We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Shrimp Tempura in Town”

Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 896 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sushi Chef and owner, Shoji Mochizuki, opened Sushi Zen Japanese Restaurant in 1997. It is conveniently located in the Lee-Harrison Shopping Center, in the heart of North Arlington, Virginia. Featured in the Washingtonian Cheap Eats Magazine, The Washington Post, as well as two time winner of Northern Virginia Living's TOP 50 Restaurants in Northern Virginia, Sushi-Zen offers a relaxed family environment. The sushi bar provides a variety of Japanese delicacies - made fresh to order - including a wide variety of sushi and sashimi artistically prepared and presented on their well-recognized hand-carved wooden fishing boats, complete with masts, ranging from small to large. Sushi-Zen Celebrates SEVENTEEN Years in Business 1997-2014
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Every time I crave for shrimp tempura, I come to this place. And it's a complete meal with miso soup, salad and steamed rice at a reasonable price. Everything they have here is delicious but particularly the shrimp tempura.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mojbrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Thank you for the great review, Mojbrate! We're thrilled to hear that you find our food so tasty, especially the shrimp tempura! We strive to provide delicious, affordable food, so your review means a lot to us. Hope to see you again in the near future! Best, the Sushi-Zen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2015

The sushi is always good quality with good portions, and the staff is always greeting you with a smile. It has become a regular of ours!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Thank you for the wonderful review, Sam! ! Loyal guests like you make our jobs an absolute pleasure and we're so happy to hear you enjoy dining at Sushi-Zen. We can't wait to have the opportunity to serve you again! Best, the Sushi-Zen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Can't do better in Arlington, maybe in most of DC, especially for the price. Also gets specialty fish / cuts quite regularly

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank metalitia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

We're happy that you think so highly of our sushi, Eric! Thank you for your review -- we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon! Best, the Sushi-Zen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

When I moved to Arlington in October, I was trying to find new favorite restaurants, I was struggling to find something close by with great sushi until I tried Sushi Zen!! They have good quality, reasonable price, and friendly service. I have lunch there with co-workers, my husband will call and order on his way home from work and pick up dinner, it has just become my go to place and they haven't let me down!

Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

We're so glad that you found us and that we've become you're go-to place, Sarah! Thanks so much for your review. We're strive to provide fresh, delicious food and superior service, so it means a lot to us to hear that you and your family appreciate it. We look forward to serving you again soon! Best, the Sushi-Zen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

This is our go to sushi spot. Consistently good and fresh! They always have new menu items based on the season and the staff is always nice.

Thank Shineca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie G, Owner at Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

We're thrilled to hear that we're your go to sushi spot, Shenica! Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We strive to provide a fresh, delicious menu with exciting new items to try, so it's rewarding to hear that it's appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Best, the Sushi-Zen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Sushi-Zen Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing