We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
194
43
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
43
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel old mansion restaurant upstairs lobby area is opera house passion fruit beautiful pool big city teatro amazonas loved this hotel comfortable beds perfect location place to stay the ground floor main square small hotel great room
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 nights in Nov'18.

The hotel is priced at 165 usd a night in Manaus where competing hotels are priced in range of 50-60 usd a night. So one would expect something extraordinary, but such is not the case.

The Good

1. The staff is polite and friendly.

2. The bed is decent.

3. Wifi connection is good.

4. Hot water available in the shower.

5. the property has a swimming pool.

6. Complimentary water bottles provided daily.

The Bad

1. Instead of checking out at 12 noon, I checked out at 1230 ( 30 minutes late) - The front desk reprimanded me on how the check out time should be honored..bla bla. Head Manager reading this and replying to this review - Please instruct your staff - if the hotel is charging 3 times the price of other hotels in the city, please practice some restraint to such small things.

2. The bathroom is big but is situated in such a way such that the toilet seat is in extreme corner and extremely uncomfortable to sit on for a tall person. The towel rack is right above the toilet seat. So everytime one gets up the toilet, one bangs her head in the towel rack above the toilet seat.

3. The AC works at one speed and one temperature. And the temperature is not controllable.

4. The in-house bar has a decent assortment of drinks but prices are outrageous, almost 8/9 usd per cocktail.

5. The rooms are not noise free, with lot of early morning noise from the corridor.

If his hotel was priced under 100 usd a night, I would probably give it a 5 star. But with 150 usd/night in a city like Manaus, I expect better!

Note :- I never checked the breakfast being offered at this property. So, no comments.

Do I recommend? Only if you have money to splurge. Else you will do OK in lesser priced hotels in the city.

I hope you found my review helpful? In case you did, please do not hesitate to click on " I found the review helpful" icon.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for three nights before taking a cruise on the Amazon. It's almost easy to miss the hotel from the street, but passing through the entrance into the cool, dimly lit lobby area is an immediately relaxing experience. The front of the hotel is a stately old home that has been restored, while the back half is sleek and modern new construction, yet they blend perfectly. A small bar and seating area in the back of the ground floor opens onto an enchanting reflection pool surrounded by lush vegetation. The rooms run down the side of the pool and all offer a view of it. At night, the vegetation is beautifully lit, the benches in front of the pool providing a great location to sip a pre-dinner caipirinha. Our room was large and the bed comfortable. The hotel staff were very courteous and friendly. The included breakfast buffet is bountiful and the wait staff were very friendly and ready to give tips and recommendations about Manaus. To top it all off, the hotel is only a 2-minute walk from the theater, and just up the hill from the Sunday arts and crafts fair. Definitely the best place to stay in the historical area, and maybe the best hotel in Manaus.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wwpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

The hotel is very central, very close to the Teatro Amazonas and the square where you have many restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was big and the bed very comfortable. The pool area looked amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TommyC2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Housed in a mansion used by the rubber barons, the hotel is well located near the famous Teatro Amazonas. Well appointed rooms with comfortable beds. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff made our stay a pleasant one before the boat trip to the Amazon.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShotuKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this lovely boutique hotel. Good food, comfy beds, quiet rooms and friendly, knowledgeable staff. Most had a good level of English and were happy to recommend things to do. The cool, shaded swimming pool and a chilled caiparinha were a very welcome sight after exploring the Amazon in a day that reached 36 degrees.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews