We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
61
122
31
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
122
31
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese standards jr station one night rice scallops apple
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017

The Art Hotel is right next to Hirosaki station, but quite a distance from the castle and most attractions. However, the 100 yen circular tourist route bus stops just outside, as do the ordinary buses to the old town. Our room was compact but well designed so we found it comfortable, as well as clean. A highlight was the generous breakfast buffet included in our rate. Staff service was efficient and helpful. Overall a good choice.

Room tip: Our 8th floor room had great city views.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthotelhirosakicity, 支配人 at Art Hotel Hirosaki City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

I am very glad that you liked breakfast and could spend comfortably.
As you say, the hotel is next to the station, but the castle is far away. But transportation is abundant, 100 yen bus is really economical and convenient.
When you come back to Hirosaki again, please stay at our hotel.
All of the staff welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I returned again in 2016 following a staying in 2013. Then it was a Best Western, it became Hotel Naque City when we booked it this time but by the time arrived it was Art Hotel. As before the breakfasts are very good offering both western and Japanese food.

The hotel is used by local tour groups so you either have to be up early and get to the front of the queue before it opens so you can get the table you want or come in later once the rush is off and the tour groups are on the bus. Obviously that pushes your day back.

The room was pretty hot so we slept with the window wedged open. Views were very good to the volcano (Mount Iwaki). Last time we stayed it was covered in snow and made a good view from the hotel room. This time we drove up it and took the chair lift and did a bit of hiking. There is a beech park close bye (west) (Shirakami) that you can drive to for hiking although part of the walk to the waterfall is currently off. Locally you have Hirosaki castle.

Internet provided in the room via wifi and ethernet. Modern clean hotel. Car parking at the back, supervised by an attendant, pay in the hotel

Room tip: Ideally a high room with a view to Mount Iwaki.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthotelhirosakicity, 支配人 at Art Hotel Hirosaki City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

We are glad that you came to our hotel again since 2013.
And we thank for your having appreciated our hotel very much.
The name of the hotel changed, but we make an effort from now on to offer service comfortable more than before.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

This is my second time to visit Hirosaki. Last time is the high season for Sakura viewing, I can only get a very poor hotel at very high rate. In that visit, I think ART hotel (named as Hotel Naqua City at that time) looks decent with good location.

This time, I changed my itinerary at the very last minute to stay a night at Hirosaki. I can only book the smallest twin room. Despite of that, from the outlook of the hotel, I think it should at least be well layout. To my disappointment, the room is so small that you can't place your suit case inside the robe ward.

There is no in room safe. For such a big hotel, the check in counter is small.

I believe this was built intended to be a decent hotel. May be the demand at Hirosaki is so low, they could just run it in a business hotel way.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bobo066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthotelhirosakicity, マネージャー at Art Hotel Hirosaki City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

I was disappointed without being answered your request enough.
There is the larger room, but thinks that you are not able to surely make a reservation.
The counter may be surely small, too.
We make an effort to offer good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed for 2 nights, it is right next to JR station and bus stop. It has a 7-eleven store on the ground floor just outside the hotel. The lobby is modern and rooms are good but bit worn out. We ate dinner buffet on Sunday night in their Chef's Recipe restaurant. Wow, the variety of food is vast....chinese, western, japanese etc. Food quality is amazing too. Their teppenyaki beef steak is wonderfully cooked and seasoned. Sashimi is fresh. Ice-cream dessert is yummy...apple, orange & grapes flavours plus more.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abdul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthotelhirosakicity, マネージャー at Art Hotel Hirosaki City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thank you for your staying for 2 days.
Particularly, I am glad that you liked dinner.
We make an effort from now on to offer a delicious dish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Very nice hotel located near bus and train stations and within reasonable walking distance to major sight-seeing attractions. Excellent restaurant buffets for both breakfast and dinner. Great selection of Japanese, Western, and local dishes.
Hotel staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating.

Room tip: Rooms with double beds have a very nice view of the city skyline.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DNJM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews