Nr. 11) which had no A/C which we assume applies to all rooms. We did not miss it due to the hotel's height of about 3900 ft (1200 m) above sea level. The pool is reachable across the parking lot.

The room equipment is not antique but outdated. Instead of bedside tables there had been fold-up tables. This would not have been a problem if they would have been horiziontally. We could not place there our watch let alone a drinking glass whether empty or full. For another fold-up table opposite the same applied. The safe in the closet was blocked by a nearly head-high ventilator, I did not want to move it. No mosquito blind was mounted neither on the interior or exterior side of the lower part of the balcony door, which had only horizonal blinds for fresh air circulation.

The telephone is relay-based whioch does not allow value-added services such as the control of your voicemail.

The staff was very helpful but unprofessional. There was only one person speaking English. The rest communicated with us via an electronic translation system.

Upon arrival I was "greeted" with the request for a signature on a credit card slip. Later on I realized it was for the down-payment made months ago.The clarification of this resulted in a big confusion for the payment with new payments and promised reimbursements.

Breakfast was Brazilian average (taking in account that we had been obviously the only guests for that night). But it is irritating if the kitchen assistant is greeting you upon arrival and just before we finished our breakfast is asking if we would like some eggs.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Very warm reception, we found ourselves immediately at home. very nice and original rooms and a prayer on each and every door. The hotel is just at the beginning of the main sights street so a perfext point to start exploring the city.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Anything we could write about our stay at this hotel would be little compared with what we experienced there: friendly and helpful staff, great location, near downtown Ouro Preto, carefull restaurated historical building and, last but not least, the owner, Roberto. Extremely helpful, friendly and a very nice person, he made everything - and more - to make our stay an unique experience. We'll be back ... and soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms located in the back of the building and at the end of the hall - most silent and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We liked this place, though it wasn't among the nicest that we stayed at during our trip through Minas Gerais (I have reviews on the other places we liked better!). The rooms were nice in terms of the historic features (wood ceilings, etc.), but were pretty basic in terms of furnishings. One thing that was annoying was that we had one double bed, one single bed, and then the additional single bed we needed came as a little, hard, rollaway bed that was inches off the floor (not a real bed). So that limited who could sleep on it. The restaurant wasn't very scenic (view of the parking lot), but the options for breakfast were good. The staff was nice. The location, just at the bottom of the historic area, was pretty convenient, though there was a lot of uphill hiking to get to the main square.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenrothg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews