We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$56
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa da Vanessa(Trancoso)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Pousada do Outeiro(Praia do Espelho)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas do Espelho(Praia do Espelho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
284
71
18
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
71
18
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute taxi ridebeach barpeacehoneymoondecorationpousadabahia
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

We were here @6 years ago in February and now in July. The beach, accommodations, atmosphere and service (particularly service) are excellent everywhere. Price are expected to be high but they seem to extrapolate with 8 reais for a soda, or 30U$ for half-bottle or argentine a wine, and so on. A brief note about minor details that should deserve attention: no robe for men and safe was out of order and not fixed in 3 days we have been here. Anyway, this is just a feedback to continue perfect! We certainly recommend to everyone at a $$$$ budget.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genivaldo79, Gerente de recepção at Estrela D'Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2015

Roberto S

On behalf of all staff, we appreciate the opportunity you have given to us when you decide to stay at Estrela D’Agua.

Thank you for sharing with us and the online community your views of The Pousada Estrela D'agua. We are happy to know that you could enjoy our structure with great service and cuisine.

We hope to offer all our hospitality at any time.

Best Regards,

Genivaldo Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014 via mobile

It's our 4th time. The hotel is still very charming and well taken care of, by the service... This is a whole other story. So far from what it used to be. There was a huge group of NON-GUESTS of about 18 young people at the beach listening to loud music. We asked the waiter to ask them to turn down the music a bit. His answer: he suggested that we (the GUESTS) move farther down the beach so we wouldn't be bothered. I couldn't believe I was hearing that. Also beware: we wanted to rent kayaks and they offered us 2 kayaks for R$700,00. We walked down to the river just to rent the 2 kayaks for... R$20,00! Being expensive is an option and this hotel definitely is. But overcharging the guests at 35 times is just plainly disrespectful.
For those reasons and also because there are so many wonderful other options in Trancoso, we will not be coming back there.

Stayed: October 2014
10  Thank patricia_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Discussions of what is “good value for money” are interminable and usually inconclusive – rather like those of religion and politics. There are so many variables in such a debate but, common to all, are what you are prepared to pay versus the price of the product.

The Trancoso hotel Estrela D’Agua is a fine example of the paradoxical kind of place that provokes such questioning.

I have given rather a long description of the hotel and surroundings because Trancoso is pretty far from anywhere and anyone thinking of going to the hotel needs to have a fair idea of what will be met. So if you are an impatient reader my apologies for this pretty long-winded description.

The hotel is a 90 minute drive from Porto Seguro and is situated just outside the village of Trancoso (a less than 10 minute drive) and right on the beach. It has several two story 4 apartment buildings and a variety of houses of varying degrees of luxury and facilities. These are all set back and hidden from the beach surrounded by beautiful gardens, mainly trees, inhabited by many birds of the most varied types. As you walk down to the beach you come to the outside-inside restaurant, lounge or reading room, sushi bar and bar followed by two swimming pools. There are hammocks, a beach bar and several covered areas overlooking the beach and sea.

The architecture and decoration is what might be called rustic smart and is indeed most pleasant and in tune with the beach, Atlantic rainforest and mangrove environment. We stayed in a one-room apartment with bathroom and veranda. The room was not large but was comfortable and, as already mentioned, pleasantly decorated. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of hot water. Housekeeping operated twice a day so there were always fresh good quality towels and a made-up bed. Internet access is free but liable to go on and off like a failing light bulb. The air conditioning in our room was silent and most efficient. There is no room service.

Breakfast is substantial and varied. Tons of fruit, cereal, bread, cakes, local dishes and freshly made eggs, any way you like. Lunch and dinner and the sushi bar are available most of the time and meals can be had inside or outside. Shorts and flip-flops are quite acceptable attire. Beach umbrellas, towels, tables and refreshments are available on the beach in front of the hotel with an army of beach boys to hand.

The beach in front of the hotel stretches for several miles either way (North or South). To the South lies Trancoso and if you walk that way you will quickly come to the village area and a huge beach invasion of red umbrellas, tables and chairs. If lots of people, thumping music and crummy food are your thing then this is the place to be.

If, on the other hand, you like peace and less populated surroundings then head North. While we were there, during our mid week, mid January stay, and on our early morning walks, we had miles of golden sand to ourselves. The beach was spotless and in five days we did not see one plastic bag or a beer can, unlike the devastated beaches in Rio which are not only covered in trash but also are littered with bright orange trash bins – mostly ignored. A fresh water river appears after about 40 minutes, said to be clean, which affords a refreshing dip before heading back.

The staff is most friendly, courteous and happy to assist in any way. Just out of interest most of the more senior staff are from the south of Brazil while locals undertake the more simple functions.

To run an establishment such as this cannot be easy as everything must be brought in from afar, often by ‘plane – including staff and guests. The hotel owners have invested heavily in the brilliant location, in the accommodations, in the facilities and services and charge accordingly.

And here is the sting in the “tale”.

We were happy to pay R$1,850.00 (some US$770.00) per day for a four night/five day stay. Not cheap, but in our opinion pretty good value for what was offered.

But we were certainly not happy to pay R$8.00 (or US$3.50) for a 200ml bottle of water when a liter bottle could be bought in Trancoso for R$2.80, or just over US$1.00 for five time the amount of water. And it was not as if the water, an essential to life, was a French Perrier or a Finnish Veen – just a local product in a plastic bottle. Going further a Catena Alta Chardonnay was on the menu at about R$550 when it can be bought from the Brazilian distributor at R$136. Not to mention a half bottle of mediocre white at R$110 a bottle. It was hard to find a single dish on the restaurant or sushi bar menus at less than R$100 or US$40. Well, you might say, if you are happy to pay US$770 a night why are you whingeing about the price of a miserable little bottle of water? The answer is simply that it is not good value for money, whatever your income. And I can think of many expensive European or North American hotels where water is complimentary. No big deal really, but brilliant when compared to the negativity of an exorbitant charge for a drink of water.

Other criticisms, or lets call them suggestions, are less obvious. Unless you want to take a twenty minute walk into Trancoso, eating dust or deep in mud depending on the weather, then you have to call for a R$20,00 taxi ride. How about a shuttle service in the hotel’s own large car – it has one! And how about some hotel run beach activities – sail boating, snorkelling at the reefs just off the beach, kayaking, and so on, rather than the exorbitant R$2.500 (about US$1,000) for the hire of a motorboat and pilot.

If you travel by private jet or helicopter you will probably find these criticisms trivial. But, if you are just “ordinary” folk, then be aware to beware. This is a fine hotel, but with a sting!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ifp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Trancoso is picture-perfect, and this hotel sits on a priviledged location of this village.
Every detail is charming, and the materials and textures of the room and social areas carry a local touch. It´s a luxury, pricey place disguised as an 'inn'. Quite romantic.
The food is extra-expensive but excellent. But then again, everything in and around Trancoso is.
Service was not perfect. One unpleasant incident ocurred, but we have talked to a manager and we trust these glitches will be addressed, so no need to disclose them here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three week trip to South America, ending with 10 relaxing days at the Estrela D'Agua.

If your looking for somewhere to totally zone out this is it. The place is very quiet with an excellent pool area, great friendly staff, a stunning beach and comfortable accommodation.

It was even made more special by the hotel kindly laying on a free massage, meal and champagne for us both.

The staff were all very nice, with particular praise going to Lucas who was a star and helped translate the menu at the restaurant as not many people spoke English. The Dutch manager and the red-headed lady from reception were also lovely and helpful with arranging our time there.

The food was tasty but very expensive. We were staggered when our small bowl of Edamame on our first evening set us back almost £25!

We also grew a little tired of the lack of variety at breakfast but perhaps we stayed longer than most people do when visiting.

The nearby village was only five minutes away by taxi but has a selection of really lovely restaurants on offer. El Gordo was great.

Other negatives include a cold shower, noisy air conditioning and lots of mosquitoes. The gym which we had been told about also wasn't open and we made use of the coffee machine in the room only to find out we then had to pay £4 a coffee when we paid our final bill.

Overall we had a lovely time as the main focus of our visit was to chill after a very hectic few months. But perhaps there were a few rough edges which could be ironed out as it is an expensive place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper level suite which was basic but very comfortable. Just beware it can be noisy if you have the air conditioning on and the birds outside do wake up early.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beciwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews